We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average certainly not as luxury as announced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked a room with see view and we had the see view but also in this mini room view on the bar and the parking!
Don't take number room number 1! Located on ground floor just above the technical local ! So noisy! with your nose on the parking lot, and guest in the bar have a perfect view in your room!
Don't trust the special daily of the Spa, I though I had a manicure at 50% and at the final check out they said they didn't remember the offer!
At the breakfast, be sure to be quick and precise when you order and make sure to ask the good person who didn't party too long the day before! Luckily on of them The Spanish guy was very friendly and effective.
Value for the very expensive price ( we paid 856£. For 5 days!) not worth it!
The only good thing is the view and the personal at the little spa.
Very disappointed , not coming again in this hotel for spring.

Room Tip: Don't take room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caridpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,846 - 1,852 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights for the third time in a Best Room (sea view with balcony) and I would recommend you do the same - there was nothing like watching the sea with a cup of tea and in your dressing gown (that was provided). The facilities are excellent - the spa, gym, restaurant, bar including board games and cards. With a young baby we used the sister hotel pool too. The main asset of this hotel is the staff - nothing is a chore or too much for them and they sincerely care and make conversation rather than awkward chit chat. Charlie or reception, the French man in the bar (sorry forgot name) and Tony in the gym were particularly friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer it was one of the best holidays we've ever had - thank you!

Room Tip: Go for the Best Room it's a little more but worth every penny and can be used in all weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you Vicky for your amazing review. Charlie, Alban and Tony all thank you for there special mention. Remember you are now part of our loyalty club which means you get 10% discount on any future booking and lots up special treats like Free of Charge upgrades and complimentary drinks. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is renovated, you can feel that it is old hotel, with new makeup.
So generally speaking the hotel is nice, the location is great, the room is very minimal, clean and spacious.The dinner is Ok. Breakfast is basic.
So far so good.
The issue was with the SPA, The fitness room was very bad smelling.
The pool is not welcoming.
The SPA area air conditioning was not working, which made the visit very not comfortable.
The treatment are OK, Not ESPA standard in our opinion.

Room Tip: Prefer room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shemesh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel whilst on coach trip. What a super place! The staff were friendly and always smiling and helpful. How nice it is to have a smiling waiter or waitress serving your meal. The meals were excellent too. Our room was large with a very good bathroom. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel and it really deserves being number one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Chris

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had previously stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it so much we have always wanted to stay again. So, when he offer came up of three nights for the price of two we took advantage and booked up.
We were not disappointed, the rooms which had been modernised, were clean, bright, spacious and tastefully furnished and had a comfortable king-size bed. The adjoining bathroom was roomy, clean and had an excellent bath suite.
The public areas were equally good as the bedrooms, everything was clean and smart and tastefully furnished.
Staff were always on hand and were courteous at all times.
The evening meals, which we paid for in advance to get a better rate, were fitting of any top class restaurant and the portion size was excellent. Breakfast should be renamed to breakfeast as there was food a plenty with a massive selection to choose from on the continental buffet with the option of a 8 item fry up after!
The spa facilities were free to guests and were a really relaxing way to spend an hour or so unwinding before the evening meal.
My one disappointment was the choice of beer in the bar I would have love to have seen a Doombar pump as opposed to a Tribute pump! But the that's just my opinion and I guess they are right in going for the more local brewer.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview, it won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Nick

Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice to see that you had such a wonderful time and that you were well looked after by the staff. I hope that we will see you again soon for a return visit.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the very second we arrived at Fistral beach hotel & spa, we were greeted and treated wonderfully by their very friendly and very polite staff. Our sea view bedroom on the 1st floor was immaculate and very spacious. The views were picturesque, which included the horizon of the ocean and the local surfers catching waves just outside our window. The Hotels spa was out of this world with a large serene swimming pool whith relaxing music played above and below the water line. In the same swimming area there was a very nice, hot Jacuzzi, a Steam room (that I just didn't want to leave) and a sauna. My wife and I booked two massages each on separate days. I cannot begin to explain just how professional, relaxing and rewarding the massages were, we walked out of the relaxation area floating and feeling fantastic. The lounge/bar area was the most relaxing comfortable and ambient place I have ever had the pleasure of frequenting. The staff are incredibly helpful and polite and cannot do enough to help you and make you feel so welcome. We had dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant. The food was exquisite and merited 5 Michelin stars. Two 10 ounce Rump steaks Chunky chips, Mushrooms, a side salad amongst others and a bottle of Rose Wine was priced at only £25.00 and the service was of a very high standard. Our whole experience at the Fistral beach hotel was amazingly perfect beyond belief and we tried to book another 3 days to extend our already perfect honeymoon at the hotel. Unfortunately They were fully booked. We are hoping to go back and spend our anniversary there next year. I highly recommend this spa hotel to anyone who appreciates comfort relaxation and immaculate treatment with glorious views and beaches. If you are out for a rave or a party then this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a hotel were you can completely relax and feel fantastic at the end of your stay, this IS the hotel for you. I cannot express enough just how perfect This hotel is. nearly a week later my wife and I are still telling everyone and anyone who wants to listen just what a wonderful 5 days we had there. I know this review sounds too good to be true..but believe me it is.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are to die for we had room 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardocuoredeleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Richard

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to congratulate you, and from everyone here at the hotel we hope that your have a wonderful future together.

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

10/10 for room, food and service. 11/10 for sea views from room and restaurant. Easy and very pleasant walk into Newquay. If you are too old to surf you can just watch from the hotel.
The staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Christine

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were well looked after and the food and the room exceeded your expectations, however I will agree with you that the view from the hotel is something very special! I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
21.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £61 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing