We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a wonderful night here. Room was very clean and neat. Bathroom was big and had a bath and shower. Good hot water! Bed was very comfortable. Food was great and there's a massive array for breakfast, you could manage not to eat for the rest of the day! We didn't use the spa, but pool and jacuzzi were good. Robes, towles and slippers were provided. Fab night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Tina A

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon for a longer visit and tempt you to use our spa facilities too!

Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    331
    92
    28
    3
See reviews for
171
1,102
59
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three nights here last week and it was one of the best experiences we've had in a hotel.

We upgraded to a sea view room and we're glad we did as it was the sunniest weekend in May. We had stunning views across the beach, not only from the balcony, but bed, bath and loo! It was lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the sea as well. The room was beautifully clean, spacious and comfortable.

When we arrived we both had treatments in the spa, a lovely experience and a great start to our holiday.

We were booked for dinner, bed and breakfast for our three nights and were so pleased we'd made that decision, the quality and originality of the food was excellent! Our compliments go to the chef for creative dishes of beautifully cooked and presented meals. We both ate fish every night and loved the specials which changed every day. We'd highly recommend the signature pud: layers of creaminess, strawberries and pastry - yum. We both had it on two nights!

Breakfast was equally as good, with full cooked to order menu, plus a really good continental selection.

The service from the whole restaurant and bar team was second to none, attentive and friendly. Marcos was our waiter most days and he was brill.

As a fussy traveller I can't recommend this hotel enough, we has a fab experience throughout our break and even though we live 4 hours away, are already planning our next visit.

Thank you to all at Fistral Beach!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are great, but would definitely recommend an upgrade to a sea view or balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuttyslack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Nuttyslack_10

Thank you for your review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass your compliments on to the restaurant and kitchen staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
.
Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Visited for my mums 50th birthday and have never experience such welcome and genuinely nice staff. We had a sea view room and it was beautiful, clean and welcoming. The food in the ocean view restaurant was one of the best meals I've had. We were both extremely blown away and so glad we came here. The manager of the restaurant served us and was the most polite and welcoming I've had. I am a duty manager in a restaurant and would love my staff to be as lovely as they are.
We will definitely be returning in the near future. Definitely money we'll spent. Thank you for making her birthday so amazing

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Bexrice

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Mum had an enjoyable 50th birthday celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It has been a while since we have had customer service to this high quality from all staff - excellent.nothing was too much trouble, simple things like remembering your name, showing you where something was within the hotel rather than just telling you and providing feather pillows with a smile when asked. Well Done

Room Tip: If staying in one of the best rooms ask for room 301 a bath with a view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jules,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in May 2014. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The hotel has stunning views across the bay. Both Main Menu and table d'hôte food is excellent and varied. Breakfast food varied and well presented. A well maintained, clean and tidy hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eardisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is second visit Views are amazing from this hotel situated high over bay. Worth paying for premium sea view balcony
Good food, freshly prepared. DB&B excellent value. Spa treatments lovely Lovely walks from hotel to gorgeous lunch venues. We will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonneSthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Yvonne

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us and with others. I hope that we do have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

What an excellent hotel, with excellent staff, in a fantastic location.
Checked in at 14.00 by Charlie on reception. I had booked a premier room with a stunning sea view and balcony as it was my birthday treat. Paying the extra for this room was well worth it, but also the non sea view rooms are of the same standard without the view. On checking in I was advised that all my extras were already accounted for and afternoon tea would be served in the bar at 5.30 as requested. All things taken care of, so thanks to all staff.
On going up to our room I was surprised to see balloons on the bed.(Birthday gift). The room was of a good size and looked like it had been recently refurbished. Bathroom and really large, again with floor to ceiling windows, so you could be in the bath and still enjoy the stunning view. Robes, slippers and toilities also provided.
My bug bear- Tea Tray- No complaints- Plenty of tea, coffee, milk and bikkies- It was re stocked every day.
Afternoon Tea- £15 per person.
Well what can I say, except scrummy- Thanks chef for preparing a non fish one for me. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were really fresh. You pick your own tea, from a large selection and they even bring you a timer, so you know when it is weak, medium or strong. I have had afternoon tea at the Ritz in London and I must say that this one came pretty close to beating it.
Breakfast- Firstly Thanks to Marcos and Ryan for keeping the tea coming- It was appreciated.
Jason - You do a fantastic job of running the restaurant.
What I really like about breakfast is that all juices, cereal, meats, cheese and bread/toast are there for you to help yourself, but the main breakfast is cooked to order, so again really fresh. I had traditional breakfast and my partner had kippers, which he said were delicious. My breakfast was too, the sausages in particular were very tasty.
Dinner
Served in the restaurant overlooking the sea- Tables well spaced out, so you do not feel crammed in.
Extensive choice of menu- The pate was delicious as was the steak, which I had well done, so thanks chef for cooking it how I like it.
Pudding was also excellent.
Spa- Not busy on Friday, but did get busy on Saturday as there was a party of ladies staying at the hotel, but spa is big enough to accommodate this.
Iceing on the cake- Thanks to all staff including Charlie, Ryan, Marcos, Blondie(Sorry I have forgotten your name) all the bar and cleaning staff for making my birthday weekend really special.
I am hopefully coming back soon with my friend for her birthday.

Room Tip: I would book a sea view room. They have 2 different ones as they are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botica1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Botica

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Firstly thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us and I am pleased that you were so well looked after by the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for your friends Birthday celebrations.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing