We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay marred by poor restuarant service and not good rear facing rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brackley
1 review
“Our stay marred by poor restuarant service and not good rear facing rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife booked for us and our friends another couple to stay here in April of 2013 on a special week end break. The double room was nicely appointed but beware those at the rear of the hotel as our and several other rooms overlooked a 70's style flat roof extension with litter around the area and also the rooms were overlooked by 'chalet' type accommodation (staff quarters?) meaning curtains needed to be kept closed at times. The food in the restaurant was reasonable (Friday night) but the service was slow and poor - seemed understaffed. Breakfast Saturday was OK but again poor service an example I had a small bowl of fruit and yoghurt and ordered my eggs Benedict finished the former the bowl remained in place despite several visits by waiting staff who were asked to remove same in the end I got up and placed our used crockery on the service station myself so we had room to continue our breakfast!

Sunday morning breakfast was a total disaster the four of us were serially ignored, as clearly were others guests who arrived after we had been seated were served prior to us and in all it took 25 minutes before any refreshment arrived i.e. tea/coffee. Just as well then that we had received in our room a feedback form - how handy! We all completed said forms with some suggestions and complaints and made a verbal complaint as we checked out.

The duty manager was summoned and offered a sit down discussion to be fair but we were in a hurry to get away so she offered a follow up. To date we have had no contact apart from our friend’s recieving an email some time later in May. The booking was made by my wife paid for in full using her debit card and our friends paid my wife separately.

I have this morning contacted the hotel manager and she has promised to 'look into' the matter and get back to me in the next couple of hours but as its been 4 weeks with no contact I won't be holding my breath!

Stay there yes but pay extra for a sea view and unless the restaurant service improves dramatically - eat elsewhere

Room Tip: Sea view the rear is grotty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertStainsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    323
    90
    28
    3
See reviews for
168
1,085
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked a stay at this hotel for myself and my partner through Living Social deal.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the very cherfull and helpfull reception staff who made us feel welcome. Our arrival was at 730am, were offered to leave bags and return later to check-in into rooms.
One negative comment goes to the way rooms are allocated, as we had to wait till 1500hrs to be able to check-in.
The standard room was well decorated, quite spacious and well decorated. Towels were clean, bath robes and slippers available in the room too.
We used the Spa facilities were i felt a superstar, the staff were very kind, polite, cheerfull and very professional.
Food at the restaurant is VERY GOOD, breakfast is lush, with so much variety and good quality. We had dinner too and food was equaly very good.
I cant praise the staff enough, would definately come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno_Gois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Nuno_Gois. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our check in time is from 3pm however we do always do our best to let guest check in earlier if we can. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, this time it had been updated, Wow what a difference, our room was beautiful as were the views, the facilities as always were excellent.
What lets down this hotel is the Fistral Spa service, the therapists in my opinion are in experienced and rushed our treatment of a full body massage from start to finish, a real disappointment when everywhere else in the hotel; the service is top class, we like this hotel because of being able to start our stay with a massage, however would perhaps try somewhere else in future.
I must also add that this was the second time we had visited Fistral Spa and had similar findings on our first visit, thought it was worth the second chance however not a third!!

Room Tip: Beach and sea views, absolutely stunning and well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Vanessa K, Thank you for your review, all feedback both positive or negative is welcomed. Regarding your comments on the spa they have been passed onto the spa manager who will make sure that they are dealt with. It is difficult for me to now comment as I do not know which treatment, what time you book etc. However I would just like to bring to your attention that that the treatment time listed in the brochure is including the customer journey which starts from the moment that you are collected from the relaxation room to the moment you are returned which includes you consultation at the beginning. If you would like to discuss this with the spa manager then please do not hesitate to contact us as we would love the opportunity to resolve this for you. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our short break to Fistral Beach Hotel,Newquay was really enjoyable.Our room was lovely-very clean,and tastefully furnished.The bathroom was spotless,and beautifully finished.The staff were as pleasant as can be,and made you feel very welcome.We shall definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you Hillary B for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I wish I could stay longer than 2 nights - this hotel was a real find. The location is amazing overlooking Fistral Beach. The spa is just what you need - pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The food is excellent with mostly brilliant service.

I had the odd difficulty being immediately understood by the non-English waiters, and a Cornish afternoon tea that never arrived but very minor comments. The vast majority of the time the service was exceptional - not seaside resort visitor but valued customer.

I had a blissful stay and will be back once I've saved some pennies.....

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to sea view, the view is wonderful but the standard room was just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeWilliams1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you DianeWilliams1961 for your lovely review. I hope next time you are able to stay longer with us. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel expecting to check in to our room immediately as we had arrived early afternoon, to find to our surprise that the room was not.one staff said its not ready and the other staff said the manager is going round checking our rooms,It won't be long and then you can go to your room ,after 5 mins the staff came back to say it will be another 5 mins to which we were not pleased but continued to wait till the room was finally ready.
On eventually getting to our room it is clean and tidy but their sliding doors seal must need replacing as you can hear the sound of the wind not good for a peaceful nite sleep !!!
We then decided to go out to Padstow for the afternoon which was an amazing afternoon.
On returning to the hotel there was no parking spaces left at the hotel to park in , so we found a space right at the end of the hotel not blocking anyone but decided to let the reception know and ask reception if there was any other spaces to be told by a rude with an attitude receptionist no you can park on the street to which I said no we had stuff in the car, she said well you should of reserved a space you must of been told as its standard procedure which we hadn't. I could not believe she answered back and didn't offer any sort of compromise to a guest just argue with the guest.
I was very disappointed with their attitude towards guests we are the ones paying their wages they should remember that.
I will not be returning to this hotel
Beware of their attitude

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Roxy29. All feedback both positive and negative is welcomed. Our rooms are available for check in from 3pm onwards we always do our best to let guests check in prior to this time if the room is available. Your comments on the sliding door have been passed on to the maintenance team and they have been addressed. Regarding the car parking we do highlight the different options for parking on both our website and on the confirmation letter sent out to all of our guests. If you would like to discuss this with me further please do not hesitate to contact. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Got this on a deal for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. It was well worth the money. The rooms are as shown on the website. We had a sea view but would say try to go higher than floor one as you are looking on to a flat roof and sea gulls do like to stand outside your room. The spa was excellent, warm clean and relaxing. The food was amazing the chocolate pudding was lovely. Sat looking out on the Beach with the sunset and a glass of wine would take some beating. I would say check you Bill as I had other peoples items on mine and so did another person checking out at the same time. However, it was resolved quickly. Wifi was good so could work from here. Friendly staff. Good walking from hotel and free car parking. Would go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montgomery16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Montgomery16 thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you would come back and just remember any returning guests receive 10% discount as part of our loyalty club. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing