We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This review is based on a 'best room' stay, so I can't comment on the other rooms, but I would say that the views and sound of the sea is well worth the extra cost. The hotel is very relaxing and has a good ambience.

This is our favourite hotel to stay in. This is the second time we've been and will definitely be staying again. We came for the Boardmasters festival but spent most of the time in the hotel. The Bar has great views and is very relaxing and has good food and drinks. We had an offer on the evening meal in the restaurant so it was good value, but had we paid he full amount we might have been disappointed. Lots of options for breakfast.

I'm not sure what could improve this hotel...Well worth the cost.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear L B

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor, it is always lovely to read such a lovely review. I hope you will come and stay with us a third time, just remember to let us know you are part of our loyalty club and you will receive 10% discount on our best available rate.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    353
    99
    29
    3
See reviews for
175
1,149
59
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for a week just after the recent heatwave. It was superb. The staff were outstanding throughout the hotel, and Kirsty on the front desk went out of her way to make sure we had three rooms near to each other for our family break.

Newquay is pretty hilly so it's not ideal for elderly parents, but we were delighted that the rooms we booked had an OUTSTANDING view of the beach. The rooms are fresh and modern, and if you get either room 308 or room 301 you get a monstrous standalone bath tub and separate shower.

The food in the restaurant is great, and quit reasonably priced. They were offering 20% off vouchers if we ate in the restaurant, so we did on a couple of occasions. Excellent serving staff - thanks, Mary - and lovely food.

Any drawbacks? Just a couple of niggles - no safe in the rooms and no fridge/minibar. Aircon would be expensive to install so I can see they probably won't be doing that, but the safe and he fridge could fit neatly in the rooms.

You can reserve car parking for £10 per night for the duration of your stay - ideal if you think the hills of Newquay are too much like mountaineering, as it means you can come and go in your car as you wish.

Well done, Fistral Beach Hotel - a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Book one of the 'best' rooms and ask for 301 or 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear 339334

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will revisit in the near future. Kristy and Mary would like to thank you for their special mentions.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August 2013 for my birthday. We booked quite late and I must admit it was quite expensive £500ish for 3 nights (standard room) but then I guess it was school holidays and peak season, and similar standard hotels were of a similar price.

We were blown away by the location, stunning views of Fistral Beach and a good base to drive onto other Cornish towns. The staff on reception were really welcoming and friendly and are a massive asset to the hotel.

My only criticisms would be the lack of air conditioning in the room, thankfully the windows open but then you find yourself being woken by seagulls in the early hours. My other negative was that there isn't a fridge in the room for drinks etc.

As a tip, it is worth calling ahead to book a car parking space at the hotel (£10 per night) but there is street parking outside of the hotel if you want to save money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Rhiannon L

Thank you for your review. We have a dynamic pricing system at the hotel so the further away we are from the date of the booking and the less demand there is the cheaper the price will be.

I will agree with you the location still stuns me and that is after many years of taking in the wonderful view. I am pleased that we were able to be a part of your Birthday celebrations and I hope we helped to make it special for you.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great staff. They were helpful in setting up a trip for us. The staff checked on us throughout our stay and about the trip they set up for us. The view is spectacular! Spa and rooms are nice. Wish the windows would open a bit more!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for your review. All of our windows have a safety catch on them which means they only open a small amount to begin with, however towards the top of the window you are able to release the safety catch which allows them to be opened fully. I am please that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel last weekend and must say this hotel is brilliant. Staff are very very helpful, polite and friendly. The views from the hotel were amazing. It was just a 5 minute walk to the Fistral beach which is also a very very nice beach. One of the best I've been to. Surfers paradise I think as from about 5 in the morning there were surfers in the sea.

Hotel was clean and very well maintained. We stayed in room 113, which was very nice with mesmerising sea views. Next time, I'll go for one of the Balcony room on the top floor, but sadly all of them were booked while we were there and hence couldn't upgrade. Housekeeping were very prompt and delivered an Ironing table, fan etc in less than 5 mins of requesting.

Claire (the blonde Claire) who booked us in and was busy doing multiple things around all the time we were there was most welcoming and made us feel at home.

Excellent included breakfast! Inroom dining has an 8 pound charge for delivery, which seemed a bit excessive, but the food makes up for it. Food at the Cafe Bar is good, clean and very well presented. We didn't try the Spa as we couldn't figure out what to do with our 9 year old. Children are not allowed into the Spa area, but they offered to let us use the swimming pool at their sister hotel 2 doors down where children are allowed. We didn't take them up on it as we had the whole sea to play with :)

Overall, very good experience and I would totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 113 we stayed in was good, but I would totally recommend getting the Balcony rooms on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Santosh K,

Thank you very much for you lovely review. I am so please you had such a lovely time staying with us. You kind comments regarding the service you received from Claire has been passed on and she was thrilled she made the start of you stay with us so nice. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had an amazing stay at the fistral beach hotel.great location.amazing views.stayed in a balcony room had a bath whilst checking out fistral bay!breakfast great had al acarte one night very good.all the staff were great always happy and willing to go the extra mile!as we got engaged here on last night will defeniatly be back to stay in this awsome hotel many more times!!!

Room Tip: Balcony or sea view rooms great.2 steaks and a bottle of wine for 25quid on a Thursday bargin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi Milo099

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and I will agree the balcony rooms are definitely worth it. Congratulations on your engagement and wish you both all the happiness in the future, you will have to come back for your anniversary or perhaps your wedding!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Wow! A wonderful relaxing holiday. The hotel was fabulous! Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the best rooms with a balcony looking straight out onto the beach. It was idyllic. Waking up to the sound of the sea was so nice. The swimming pool, jacuzzi. sauna and steam room were amazing. The restaurant is a must!! Wish we could have stayed longer. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you had such a nice time staying with us. We look forward to you returning to the hotel (soon hopefully), remember to let us know you have stayed before and you will receive a 10% discount on your next stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing