We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Stay Again but wouldn't have evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
dawlish
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would Stay Again but wouldn't have evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a Groupon break last week for two nights, arrived late approx. 19-30hrs which caused no problems, rang bell at reception desk and man appeared and apologised for keeping us waiting which he hadn't. Hotel has a lift which is impressive given that there are only 32 rooms. Room very clean with tea making facilities but only four small milk containers. No fridge but large room with great views over golf course and beach, armchair, radio, Iron,TV and hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi.
Cleaner did come into room without knocking which is alittle rude.
Had evening meal and have to say that starter was priced right, desert was slightly over priced but the main course was very disappointing with the cod half the size of the one I had the following evening at Weatherspoons but was over twice the price. Had a lovely bottle of wine and this was included on the groupon deal.
Good service with nice background music, breakfast was very good with top notch ingredients although the range of items were limited what was there was good quality, toast though was cold luke warm when it reached the table. During the second breakfast of our stay when it was stormy it was cold in the dining room. Also cooked breakfast arrived when I was still having my cereals.
Overall a relaxing break with the beds and pillows very comfy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    122
    57
    9
    11
See reviews for
83
186
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very friendly staff to welcome you. Great location beautiful view over looking fistral beach - which was amazing to watch during the stormy weather! very relaxed feeling around the hotel, very clean and the room was perfect for us.
we would very highly recommend this hotel - and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: definitely request a see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowers19792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Jan 24th saw the Annual Motor Club Dinner & Dance.
A superb event, delicious food, great service, friendly staff.
The perfect hotel to hold such an event.
Great choice, let's hope it's held there again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trialanderror1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very friendly welcome on arrival. All the staff are excellent and helpful. Evening meal was well presented and well cooked. Our room was spotless and warm. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Thank you. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a Groupon break here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were really friendly & helpful nothing, seemed to much trouble.
It's not very often I leave anything on Trip Advisor but our stay was so enjoyable felt compelled to do it.
Looking forward to another break soon
John

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john402204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

had a one night stay booked through groupon,the room we had was lovely,overlooking the golf course but with great views across the Fistral beach.I think the room number was 12, They are doing a lot of the rooms up a the moment , think its defiantley in need of it..
Michael on reception was fantastic, a real asset to the Hotel.
My only criticism is that we arrived with the intention of eating in the restaurant ,to be told that the restaurant was closed! We were a bit annoyed as if we had known we would have probably had a late lunch elsewhere, we are local to the area so know our way about but if i had booked a groupon deal and had travelled a long way expecting a nice meal in the restaurant i would be so mad..I have noticed that they are still selling this hotel through groupon so think they need to contact the guests and let them know- good customer service really!
It would be a shame for this to put people off as the rooms are lovely..
In the morning at breakfast( which was great.) i thought to myself that it was such a shame that we didnt get to use the bar or restaurant area the night before as it is lovely..
The owners are missing a 'trick' at this time of the year as local people like ourselves would definately be more pro active..Wasting an opportunity in my opinion..

Room Tip: room 12, great views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a 3 night stay booked via Groupon. Room was updated, as there was some rooms being upgraded, which was lovely and spacious with a lovely view over the golf course and Fistral Beach. Breakfasts were good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing