We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and comfortable stay”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The stay was an overall pleasant experience which was relaxing throughout. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The service was excellent and breakfast was excellent value for money. Will be coming back to stay

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

we recently stayed at the carnmarth for my daughters wedding. staying in room 14 we had an amazing view over fistral. from arrival to departure we have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff, from reception, house keeping, bar, waiting staff and the night porter you guys make the hotel what it is..awesome..
Thank you for an amazing few days

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trextasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff were great very helpful and always with a smile and yes we would stay again the prices was good the food is excellent no hidden costs and they make you feel at home and very welcome great place to stay

Room Tip: Just 5 mins walk to the beach and golf course and high street and the views are out of this world al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Friendly staff who could not do more for us during our stay. One of the closest hotels to Fistral beach and only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Newquay. Perfect location and good hotel at a reasonable price. Standard rooms are small.
Breakfast is lovely although the staff got a little mixed up with orders.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seaview, standard rooms are small, might be worth paying extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rumours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely short stay in the carnmarth hotel! Great quirky room, fabulous view of the golf course and sea, very clean and lots of space! The staff were very helpful too. Didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant but it went into the town instead. Had a great time in Newquay and would definitely stay in this hotel again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great 4 day stay at this hotel. Upgraded on arrival to sea view. Friendly staff who could not do more for us during our stay. One of the closest hotels to Fistral beach and only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Newquay. Perfect location and good hotel at a reasonable price although too many reviews like this might push the prices up but would still be worth it.
Thanks to the owner and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms do get rather hot in sunny conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YT_Skieveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My familty have stayed twice before during early summer so we can take advantage of the body boarding on Fistral beach. As ever the staff were welcoming and friendly, rooms clean (albeit my room 19 door was a little rattly when people walked by, but the staff corrected this when I mentioned it). All in all I would recommend this hotel, it is only a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and has its own surf equipment hire in its car-park. If pushed to make a criticism (or lets say constructive feedback for continued improvement), it is a shame that (unfortunately like many restaurants in the area) they stop taking orders for food in the restaurant just before 9pm (8.50 pm in the case of the first night we arrived), not a massive problem as there are other nice places to eat a 15 min walk away in the town centre, but the Carnmarth serves some lovely seafood, just frustrating it is not possible to order it just before 9pm in what is peak season. One final tip, if you want to use the restaurant of an evening during your stay, please check they are not holding one of their many functions (weddings, school leaver proms,etc) as you are not able to eat in it after 7pm. A lovely hotel though and I will book again for next summer.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the front of the hotel, if possible one with a balcony, lovely views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing