We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round!”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent all round!”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My partner and I stayed for a single night as an alternative to getting a taxi home and we were glad we did! The room was discounted as we booked late in the day so we only paid £80 for both of us for a 'best' balcony room. We had excellent sea views, the beds were extremely comfortable and the room was pleasantly decorated. The only let down was the shower, the water pressure was so low that it took about 10 minutes for hot water to come through and when it did it was barely a trickle. This was the only bad part! Breakfast was enjoyable, not large at all but there was a good selection. The staff were particularly friendly, especially the lady on reception and the night porter who was there when we staggered in at 1am! I can't comment on the restaurant or bar because we didn't use these facilities. Parking is limited but allowed on the road in the winter months. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    127
    59
    10
    11
See reviews for
91
197
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We go to Boardmasters in Newquay every year and saw this hotel so as soon as the dates were released we booked our rooms. Went for Economy because the prices everywhere go up 20.00 that week and the room was as discribed - small, and basic, but it was fine just for a bed. The bathrooms were tiny in the room and the room was tiony too - but there was all you needed. The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere, the staff werent always at reception, or the bar but it wasnt offensive and were pretty much immediately there. The rooms need alot of updating because they seem old but the bar is lovely and breafast (which was included in the price) was also lovely too. Location is wonderful for the beach!! Definitely one to stay in!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My partner and I recently stayed at the Carnmarth Hotel in Newquay. We were greeted very warmly on arrival. Our room number 11 was very large and comfortable with a king size bed and excellent views of Fistral Beach. The hotel is situated in a lovely position although there is a lot of building work going on around this area.

Breakfast was excellent with a large choice. The full English was a bit small but there was plenty of cereals and other things to chose from to fill up on.

We would definitely stay here again when we visit Newquay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Our room here was pretty small and basic - but it was a decent hotel. Friendly staff, good breakfasts and a great bar.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Hotel was really clean, nicely decorated and the staff really welcoming.

The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the main town with all the bar's etc, but the views from the hotel are really nice..

Price..it is quite pricey to stay here, but again you pay for the quality!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed at the Carn Marth for a friend's wedding which was taking place within the hotel. The wedding was lovely, held in the breakfast room, with the reception in the bar area. There was a BBQ on the terrace and the whole day was fantastic.
I would only warn about the standard rooms, which have yet to be refurbished. For this reason I thought it a little pricey at £85 a night (seeing as we had stayed in a much nicer B&B the previous 2 nights in the centre of Newquay for over £20 cheaper!) We got a glimpse of the more expensive rooms which seemed to be refurbished to a high standard, just like the rest of the hotel. Therefore, if you can afford it, go for a more expensive room as the standard rooms are a bit of a let down when you see the rest of the hotel.
The rooms were very small but clean (apart from a rather off-putting stained duvet!) and were equipped wit a flat screen TV and coffee/tea making facilities.
Parking was an issue for us too, as there were large numbers of people for the wedding. The hotel car park only has a few spaces so we needed to park it in 2 different car parks (moving the car by 9am from one car park to another) which cost us an extra £10. The staff didn't seem to know much about the restrictions of the car parks nearby! However, I think this would only be an issue when the hotel is really busy.
The breakfast was nice and the setting of the hotel was lovely. Overall we were happy with our stay, just surprised at the cost, especially comparing it to other B&B's in the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sah31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

we have just returned yesterday from a 4 night break at the hotel. my wife and stayed on a B+B basis and we booked from lastminute.com....we were in room 8 which was more than sufficient for us. I did find the bathroom a little small though...however I believe this hotel was for us to be based and to explore..i wasnt thinking of wanting to spend a long time in the bathroom !!! would have preferred if it had a little more room though !!!!
The room is situated on the 1st floor and is overlooking the front of the hotel, with some excellent views of fistral beach !!!!
during our 4 night stay, we did the following things....fistral beach, town centre, lands end, lizard point, eden project,blue reef aquarium and the japanese garden,,,this was not much for us, however the main purpose of our visit was to have a relaxing time away from the hussle and bustle of city life....
we did eat out each evening....we had a thai meal which was really nice in a restaurant in the centre, we also had an indial meal...this was based on cliff road and the restaurant was called Maharajah...it was really lovely...we sat near the window with views of the sea......if you are into your indian meals, I would strongly urge you to try this out too....they have about 5 spaces for parking and we were lucky to get to the restaurant early so we got parking straight away....
one of the issues which I wanted to confirm was about the car parking facility at the hotel.....there are a limited number of spaces available, and it is based on a 1st come 1st serve basis,...during the stay, it was only once when we could not park within the allocated spaces for the hotel...we parked about a 5 mins walk away and did not have any trouble....
bearkfast in the hotel is more than sufficient, and we found it be fill us up each morning....i would also say the staff were really friendly and helpful...when we got back each evening, and bought some drinks form the bar, the bar man / woman would speak to us about how our day had gone and also what we got up to...they are really friendly and knowledgable about the area....
we spent quite a bit of time around the fistral beach,..the walk to there is really pleasant.....one word of warning though...at present, there is some building work going on near the hotel, so if yo uare a light sleeper, you will be awake by 8am each morning...this didnt bother us.. we got up by this time anyway !!!!
sorry to have gone on for ages !!!! we had a great time, here's hoping you do too !!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing