We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with best staff in Britain !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay with best staff in Britain !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had an amazing stay at the fistral beach hotel.great location.amazing views.stayed in a balcony room had a bath whilst checking out fistral bay!breakfast great had al acarte one night very good.all the staff were great always happy and willing to go the extra mile!as we got engaged here on last night will defeniatly be back to stay in this awsome hotel many more times!!!

Room Tip: Balcony or sea view rooms great.2 steaks and a bottle of wine for 25quid on a Thursday bargin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milo099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi Milo099

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and I will agree the balcony rooms are definitely worth it. Congratulations on your engagement and wish you both all the happiness in the future, you will have to come back for your anniversary or perhaps your wedding!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    322
    89
    27
    3
See reviews for
168
1,083
56
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Wow! A wonderful relaxing holiday. The hotel was fabulous! Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the best rooms with a balcony looking straight out onto the beach. It was idyllic. Waking up to the sound of the sea was so nice. The swimming pool, jacuzzi. sauna and steam room were amazing. The restaurant is a must!! Wish we could have stayed longer. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you had such a nice time staying with us. We look forward to you returning to the hotel (soon hopefully), remember to let us know you have stayed before and you will receive a 10% discount on your next stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Excellent location on the south side of Fistral Beach, great views, easy walks around the headland, and a 20 mins stroll into town. Although Newquay it not really worth much of a visit, looking quite tired these days, and there are much better places to visit in Cornwall, Fistral Beach Hotel is worth a visit, and a good base to tour Cornwall from.
The Spa was pleasant, the quiet room in the Spa was particularly lovely for some R+R, and the restaurant food was very good quality and imaginative menu...much better than anything in the town... but not much choice for children.
The bedrooms were tastefully furnished, a good size, as was the bathroom, and the view (if you have a sea view room) is fantastic. Well worth the extra money, to sit on your balcony and watch the surfers below.
Staff deserve a particular mention, so many places you feel like just another customer, but here everyone is cheerful, wants to chat a little about your day, and service is always with a smile. Well done to all!
Parking can be an issue at times, through the week seems ok, plenty of space in the car park and on the road, but weekends would be difficult, so I would recommend reserving a space then.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Diz023

Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments regarding the staff have been passed on to them all. Thank you for your feedback regarding a children's menu we will take your feedback on board and see if there are any improvements that we can make.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights 8/9 June. We stayed in Room 1. It had a fantastic view of Fistral Beach. We were on a DBB deal and all the meals were excellent. The room was nicely decorated. One small problem is that the blind is a few inches shorter than the window, which let light in early in the morning. We managed to block the gap with the scatter cushions provided. We were a bit concerned that the room is right next to the bar but it was not a problem at all. The swimming pool is of a good size for a hotel and it has a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Robes and slippers are provided in the rooms. The hotel is in an ideal position for exploring Cornwall, we visited the Eden Project whilst we stayed there.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurrayhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Hurryhols

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologise regarding the blinds I can assure you that this has now been address and is no longer the case. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a really lovely hotel with a fantastic spa attached to it. It's set away from Newquay itself and is in a quiet location, but with the beautiful Fistral beach on your door-step.

We stayed for the one night Refresh spa break, which included a 25 min treatment, 3 course dinner and breakfast the next day.

The Bay bar is really nicely decorated with amazing views out to sea, the same views can be seen from the restaurant.

The food was really good too and brilliant value for money.

We upgraded to a sea view room for an extra £10.00 which was a bargain and really worth it. It was so nice to look out to sea when in bed and wake up to a great view. We decided to have our breakfast in our room for an £8 charge and was nice to sit at the table looking out to sea and watching the surfers.

The room was large and furnished to a high standard. The bathroom had a large deep bath and there was a seperate rainbow shower which was big also.

The staff were very nice and friendly, always saying hello and asking how you are and if your having a nice stay.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliechunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Charliechunk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views of The Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa with other travellers and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will return to us one day soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at the hotels n my own as I was visiting family in the area but wanted my own space. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff were extremely polite and friendly and always helpful and happy to go that extra mile. The room was lovely. I had a room on the 3rd floor with balcony and stunning 180 degree views of the sea and beach. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom to die for with free standing bath, 2 washbasins and a shower cubicle my whole family could have fitted into.
Apart from breakfast which was nicely cooked and the restaurant has good views of the coast, I did not experience the lunch or dinner menu so unable to comment, as I ate out with my family.
All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely go back there and recommend it.

Room Tip: Best room are on the third floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby2HenleyonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Ruby2HenleyonThames, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever looking to return just remember your 10% loyalty discount.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here on 11 July for three nights on the basis that the hotel had fairly good reviews and the weather forecast was good. We paid extra for a sea-view room and were given a third floor room with a balcony. The view from our balcony over Fistral Beach was fantastic. Sometimes you would see a great expanse of sandy beach, another time you would see the high tide. On our first night we had dinner at the hotel. The food was excellent and good value for money. A slight criticism would be the waiting staff. They are pleasant some were a bit unprofessional, slow in taking your drinks and food orders and we had to ask for bread and they said we were lucky as there were only two rolls left! The same pattern happened at breakfast. Guests wait to be seated and then waiters/waitresses take an order for tea/coffee and a cooked breakfast. Cold continental style breakfast is served buffet style. There appeared to be no organisation between the staff as to who served who which resulted in quite a long wait for service. However when the food arrived it was excellent. I had fish and poached eggs. The staff were also slow to replenish the buffet. Again I had to ask for bread. Please don't be put off by this slight criticism as it is a lovely hotel and would appeal to clients of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsmudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Redsmudgy

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. All feedback is highly valued and I can assure you that we will be looking into your comments regarding the restaurant service and seeing if there is anything that we can do to improve upon it for the future. I am pleased that you still had a lovely time with us and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing