We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool stay, very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cool stay, very good hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A really good hotel, spacious rooms, well appointed, sea view was stunning, sound of the sea crashing into to shore was hypnotic.... Very good service, food served to a high standard, got to have eggs Benedict in the morning. Recommend as a top location for a beach , walking or even better surfing holiday or short break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richandcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Rich and Cas

Thanks for the great review. Eggs Benedict is definitely my favourite too!

Luke and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    341
    94
    27
    3
See reviews for
171
1,121
59
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanreath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at Fistral last weekend with 12 friends for my 30th birthday. The whole weekend was amazing, as soon as we arrived the staff couldn't have done anymore for us. Saturday lunch was lovely, we then had our spa treatments and spent time in the relaxation room, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The back neck and shoulder massage was lovely. In the evening my friends had brought some things to decorate the table and the hotel staff were so accommodating. On Sunday we had a great breakfast, Sunday lunch and spent more time in the pool etc. we had room 105 which had amazing sea views. The whole weekend could not have been any better, it was an amazing way to celebrate my 30th birthday and I ll definately be recommending to others. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy you enjoyed all we have to offer and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Bought the spa break on last minute.com, overall good value for money. £429 for me and my girlfriend, deal includes 2 night stay, breakfast both days, 3 course a la carte both days, two 55 minute treatments and full use of facilities. If food wasn't included would of cost us roughly £90-£100 just for 3 course meal and wine!

Location is great, right next to beach.
Receptionists very polite and helpful.
Room was very clean.
Facilities clean and not too busy.
Treatments were amazing, my girlfriend loved her luxury espa facial.
Food tasted nice, the steak is very good!
Oh and that view...!

I think all the negative reviews are from very picky people because I couldn't fault this place unless I was being very picky, but nothing to write a negative review!

If I am being picky, there was no fridge/cold drink compartment in our room. I like to drink plenty of water day and evening and found myself filling my evian bottle taken out of my car.

But had a great weekend, defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view without doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you had a great weekend, thank you for your feedback regarding the fridges, this is something that we are looking into so hopefully the next time you come visit this will be in place for you!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

12 friends and I stayed here at the weekend for a one night package deal for a friend's 30th birthday. The staff and service were amazing. They were all so helpful and friendly we couldn't have asked for more. They all seemed genuinely happy in their jobs and couldn't do enough to help. The spa treatment I had was the best I had ever had and the food was delicious. Especially the sunday roast!! A must have!! Our bags were carried to the room for us and we were rung 5 mins after entering our room to check everything was ok with it. Amazing food amazing staff amazing treatments and hotel. What more could onr ask for!! Will definitely be recommending and staying again in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mekajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We were delighted to be part of your friends 30th celebration and so pleased that you all had such a good time!

Hope to see you again for many more cocktails!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frampton on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What can I say? Clean, friendly, funky but comfortable and not trying too hard. Lovely staff especially Charlie on front desk in Reception who is so friendly and goes above and beyond to make sure you are pleased!

My second trip to this hotel with a different 5 girls who were really pleased with the quality of the food in the restaurant, the amazing massage- I've had hundreds over the years but rate this as one of the best!! Fabulous and ached and felt pummelled the next day- great facilities but above all its the view of Fistral Beach which is unbelievably beautiful from the restaurant and bar areas- thoroughly recommend!!

Arranged a friends 50th last year and this year a friends 40th what is my excuse to going back next year???? Would love to return thank you Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Dawn,

It was lovely to see you again and to welcome more of your friends to Fistral Beach - hope to see you again soon! Who says you need an excuse!!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We have just had a long weekend break at Fistral beach hotel. Everything has been perfect from start to finish. I spoke to Katie at the reception desk a few months ago who couldn't be more pleasant or helpful enough with our booking!!! The restaurant and spa were great too...all the staff were really friendly...it's also a Great location!!!! We had an absolutely fabulous time and can't wait to return!!!

Dee & James

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haxeljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Dee and James,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - it was lovely to finally meet you!

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

1. The hotel is well located & offers a spectacular panoramic view of Fistral Beach,but its miles
from the Town centre
2. Good sized & well decorated Bath & Bedroom,plus Dining Room & other public areas
3. The cuisine was average,the only exceptions being the evenings when we had “Hake” & “Sea
Bass”
4. The entertainment was poor & did not meet with our expectations
5. The service in the “Beach View Restaurant” on the first evening was quite appalling.
Customers were requested to be seated by 6;30 p.m.
But the orders were not taken by the four waiters until 7:00 p.m.There was then a further 15
minute delay before the starter course arrived.
A further twenty minutes elapsed before the main course was served
6. The cost of all alcoholic beverages were exorbitant i.e. Gin & Tonic £5.00 Pint of Tetley’s Bitter
£3.95
8. This Five day / Four nights Excursion was over priced @ £478.00 per couple,as was shown
by the up take of less than 50% of the Coach capacity
9. Whilst the plates for the Breakfast Buffet were generally hot,regrettably the food was @ best
lukewarm
10. The second night’s service in the “Beachview Restaurant” was a complete & utter fiasco of a
Fred Kano’s or Fawlty Towers pre portions. Again all of your customers were seated by 6:30
p.m. Waited a quarter hour for meal orders to be taken. Then @ 7:00 p.m. the Waitress
returned to say they had been given the wrong menu & then read out what was available for
that night’s evening meal,which eventually arrived @ 7:45 p.m.
11. The following day,Wednesday,things went from bad to worse,the Hotel boiler broke
down,hence there was no hot water from 7:00 a.m. !
12 There was a trip hazard on the corridor on the second floor, which caused two
clients,including myself to fall.The step down should be highlighted with some “Yellow &
Black” tape. This was drawn to the attention of the Hotel Management Team,but there
attitude was dismissive.Typical head in the sand Management style,the problem will go away
if we ignore it !
13.Would not recommend this Hotel & we shall most certainly NOT return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviews551993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Reviews551993

I was very disappointed to read your feedback regarding your recent stay especially considering the positive feedback from the rest of your group,
I apologise that we were unable to meet your expectations and that we didn't have the opportunity to discuss this with you whilst you were here

I am disappointed that you would not stay with us again, however if you would like to discuss this with myself personally please do not hesitate to contact myself,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
Group Operations Manager

manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing