We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent a four night break at the Fistral Beach Hotel in Newquay with my wife. A perfect location just out of town on the side of the main Surfing Beach. Probably too far to walk into town in the evening but £5 taxi fare makes it easy. Hotel exceeded our expectations. The whole hotel gives you a feel of space. We had a Sea View room which was well maintained and always crisp and fresh and quite spacious. The restaurant was excellent with good food at a reasonable price. The Bar was again very spacious and plenty of space to relax. However, what gives the hotel that little extra is the Spa/pool. This is an excellent facility and we would highly recommend a visit. Finally, in all areas the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Next time I visit Cornwall/Newquay then the Fistral Beach Hotel would be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Request a Sea View Room and definitely visit the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Anthony1910

Thank you for your lovely review it means a lot to myself. I know that there were a couple of little niggles during your stay but I am glad that these were resolved and you had a fantastic time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back and please feel free to contact me directly when re booking.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,877 - 1,883 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay (15 to 18 Aug). The hotel has undergone substantial renovation since last year and the bedrooms are delightful.

Absolutely no complaints from us. Great service and the views over Fistral beach are second to none. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnut20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Travelnut20,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you like our refurbished room and I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for a three night break last week. The prices were more than we would normally spend ( and these were discounted prices !!) for a short break but well worth it.The room was good with a stand alone bath that I could almost swim in. The views over Fistral Beach were great and the spa facilities excellent.The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful.The food in the restaurant was well cooked but the service could be improved - we had to wait a long time for the food to be served, especially breakfast. We would return to this hotel again if we visit Cornwall and would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Look out for special offers and ask for upgrades when you arrive. We were offered a half price upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of The Fistral Beach Hotel. We have 5 different room categories which offer a range of prices and whilst we are very competitive with our rates for the local area, you stayed with is in peak season. Lower season we have many great spa breaks and special offers which are lower in price. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself and I hope to see either yourselves or you family here again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A very good Hotel, we loved to stay there. Excellent rooms- especially the bathroom!- a friendly staff, and the meals were very good. In the Morning sitting in the bed with a tea and to look at the atlantic-sea, it was great! Thank you so much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you Kerstin for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will admit I don't think there is a better view than the one we have here over the Atlantic.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Recently returned from a five day break at the hotel. The hotel is in an excellent spot overlooking fistral beach. It's at the quieter end of town but there is a lovely footpath along sand dunes to town centre.
Spa facilities were excellent and a bonus to have if the weather is bad.
The staff here were all extremely pleasant and went out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable stay.
Breakfast was amazing with a good selection to choose from. So good in fact we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel which also didn't disapoint.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean -ours was a standard room which was slightly too small but well equipped.
We found the car park a little tight as we travelled in a vw transporter - vehicles well packed in. Particularly noticeable on the Friday night but parking was available on the roadside opposite hotel.
Overall an excellent stay. We intend to return next year and hope that the same high standards will still be in place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LoveSunNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear LoveSunNorthants

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with fellow travellers. I am glad you had such a lovely time and I look forward to welcoming you back next year and I am confident that we will not disappoint.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for two nights & the hotel is fab. We had a seaview the first night which was lovely but after a mix up we were upgraded to the suite for the second night. This was just amazing. We would recommend this to anyone, especially for a honeymoon or anniversary as the room includes a lounge area & private jacuzzi!! A special thanks to Becky for resolving the problem so quickly & efficiently, she is a credit to the hotel. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentSunseeker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear KentSunseeker11

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Please except my sincere apologise for the mix up with the room but I am pleased staying in the suite for the night made up for it. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here in the middle of July for a 3 night 'minimoon' after my wedding after being wowed by the amazing panoramic images on their website... I wasn't disappointed. The view from the rooms across Fistral Beach are fantastic.

On arrival our room was decorated with rose petals and complimentary chocolates on the bed. Not a massive fan of champagne but requested some to be in the room for the occasion. The recommendation of Cornish champagne was lovely. Definitely worth having.

The room was very comfortable, with a massive bed and ample sized bathroom. This had double patio doors out on to the balcony and gave a great view while having a bath! It was spotless and serviced every day of our stay. Only problem we encountered with the room was with the shower. The hot water is intermittent and goes from boiling hot to freezing cold every so often. Could be a problem for children or if you're sunburnt.

We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and treated ourselves to the full English. Every day it took a while arriving. Even when the restaurant was fairly empty. However, the supply of tea and the view took our minds off the time.

During our stay, we used the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. It wasn't busy down there at all and there are always loads of towels. We were surprised not to see any poolside seating when we got down there to relax on. I guess space is the issue…

We went to the bar a few times and they had live music on which was a surprise and it created a great atmosphere.The staff were both helpful and welcoming. Always spoke to you with a smile. There is a terrace on the other side of the car park and the staff would bring drinks out to you. Perfect for watching the sunset.

All in all, we throughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay here again if in Newquay. Despite the couple of niggling issues it didn't ruin our stay but it does mean it only receives 4 stars.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the 'Best Room' which has a balcony. The panoramic view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamstreety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Iamstreety

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that there were a few niggling issues but I am pleased that this did not spoil your stay with us and you enjoyed your minimoon (Congratulations) I hope that you will re visit us in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £61 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing