We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff were great very helpful and always with a smile and yes we would stay again the prices was good the food is excellent no hidden costs and they make you feel at home and very welcome great place to stay

Room Tip: Just 5 mins walk to the beach and golf course and high street and the views are out of this world al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    122
    56
    9
    11
See reviews for
83
180
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Friendly staff who could not do more for us during our stay. One of the closest hotels to Fistral beach and only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Newquay. Perfect location and good hotel at a reasonable price. Standard rooms are small.
Breakfast is lovely although the staff got a little mixed up with orders.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seaview, standard rooms are small, might be worth paying extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely short stay in the carnmarth hotel! Great quirky room, fabulous view of the golf course and sea, very clean and lots of space! The staff were very helpful too. Didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant but it went into the town instead. Had a great time in Newquay and would definitely stay in this hotel again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great 4 day stay at this hotel. Upgraded on arrival to sea view. Friendly staff who could not do more for us during our stay. One of the closest hotels to Fistral beach and only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Newquay. Perfect location and good hotel at a reasonable price although too many reviews like this might push the prices up but would still be worth it.
Thanks to the owner and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms do get rather hot in sunny conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YT_Skieveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My familty have stayed twice before during early summer so we can take advantage of the body boarding on Fistral beach. As ever the staff were welcoming and friendly, rooms clean (albeit my room 19 door was a little rattly when people walked by, but the staff corrected this when I mentioned it). All in all I would recommend this hotel, it is only a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and has its own surf equipment hire in its car-park. If pushed to make a criticism (or lets say constructive feedback for continued improvement), it is a shame that (unfortunately like many restaurants in the area) they stop taking orders for food in the restaurant just before 9pm (8.50 pm in the case of the first night we arrived), not a massive problem as there are other nice places to eat a 15 min walk away in the town centre, but the Carnmarth serves some lovely seafood, just frustrating it is not possible to order it just before 9pm in what is peak season. One final tip, if you want to use the restaurant of an evening during your stay, please check they are not holding one of their many functions (weddings, school leaver proms,etc) as you are not able to eat in it after 7pm. A lovely hotel though and I will book again for next summer.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the front of the hotel, if possible one with a balcony, lovely views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went to a wedding in Newquay in a slight panic as we had not booked anywhere. We also had our dog on tow, which added a degree of difficulty. I phoned the Carnmarth and they were super nice on the phone. Booked a room and we were ready to go. However, having not really seen any reviews for the place nor recommended by friends, we arrived to the hotel nervously. Firstly, the location was superb! as we drove closer and closer to the beach my other half kept saying "no way... no way!" and our furry friend's tail began to wiggle erratically. Second, the check-in was effortless and very pleasant. We were also upgraded, which was a very welcome bonus after a long drive from London. We had a drink on the terrace which has the coolest view. The restaurant staff was very friendly. Then, it was time to check out the room, which was awesome! Again, we weren't expecting much, but the room totally surpassed our expectations. Having balcony access, especially with a doggie, makes a huge difference... and best enjoyed with a bottle of rosé and plenty of sunscreen. The bed was comfy and the shower had the type of pressure you love after enjoying a long, sticky day by the sun/sand. Breakfast was great – although the place can do a little more work on the so-called cold buffet options – the hot breakfast had plenty of options, which were cooked perfectly (i.e., not burnt, nor flavourless). It is so convenient that there's parking in the hotel, so we left our car behind and walked 2 minutes to the (really cool) beach... we almost felt as if we were in a different country! So there you have it. We found a great surprise by Newquay's seafront, and it called the Carnmarth hotel. We will be back here, for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeanandre_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After a 7 hour drive we was very tired my partner loves to surf so we went surfing on New Year's Eve freezing. As we didnt know the area he wanted us to get dressed up and eat downstairs I was very upset to be told at 6pm that food has finished n to try a pizza shop up the road very rude I thought went back upstairs as I thought it was what I was wearing she made me feel like I was pretty woman or something. We came back a hour later as it was a nye party and finding people are ordering and eating their food we asked again n said we don't look like there guests so at that point tired and very upset I went to my room and actually cried she ruined my New Years that my partner had surprisingly booked he then wiped my tears and said I was too good for pizza we will find a place to eat so I put my dress back on and we had the most amazing meal somewhere else!!!!!! Next morning had breakfast cooked n then took full advantage of cereal n juice as yet another 7 hour drive and a 4 hour surf ahead if me will I come here again?! No only for parking to the Newquay activity centre... Shame on you staff I didn't report as was too upset n I found it rude! Rooms ok yet another twin bed!!! Shower n toilet in room telly bonus for my ruined night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing