We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my friend's hen weekend and the entire stay was fantastic. We had found an excellent deal which included 3 course meal both nights, continental breakfast both mornings, a facial workshop and a cocktail making class. This was perfect deal for our hen weekend!

When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist was very welcoming asking how our journey was and she was very informative about our stay. I shared a twin room with my friend and the room was lovely, it was very clean and the bathroom was big. We went to the spa after we unpacked and it was brilliant, we used all the facilities, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and pool which made us very relaxed. I particularly liked the lighting above the pool, as it resembled the night sky, which was beautiful.

Dinner both nights were amazing. Our table had been set up with balloons, which we thought was a very lovely touch. Our waiter, Simon, was extremely lovely. He was very polite and he gave outstanding service. The food was fantastic, there was a lot of variety and they did not leave you feeling hungry as the portions were a perfect size! There was no one fault with the food. Breakfast was wonderful, there were choices of cereal, pastries, and various cooked breakfasts, such as pancakes, full english and eggs florentine, which the servers brought to you.

Our cocktail making session was very fun. We could choose 2 cocktails from a list to make and they even let us create our own cocktails. The two barmen were very friendly and explained about how and why you make cocktails in a certain way. We had a facial workshop with two of the spa ladies. They were also very friendly and they demonstrated how to put the products on your face with the hen! They gave us products to suit our skin types and they gave a very relaxing head massage! This was a beautiful way to end a fantastic weekend!

All the staff in this hotel went above and beyond to make sure our stay was relaxing and fun. I would recommend staying here for any occasion, as you will not be disappointed by any aspect of your stay. I definitely would love to return in the future, as they have made me feel very welcomed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Bethany

What a wonderful review, I am so pleased that you and your friends had such a lovely time with us here at Fistral Beach. I hope it was a truly memorable break, and am glad you were able to experience all of the facilities on offer at the hotel. I have passed on your kind comments to all members of the team, including Simon, The two barmen who took your cocktail class and the spa therapists. We have many different breaks on offer so I’m sure you’ll find something to suit any occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,861 - 1,867 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a great night here recently, booked only the day before and paid just £55 for a room that didn't have a sea view. The room was modern and well equipped with a nice bathroom, complimentary toilliteries and tea and coffee making facilities. Used the gym (which was small but well equipped) and then the swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi. All the facilities were lovely, felt really chilled after a few hours in there. The swimming pool is lovely and modern, the changing facilities were also really nice with great products. Not far to walk into the town for dinner or shopping, about 20 mins down hill, although it was raining in the evening so we got a taxi which came to £6. Literally across the road from the beach which is fab. Nice bar area too and all the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. A lovely night of chilled luxury.
.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear SophieN

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us. I’m glad you’d like to return to the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you.
Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed two nights B & B for a birthday treat with amazing views over Fistral Beach! Spa was all first class with very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast all cooked fresh with waiter service! Recommend this hotel if you want something extra special.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie191009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Julie191009

I’m delighted by your kind comments, and am pleased that you chose the Fistral Beach Hotel to celebrate such a special occaison. We value our guests comments so I will definitely pass on your kind words to all members of staff. Thank you for the time taken to write this review, I really appreciate it. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for another special occasion in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife booked this hotel for me for my birthday. It was brilliant we used the sauna, steam room sauna jacuzzi and pool we even went in and tried out the gym. Had a fantastic time and would recommend it highly and the breakfast is out standing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear PaulC

I’d like to wish you belated happy birthday from all of the team here at Fistral Beach. Thank you for your kind comments and positive feedback; it gives me pleasure knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your recommendation, it means a lot to us here at the hotel. We’d love to welcome you back for another special occasion in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Pleasant hotel with great view over Fistral Beach. Rooms OK , very big bathroom, good food - had an excellent dinner and breakfasts too were very good, unfortunately didn't have time to use the spa so can't comment on it- too busy exploring Cornwall! Quite expensive but worth it as I will never forget the view!

Room Tip: pick room overlooking the beach - ours had a balcony on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springerspandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Springerpandog

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. The view over Fistral Beach is truly one of a kind and I’m glad you were able to experience it from our hotel.
Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is a gem of a find. We went for our anniversary and booked dinner, bed breakfast and massage. On arrival at the hotel our exhaust had just broken and they found us a garage rearranged our massages and were brilliant .our room was at the back but they had put petals in a heart shape on the bed. It was lovely but only a double bed when I had requested a king size. Reception again were great and moved us next door to a kingsize petals and all.
But the best part of our fantastic stay was dinner. If you are near Newquay treat yourselves. I had scallops on linguine with olive tampanard followed by steak and latte brûlée . My husband had amazing carrot honey and ginger soup, veggie main and toffee profiteroles . Wow I could eat it again now. The view from the hotel is wonderful but go for the food . The restaurant manager and staff made our night. Reception were wonderful too. Will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Sea view costs more but is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Anna C

I am pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your anniversary stay and that we were able to make it so special for you. I am sorry you were not allocated a king-size bed originally and I am pleased that reception resolved this for you quickly and efficiently. I look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were allocated our room, we weren't expecting a sea view but was amazed when we opened the room door to a gorgeous view. Staff very attentive and friendly. Rooms very spacious and modern, would definitely come back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl020304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Chery

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your sea view. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £66 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing