We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel. Skip the SPA.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Skip the SPA.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is renovated, you can feel that it is old hotel, with new makeup.
So generally speaking the hotel is nice, the location is great, the room is very minimal, clean and spacious.The dinner is Ok. Breakfast is basic.
So far so good.
The issue was with the SPA, The fitness room was very bad smelling.
The pool is not welcoming.
The SPA area air conditioning was not working, which made the visit very not comfortable.
The treatment are OK, Not ESPA standard in our opinion.

Room Tip: Prefer room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shemesh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    323
    90
    28
    3
See reviews for
168
1,085
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel whilst on coach trip. What a super place! The staff were friendly and always smiling and helpful. How nice it is to have a smiling waiter or waitress serving your meal. The meals were excellent too. Our room was large with a very good bathroom. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel and it really deserves being number one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Chris

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidcup
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had previously stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it so much we have always wanted to stay again. So, when he offer came up of three nights for the price of two we took advantage and booked up.
We were not disappointed, the rooms which had been modernised, were clean, bright, spacious and tastefully furnished and had a comfortable king-size bed. The adjoining bathroom was roomy, clean and had an excellent bath suite.
The public areas were equally good as the bedrooms, everything was clean and smart and tastefully furnished.
Staff were always on hand and were courteous at all times.
The evening meals, which we paid for in advance to get a better rate, were fitting of any top class restaurant and the portion size was excellent. Breakfast should be renamed to breakfeast as there was food a plenty with a massive selection to choose from on the continental buffet with the option of a 8 item fry up after!
The spa facilities were free to guests and were a really relaxing way to spend an hour or so unwinding before the evening meal.
My one disappointment was the choice of beer in the bar I would have love to have seen a Doombar pump as opposed to a Tribute pump! But the that's just my opinion and I guess they are right in going for the more local brewer.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview, it won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Nick

Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice to see that you had such a wonderful time and that you were well looked after by the staff. I hope that we will see you again soon for a return visit.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the very second we arrived at Fistral beach hotel & spa, we were greeted and treated wonderfully by their very friendly and very polite staff. Our sea view bedroom on the 1st floor was immaculate and very spacious. The views were picturesque, which included the horizon of the ocean and the local surfers catching waves just outside our window. The Hotels spa was out of this world with a large serene swimming pool whith relaxing music played above and below the water line. In the same swimming area there was a very nice, hot Jacuzzi, a Steam room (that I just didn't want to leave) and a sauna. My wife and I booked two massages each on separate days. I cannot begin to explain just how professional, relaxing and rewarding the massages were, we walked out of the relaxation area floating and feeling fantastic. The lounge/bar area was the most relaxing comfortable and ambient place I have ever had the pleasure of frequenting. The staff are incredibly helpful and polite and cannot do enough to help you and make you feel so welcome. We had dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant. The food was exquisite and merited 5 Michelin stars. Two 10 ounce Rump steaks Chunky chips, Mushrooms, a side salad amongst others and a bottle of Rose Wine was priced at only £25.00 and the service was of a very high standard. Our whole experience at the Fistral beach hotel was amazingly perfect beyond belief and we tried to book another 3 days to extend our already perfect honeymoon at the hotel. Unfortunately They were fully booked. We are hoping to go back and spend our anniversary there next year. I highly recommend this spa hotel to anyone who appreciates comfort relaxation and immaculate treatment with glorious views and beaches. If you are out for a rave or a party then this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a hotel were you can completely relax and feel fantastic at the end of your stay, this IS the hotel for you. I cannot express enough just how perfect This hotel is. nearly a week later my wife and I are still telling everyone and anyone who wants to listen just what a wonderful 5 days we had there. I know this review sounds too good to be true..but believe me it is.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are to die for we had room 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardocuoredeleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Richard

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to congratulate you, and from everyone here at the hotel we hope that your have a wonderful future together.

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

10/10 for room, food and service. 11/10 for sea views from room and restaurant. Easy and very pleasant walk into Newquay. If you are too old to surf you can just watch from the hotel.
The staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Christine

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were well looked after and the food and the room exceeded your expectations, however I will agree with you that the view from the hotel is something very special! I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely hotel with really friendly staff. Spa is lovely with good facilities and not overly busy. Wide choice of breakfast: freshly cooked to order where appropriate. Make sure you ask for a sea view - it's spectacular! We didn't dine in the restaurant but the menu looked good.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaldonresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Shaldonresident

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel with others on trip advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our second visit. We had a Seaview room,which was a really good size,also the bathroom had a lovely freestanding bath and a walk in rainfall shower. All was modern and lovely and clean.
We had a spa package with a 55 minute massage, which was amazing! The Breakfast Menu had great choice of just about anything you could want for breakfast and the Evening meal was Three Course A La Carte. All food was superb!!.
Add to this, Staff that are really welcoming and heplful,nothing is too much trouble for any of them,and you know why we will be going back again and again.
Oh,and the Gym was well equiped and maintained and the Pool, Sauna, Steamroom,and Jacuzzi well looked after. The changing rooms, nice and clean, with a plentiful supply of fresh towels and shower gels.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can on your budget. It does make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Anthony

Thank you for your lovely review, I am please that you enjoyed yourselves so much and I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing