We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great location with amazing views. The staff were very good and friendly. The spa and gym are of an excellent standard. The only bad thing was the disappointing view from our room, and the lack of local tourist information availible to us on the reception. We would stay here again and would recommended a stay here.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a sea view if you can, we didnt and our view on an inward facing room was not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear abbik,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we apologise that you were disappointed with the view but completely agree that the seaview rooms are worth it!

Hope to welcome you back again in the future,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    353
    99
    29
    3
See reviews for
177
1,150
59
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in the hotel, Thursday & Friday May 15th & 16th.
We had a room with an Ocean view and Balcony. Probably the best hotel we've ever stayed in.
All the staff were very friendly and went to every effort to ensure our stay was perfect. The staff knowing it was an anniversary, made up our room with flowers on the bed, chocolates and a personally written card. The spa facilities and treatments were absolutely superb as was the food.
I am picky as a person and work as a Senior Quality Engineer.
In terms of quality the facilities, service, staff, accommodation, food, location and views could not be faulted. We will be returning to this hotel.
Definitely five stars for us. Thank you to all the staff
Dave & Tracy Ball

Room Tip: 3rd floor, sea view with balcony. Breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Dave and Tracy,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and I am delighted that we were able to make it special at Fistral Beach,

Wishing you many years of happiness and hope that we can be part of many more celebrations,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights following our wedding on a 'mini-moon' of sorts.

The hotel was very welcoming even leaving a nice surprise for us in our room. Followed shortly by a call from reception to get our reaction.

The room itself was very clean with a beautiful sea view, enormous bed and bathroom with free standing bath and large shower.

We visited the spa for treatments and it was excellent, the staff were very professional and the atmosphere very relaxing.

We also ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was excellent with very good choice on the menu and plenty to keep us wanting to come back for more. Restaurant staff were both professional and attentive & food service was fast even with a full restaurant.

The hotel made our short break after the wedding very special and we will be returning to the restaurant before long I'm sure.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Peter,

I am delighted that we were able to be part of your celebrations and I hope that Fistral Beach will always hold good memories for you,

Hope to see you again for many more celebrations,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I (26 years old) treated my mum (50 years old) to an overnight sea view room with balcony, she is Celiac and before boking I asked if they can cater to her needs and they can indeed! Upon arrival I had scones and tea my mum was given gluten free cakes and tea. We were approached by a waitress whom asked if we were staying overnight and if it was our first night, she then went on to tell us a few helpful things. The website states check in isn't until 3pm however we were lucky to get in our rooms at 1:45pm put our things in the room and get in our robes ready for our Fistral Beach Sunday Spa Special 55minutes. What I loved about the treatments was that we had a relaxing room we could go in before and after the treatments. We loved this, it felt like you were getting the real spa treatment experience, and what put the cherry on the cake was getting a joining room so I could be next to my mum. We were given great service here. We then had our 3 course dinner booked, which again they had great gluten free options for my mum and special bread for made for her, we weren't drinking alcohol so water was constantly being re filled. All the meals were delicious, piping hot and the desserts were mouth watering. Service again was great, the man was very attentive. Our room was so peaceful and we could hear the waves as we slept, we had the window slightly open, we were given lovely bathroom amenities which meant we could have a relaxing bath. We never once turned the television on or used wifi so I can not comment on that. Breakfast had a great varieties of continental, full breakfast and pancakes, again my mum's gluten free needs were met they put her a list were I also saw others like diabetes, so it's safe to say this hotel can really cater to a lot of needs. I used the gym and pool area, which were both clean, safe, perfect temperatures, and calming atmosphere. I will warm you though, bring your towel into the sauna with you, it is very hot indeed!! I loved the facilities, as a gym lover this made the stay perfect for me! My mum only used the pool and Jacuzzi, which she loved and found relaxing.
We booked one more treatment separately, my mum had a facial which she absolutely loved ad I could tell a difference when I saw her come back into the relaxing room, I had the hot stones massage, which I've heard is so relaxing!! UNFORTUNATLEY the stones were not piping hot but just warm and I felt like I was not getting the deep massage that you are supposed to get with this type of massage. At the end she apologised saying the machine was playing up, however after paying (I think £55) I was not impressed and tried to get her to say either, we will refund your money, or I will give you a complimentary hot stone massage. She could do neither and her attitude was kind of "I couldn't care, my next client is waiting, get out"
That was the ONLY negative I have to say about this stay.
I am already in talks with returning again this year but with my boyfriend, however I am put off as to what treatment to get so I can get my moneys worth and really enjoy it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms very spacious, bathroom is just as big as the bedroom, wide bath tub, amazing view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GymJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that we were able to cater to your mums requirements whilst she was here and that you were able to enjoy the simple pleasure of hearing the waves breaking!
We will be looking into the issue with the stones as it is not something we have been aware of and will of course rectify this immediately, please get in touch with us and we will be able to arrange something for you,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a wonderful night here. Room was very clean and neat. Bathroom was big and had a bath and shower. Good hot water! Bed was very comfortable. Food was great and there's a massive array for breakfast, you could manage not to eat for the rest of the day! We didn't use the spa, but pool and jacuzzi were good. Robes, towles and slippers were provided. Fab night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Tina A

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon for a longer visit and tempt you to use our spa facilities too!

Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three nights here last week and it was one of the best experiences we've had in a hotel.

We upgraded to a sea view room and we're glad we did as it was the sunniest weekend in May. We had stunning views across the beach, not only from the balcony, but bed, bath and loo! It was lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the sea as well. The room was beautifully clean, spacious and comfortable.

When we arrived we both had treatments in the spa, a lovely experience and a great start to our holiday.

We were booked for dinner, bed and breakfast for our three nights and were so pleased we'd made that decision, the quality and originality of the food was excellent! Our compliments go to the chef for creative dishes of beautifully cooked and presented meals. We both ate fish every night and loved the specials which changed every day. We'd highly recommend the signature pud: layers of creaminess, strawberries and pastry - yum. We both had it on two nights!

Breakfast was equally as good, with full cooked to order menu, plus a really good continental selection.

The service from the whole restaurant and bar team was second to none, attentive and friendly. Marcos was our waiter most days and he was brill.

As a fussy traveller I can't recommend this hotel enough, we has a fab experience throughout our break and even though we live 4 hours away, are already planning our next visit.

Thank you to all at Fistral Beach!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are great, but would definitely recommend an upgrade to a sea view or balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuttyslack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Nuttyslack_10

Thank you for your review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass your compliments on to the restaurant and kitchen staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
.
Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Visited for my mums 50th birthday and have never experience such welcome and genuinely nice staff. We had a sea view room and it was beautiful, clean and welcoming. The food in the ocean view restaurant was one of the best meals I've had. We were both extremely blown away and so glad we came here. The manager of the restaurant served us and was the most polite and welcoming I've had. I am a duty manager in a restaurant and would love my staff to be as lovely as they are.
We will definitely be returning in the near future. Definitely money we'll spent. Thank you for making her birthday so amazing

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Bexrice

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Mum had an enjoyable 50th birthday celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the team at The Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing