We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at beginning of Feb (only just got online access again!) Were on coach party trip and were upgraded as Esplanade Hotel was being refurbished - weren't we the lucky ones! Had an upgrade to sea view room which was fantastic -views of surfers from the bath. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic and waiting on staff were chatty without being intrusive. Smiles all round and many thanks. We've been spoilt now and want to return very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear WilliamStafford

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for being understanding with the last minute transfer from our sister hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    368
    104
    30
    3
See reviews for
180
1,181
59
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A fantastic stay!!
My partner and I went down to the hotel on Saturday afternoon, greeted by a very helpful and polite reception team. quickly sorted and allowed to our room. The room was very clean and the prosecco and chocolates in the room were a very nice touch.

The evening meal was exceptional! fantastic menu, quick service and an excellent wine menu. Matthew, who I believe was the very polite and accommodating restaurant manager couldn't do enough to help.

The one thing I would say is the website does not do this place justice. The rooms and views, as well as the spa are probably one of the best available on the Cornish coast.

Will return for sure. you all made it a very special weekend, Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony looking out over the bay are fantastic. recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Mattg30

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is nice to read that we helped to make your valentines weekend a special one. When you are looking to return make sure you mention that you have stayed previously as you are now part of our loyalty club which entitles you to special rates and extra treats. We look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a yoga weekend and had a brilliant time. The hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated and our room was fabulous with amazing views across Fistral Beach. We had booked a standard room but were lucky to be given a free upgrade to a sea view room which we really appreciated. The hotels communal areas as well as our room were spotless. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
The food was fantastic, it was so hard to choose from the extensive menu as it all looked so delicious. The pool and spa were brilliant and the yoga was very enjoyable. We would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a weekend away, whether for yoga, spa or just a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a free upgrade but would seriously consider paying the extra for the sea view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Debbie

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you had such a wonderful time on your yoga break with us and that the staff looked after you so well. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to a sea view room. We hope to see you on one of our yoga breaks later in the year.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Wow! What a fab hotel, beautifully situated on Fistral beach where the surf rolls in and the surfers roll off!! We have just got back and fromstart to finish we couldn't fault the hotel in anyway.
The hotel has recently been re furnished and this is obvious as everywhere is spotlessly clean and fresh. We stayed in room 201, one of the superior rooms and worth that extra bit of money as it has a sea view. We could watch the waves from the large free standing bath or from the bed. As other reviewers have said the double bed is actually large twins pushed together, but really comfortable and not a problem.
Service in the hotel was top class and a nice touch from the receptionist to ring to make sure everything was ok 5 minutes after check in.
We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was devine. Hubby's steak cooked to perfection and a delicious veggie risotto for me. Service again was just right, the drinks manager even bringing a sample of the local Cornish cider for hubby to taste before buying the pint! Breakfast was cooked to order which gave us time to enjoy the views again
The spa hit the spot and the treatments we had were reasonably priced. The fact no under 16's are allowed in the spa is perfect.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from it all. My only hint to the management would be to put a clock in the room and a beautiful bathroom and double bath needs softer lighting rather than the spotlights in the ceiling!

Room Tip: Go for the seaview rooms, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Toni

Thank you for your kind review, it is lovely to read that you had a fantastic time staying with us and I will agree the bathroom in room 201 is amazing. Thank you for your recommendations we will certainly look into those suggestions. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here after booking a deal on Secret escapes. £100 of spa vouchers were included so I was able to get a massage of part of the deal which was a nice touch. Our room was very comfortable, and a great size with a well equipped bathroom. I didn't try any of the food at the hotel but there were plenty of people eating and the food that I did see looked very nice indeed. Breakfast was good and the spa/pool area was a very pleasant place to kill an hour or so whilst the rain was howling outside. The beach is fantastic and the views over the sea are stunning. I would definitely recommend this as a place for a short break.

Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Samuel

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for one night over the valentines weekend 2014.

Customer service was brilliant; all the staff seemed so polite and nothing was too much trouble.
We booked an Economy room and whilst we were offered an upgrade for a small charge on arrival we turned it down because we wished to have a cheaper room. However, despite no sea-view, the room did not disappoint - it was nice and cosy (but was not too small at all), really nice and modern with all the essentials. Was clean and the receptionist ringing up after 10 minutes of arriving to check everything was ok, was a lovely touch.
We had drinks in the bar in the evening and the atmosphere was good, with a small band playing.
Breakfast was lovely, made better by the amazing views greeting you when eating.

Only small negatives we could give is that the room was very hot at night! However, once the window was open it did ease.
Also, we did ask for a double but actually got 2 twins pushed together. A little annoying, however it seems to be quite common practice in hotels now a days.

Overall it was a fantastic stay and we will definitely consider staying here again in the near future!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 600JandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear 600JandC

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. If you are looking to return to us in the future, please contact us directly and let us know that you have stayed before as you will become part of our loyalty group which means you will get discount rates and extra treats. Kind Regards

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay here. The location is great (I could even watch the winter storms from my bath!) The staff were really friendly and did every thing to make our stay comfortable. The food was good and I can see this becoming our favourite weekend getaways. Well deserved of its ranking on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Book room 213 for a view from the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear theadds

Thank you for your review. I have pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and I will agree with you that room 213 has a spectacular view from the bathroom. I hope that we have the opportunity of welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing