We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 1 weekend in this hotel. Built over-looking Fistral beach- really nice view from the room but this was the only positive. Food was poor especially breakfast- don't order the pancakes! There were dried fruits and cereal which looked as if they had been left out all week. In addition, the staff were unhelpful, and were uninterested in responding to any queries. Spent a lot of money on the room to stay here and unfortunately the quality of the hotel did not reflect the cost. I would agree with the previous review, it felt as if staff were constantly asking you to produce your credit card to pay for things before hand. Would think twice about booking this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 505Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear 505Hol,

Myself and the team were very disappointed to read your review and it is regrettable that you agree with a previous reviewer as it seems that we did not provide our normal standards to you both, this is a very unusual occurrence and not one that we take lightly and I can assure you both that action is being taken to resolve any issues that may occur.

I was saddened to read your comments regarding the staff as we are very proud of our team here at Fistral Beach and the positive feedback they receive

We were disappointed that your issues were not brought to the attention of the team as we would have course addressed these for you whilst you were with us, I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that I have not been able to speak with you personally

I would very much like to discuss this with you further,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    384
    109
    30
    3
See reviews for
183
1,215
60
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having just arrived home from a 2 night stay, for the first time ever I have decided to write a review. The spa treatments we received were first class. We stayed in the Ocean view room with balcony. The towels were marked, the bedding was creased and old looking. Bed was hard, pillows flat. Throughout our stay cigarette smoke was strongly smelt in our room and it appeared to be drifting in through the internal air vent in bathroom. Lunch taken in the bar was very slow to be served and not worth the wait. We tried the hotel restaurant for Dinner but it was disappointing. Maybe this hotel has had problems with guests not paying for food or drinks in the past but we felt extremely uncomfortable with the manner in which payment was almost desired before you actually had time to eat or drink. The hotel exterior looks unkept and uninteresting for such an enviable position on the beautiful beach. A very expensive two day stay in a hotel which at best should be rated 2 star.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Susan,

Myself and the team were very disappointed to read your review and as I'm sure you can see from our long list of reviews this is not to the normal high standards or the normal experience of our guests at Fistral Beach Hotel,

We were disappointed that your issues were not brought to the attention of the team as we would have course addressed these for you whilst you were with us, I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that I have not been able to speak with you personally

I would very much like to discuss this with you further,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and was greeted with big smiles. The girls behind the reception desk were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Our room was lovely, very spacious with a big bed and bathroom. The view over Fistral beach was beautiful and the large balcony looking over the beach just topped it off, we often sat out and enjoyed the view.
The spa facilities are great just what I would expect, nice pool, steam and sauna.
Breakfast every morning was fabulous a great choice off the menu and freshly cooked to your order. Full English and pancakes were great.
Over all a great place to stay at Newquay, can't wait to return. Would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GKNev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we couldn't agree more about the balconies! They are the perfect spot to sit and enjoy Fistral!!

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great location with amazing views. The staff were very good and friendly. The spa and gym are of an excellent standard. The only bad thing was the disappointing view from our room, and the lack of local tourist information availible to us on the reception. We would stay here again and would recommended a stay here.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a sea view if you can, we didnt and our view on an inward facing room was not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear abbik,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we apologise that you were disappointed with the view but completely agree that the seaview rooms are worth it!

Hope to welcome you back again in the future,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in the hotel, Thursday & Friday May 15th & 16th.
We had a room with an Ocean view and Balcony. Probably the best hotel we've ever stayed in.
All the staff were very friendly and went to every effort to ensure our stay was perfect. The staff knowing it was an anniversary, made up our room with flowers on the bed, chocolates and a personally written card. The spa facilities and treatments were absolutely superb as was the food.
I am picky as a person and work as a Senior Quality Engineer.
In terms of quality the facilities, service, staff, accommodation, food, location and views could not be faulted. We will be returning to this hotel.
Definitely five stars for us. Thank you to all the staff
Dave & Tracy Ball

Room Tip: 3rd floor, sea view with balcony. Breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Dave and Tracy,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and I am delighted that we were able to make it special at Fistral Beach,

Wishing you many years of happiness and hope that we can be part of many more celebrations,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights following our wedding on a 'mini-moon' of sorts.

The hotel was very welcoming even leaving a nice surprise for us in our room. Followed shortly by a call from reception to get our reaction.

The room itself was very clean with a beautiful sea view, enormous bed and bathroom with free standing bath and large shower.

We visited the spa for treatments and it was excellent, the staff were very professional and the atmosphere very relaxing.

We also ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was excellent with very good choice on the menu and plenty to keep us wanting to come back for more. Restaurant staff were both professional and attentive & food service was fast even with a full restaurant.

The hotel made our short break after the wedding very special and we will be returning to the restaurant before long I'm sure.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Peter,

I am delighted that we were able to be part of your celebrations and I hope that Fistral Beach will always hold good memories for you,

Hope to see you again for many more celebrations,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I (26 years old) treated my mum (50 years old) to an overnight sea view room with balcony, she is Celiac and before boking I asked if they can cater to her needs and they can indeed! Upon arrival I had scones and tea my mum was given gluten free cakes and tea. We were approached by a waitress whom asked if we were staying overnight and if it was our first night, she then went on to tell us a few helpful things. The website states check in isn't until 3pm however we were lucky to get in our rooms at 1:45pm put our things in the room and get in our robes ready for our Fistral Beach Sunday Spa Special 55minutes. What I loved about the treatments was that we had a relaxing room we could go in before and after the treatments. We loved this, it felt like you were getting the real spa treatment experience, and what put the cherry on the cake was getting a joining room so I could be next to my mum. We were given great service here. We then had our 3 course dinner booked, which again they had great gluten free options for my mum and special bread for made for her, we weren't drinking alcohol so water was constantly being re filled. All the meals were delicious, piping hot and the desserts were mouth watering. Service again was great, the man was very attentive. Our room was so peaceful and we could hear the waves as we slept, we had the window slightly open, we were given lovely bathroom amenities which meant we could have a relaxing bath. We never once turned the television on or used wifi so I can not comment on that. Breakfast had a great varieties of continental, full breakfast and pancakes, again my mum's gluten free needs were met they put her a list were I also saw others like diabetes, so it's safe to say this hotel can really cater to a lot of needs. I used the gym and pool area, which were both clean, safe, perfect temperatures, and calming atmosphere. I will warm you though, bring your towel into the sauna with you, it is very hot indeed!! I loved the facilities, as a gym lover this made the stay perfect for me! My mum only used the pool and Jacuzzi, which she loved and found relaxing.
We booked one more treatment separately, my mum had a facial which she absolutely loved ad I could tell a difference when I saw her come back into the relaxing room, I had the hot stones massage, which I've heard is so relaxing!! UNFORTUNATLEY the stones were not piping hot but just warm and I felt like I was not getting the deep massage that you are supposed to get with this type of massage. At the end she apologised saying the machine was playing up, however after paying (I think £55) I was not impressed and tried to get her to say either, we will refund your money, or I will give you a complimentary hot stone massage. She could do neither and her attitude was kind of "I couldn't care, my next client is waiting, get out"
That was the ONLY negative I have to say about this stay.
I am already in talks with returning again this year but with my boyfriend, however I am put off as to what treatment to get so I can get my moneys worth and really enjoy it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms very spacious, bathroom is just as big as the bedroom, wide bath tub, amazing view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GymJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that we were able to cater to your mums requirements whilst she was here and that you were able to enjoy the simple pleasure of hearing the waves breaking!
We will be looking into the issue with the stones as it is not something we have been aware of and will of course rectify this immediately, please get in touch with us and we will be able to arrange something for you,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing