We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just returned from a short break ( 2 nights ) in the Carnmarth & can't praise it enough. we actually booked it through a Groupon deal but couldn't have been treated any better if we had paid top rates. On arrival the member of staff on the desk, was friendly informative & welcoming with an offer of help for anything we might need.
Once in our room, we were pleasantly surprised to see it was modern, bright & roomy, with a good sized en suite with both shower & bath. the view overlooking the golf course & beach was the icing on the cake.
We had planned on going out to eat but as the bar & restaurant were so good, decided to eat in. The menu was limited but adequate & the food served proved to be excellent, topped off with perfect service. I wish I had asked the girls name so as to give her a special mention, sadly I didn't but suffice to say, it couldn't have been bettered!
Breakfast was included in the deal & was wonderful, you could help yourself to tea or coffee along with a choice of fruit juice. there was also fresh fruit & yoghurt. As well as this you could order a "full Cornish with free range eggs cooked however you preferred plus toast, or you could have any of these things on toast. if you preferred. really set us up for the day.
Unfortunately on our second day, I was unwell so had to go to bed. When my husband went down for dinner on his own, he was asked if he was on his own so he explained the reason. At this point he was told that if I required anything in the room just to ask. On his return to the room at 9p.m. he told me this & as I was feeling better but unable to face a meal I said I would like some toast. He went downstairs armed with his wallet to order it for me. He was given a tray with a selection of toast butter & spreads & a glass of iced water, ( very welcome ) with no charge at all! I really can't fault service like that. Very much appreciated, makes all the difference.
Can't wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: We were in room 28 on the 2nd floor ( there is a lift ). This is the only room we saw so nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

NO DOGS ALLOWED: Well, 4, 5, or even 8 friend's regularly visit The Carnmarth for their fabulous 3-course, Sunday Lunch. BUT now they've decided to BAN DOGS, inside!!! Yet, for years we've frequented The Carnmarth, because we have always been able to visit with our 2-little dogs in tow. As a group, each year on New Years Day we all meet-up for a lovely Lunch in The Carnmarth, AND funnily enough this year, we commented that everyone in there, i.e. group, family, or singleton, all had well behaved dogs with them'. - So Come On Carnmarth where you are situated, you ought-to-know that local's drop-by, following a walk with their dog's. 'You're welcome to sit on the terrace', you say - 'HECK, what if its too cold outside or raining??? It's bad enough if you're a smoker at The Carnmarth as there's nowhere outside to shelter!! Unfortunately, we haven't been to visit in the past 4-weeks, due to 'DogGate BAN'. We're patronizing other local establishments, where our dogs are welcome. Found friend's of dogs at Fresh, Conservative Club, Lanhern, Tavern, and more...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger-Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday in February, we had booked a superior double room @ £110 & 2 twin economy rooms @ £60 each (we only had to pay a deposit at the time of booking). The hotel from the front looks over a golf course & has amazing views of the beach/sea, unfortunately we didn't have time to investigate the area. The hotel has a very small car park at the side (about 8 spaces), there are double yellow lines out the front but we were told they are not currently enforced, which was great so we were able to park the car there while we unpacked, the hotel does also have a gravel car park around the back of the hotel, although I never actually went around to it, we used it and our car was fine overnight. Room 11 (superior room) is on the first floor and is one of the biggest rooms we've never had, it had a large wardrobe, one side had rail and the other side had a fridge (which had 2 bottles of water) safe & kettle with tea/coffee & hot chocolate (and biscuits), there were cabinets either side of the bed, which had a large throw over it aswell as a lovely duvet. There was also a vanity table with hairdryer (which was actually very good, not the normal powerless ones you get in a lot of hotels). The bathroom had a large bath & shower (although the force of the water through the shower was a little weak), my husband loved the mirror which didn't mist up in one particular area so he could shave straight after a shower. The tv is quite large & although we had it on we didn't see what channels were available. There are two steps in the room which goes up to a seating area which has a table and 2 chairs which can we spun around to take in the view through the full length windows & French doors which go out onto a large balcony with again 2 seats & table, the views were amazing even on a blowy February. We were staying here for a birthday party which was being held in the hotel’s marquee, this is just up a small corridor from the main bar/lounge/restaurant area, the marquee is very large & has its own bar. We didn't have any problems with noisy guests or slamming doors at night or in the morning.

The main bar/lounge/restaurant is were breakfast was in the morning, on the Sunday morning breakfast was served between 8-10am, we arrived about 8.30 & were able to find a table big enough for the 5 of us, but if we had left it another half an hour we might not have got a table let alone one together (not sure how busy the hotel was so can’t really say if this is a problem, but it wouldn’t stop us coming back). We weren't sure what to expect with a “Cornish Breakfast”, but you had a variety of cereals, fruit & yogurt, orange & apple juice, tea & coffee on a self service plus a cooked breakfast cooked to order (bacon, sausage, tomato, hash brown, beans, egg, served how you asked) no black pudding to the disappointment of my husband, but this might be because it's not Cornish), plenty of fresh toast to order as well, the only other disappointment that one of us had was there was no muffins, croissant etc (as they don't eat cooked breakfast) again this might be the Cornish breakfast & I wouldn't hold it against the hotel.

The other two rooms we had, the first was again on the first floor, but on the opposite side of the hotel, so looked over the roof of the marquee & car park, it was a lot smaller then the superior room but was clean & they were more than happy with it (although it didn't have the little extra's like, smaller tv, no fridge or safe) for just the one night. The other economy room was on the next floor up and in the corner of the hotel, which had two views again one over the gravel car park & the other towards the beach/sea, this room was again small (this included the bathroom which was also very small & only had a shower), although the carpet in this room had seen better days but overall the 2 twins were more than sufficient for what they needed but were very small/basic.

Sorry I only remembered to take pictures of the superior room, but would highly recommend this, however there was a big difference between the superior & economy rooms & if you have high expectations please don't book economy as you will be very disappointed.

Check out was very simple and smooth. We just wish we had had more time & will definitely return, but when the weather is a little nicer and will try & book Room 11, as it looked like this was only one of a couple with a large balcony, there were others on the next floor but they look smaller from the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room they are alot nicer and if possible on the first floor as they seem to have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JueD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely stay in the hotel, arriving early evening the concierge could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The room was really well decorated and was immaculate. This morning we had a breakfast cooked to order delivered to our table by the chef. The staff were lovely and friendly and I'd definitely come back here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ERM0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Came on holiday, as we often do, to newquay and chose to stay in the Carnmarth Hotel.

This review is from a while ago as I've only just signed up to trip advisor so can't remember many specifics... But here goes:

We were checked in at reception by the very welcoming and friendly receptionist and headed up to our room. It was a very large room with a big super comfy bed. The bathroom was very nice, very clean and had all towels and things we needed. In the room there was an area set on a separate level a few steps-up. There we had two comfy little chairs, a coffee table and the door to the balcony. The balcony was a good size and overlooked the whole if fistral bay and the golf course, it was beautiful! What a view!!

The barman in the hotel was very friendly and professional. There were a great selection of all drinks, we had a few and played pool in the bar area on a couple of nights... Lovely atmosphere, brilliant staff!

I could barely fault it, even all decor was kept in check which is rare in larger hotels. The only thing I'd say could be improved would be the breakfast, it seemed it was pre cooked and kept warm but hey they may have changed it by now.

But overall and not picking faults, we had a great time and I'd recommend this hotel to family and friends :-)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bunnybutton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Carnmarth through a half price voucher and I think the price we paid was actually about right. Whilst the staff were friendly and the view from the dining room lovely the hotel felt tacky and tasteless in its decor. Our room (only to be expected for our discounted booking) looked out on a dirty roof and a car park. The room had some funny, unlabelled controls for the hot water which seemed a bit mean spirited after my girlfriend started shivering. However, the room was, overall, perfectly comfortable.

A couple of things brought this rating down to average. Firstly, that the concierge called the hotel restaurant the 'best in Newquay' automatically made me not want to eat there...it just seemed so...needy. Secondly, the included breakfasts were adequate fodder but delivered with indifference by a thoroughly overworked young waitress who was barely able to deal with number of patrons wandering into the dining room all at the same time. She needs some help! The coffee, tea and juices were constantly running low and she was persistently running back and forth with trays of food so that she had no time for talking or checking up on customers. This coupled with the obligatory widescreen football/Olympic Curling backdrop made the mornings feel distinctly average. Hotel is good but not for the prices one would normally pay.

Room Tip: Discount rooms get a view of a guano soaked slate roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a Groupon break last week for two nights, arrived late approx. 19-30hrs which caused no problems, rang bell at reception desk and man appeared and apologised for keeping us waiting which he hadn't. Hotel has a lift which is impressive given that there are only 32 rooms. Room very clean with tea making facilities but only four small milk containers. No fridge but large room with great views over golf course and beach, armchair, radio, Iron,TV and hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi.
Cleaner did come into room without knocking which is alittle rude.
Had evening meal and have to say that starter was priced right, desert was slightly over priced but the main course was very disappointing with the cod half the size of the one I had the following evening at Weatherspoons but was over twice the price. Had a lovely bottle of wine and this was included on the groupon deal.
Good service with nice background music, breakfast was very good with top notch ingredients although the range of items were limited what was there was good quality, toast though was cold luke warm when it reached the table. During the second breakfast of our stay when it was stormy it was cold in the dining room. Also cooked breakfast arrived when I was still having my cereals.
Overall a relaxing break with the beds and pillows very comfy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £58 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing