We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband booked with the help of Charlie, a surprise 3 day spa package for my 50th birthday at the beginning of July. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a sea view balcony room which was another lovely surprise. The room was great with a double size balcony that went from the bedroom to the bathroom which had a huge bath to lie in and watch the surfers and sunset from. Unfortunately we didn't have time to soak in the bath and thought this was a great shame as it looked so inviting (may be next time). The view from our room was amazing and I was even up at 4.30 am one morning to catch the sunrise as we were so lucky with the beautiful weather we had. We had a spa treatment every day which included a full body massage, wraps, pedicure (for me!) and reflexology and all were very good and relaxing. We had breakfast and evening meals as part of our package and the food in the evening was fantastic, no complaints at all. We had most items off the menu and all of them were cooked perfectly and we couldn't resist having their onion rings with every main each night. The only slight niggle was the eggs at breakfast, they always came out over cooked, perhaps we should have said something from the first morning that we like them runny? Otherwise the choice for breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. We certainly enjoyed our stay especially sampling the cocktails and we definitely recommend staying at the Fistral Beach and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Theresa D

Thanks for taking the time to post such positive feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

It sounds like you had an amazing time and will definitely be back. We have recently employed a new breakfast chef so next time we will get your eggs runny for you!

See you soon for a cocktail in our bar then,

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,598 - 1,604 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Only stayed for two nights. The hotel is in an outstanding position overlooking the bay, the rooms and in particular the bathrooms are of a high standard, unfortunately the bed in our room was broken so my first night was uncomfortable, the following morning I asked for the bed be repaired, this was acted upon but not very well, which somewhat spoilt my visit.
The food is of a very high standard both breakfast and dinner exceeding my expectations staff in particular are friendly and attentive.
The pool is not open to under 16’s but we were told when we booked, the sofa bed in the room for our 9 year old was not very good quality but it was sufficient for two nights.
The hotel doesn’t sell itself as a family hotel which fair enough, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher the better as the bar is quite noisy, sea view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mike S

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience. I am so sorry to hear about your bed the first night and horrified that when reported we did not respond very well.

I am glad that you enjoyed the food and found the staff welcoming and attentive.

It is true that we don't really class ourselves as a family hotel however we do welcome families and under 16s are welcome to use the pool facilities at our sister hotel just 2 doors away.

I am so pleased that you will consider returning and look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for one night in a best room which offered incredible views and was well equipped! The staff were all so welcoming and catered to our every need especially Charlie at reception.
The food was equally fantastic and Fabio, our waiter, was one of the nicest waiters I have ever come across. The spa facilities were great and the massage we had was worth every penny! All in all the break was completely stress free, relaxing and easy. Would definitely recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: Best room has excellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Tommy G

Thank you for your kind review.

I am very lucky to have great team here and will certainly pass your particular praise on to Charlie and Fabrizio.

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed last minute for 4 nights could only get in one of the best rooms with a balcony....
a bit expensive but needed to get away
the room was a little on the small side but the bathroom was excellent being able to sit in bath and watch the surfers
its a shame the hotel faces north as the sun isn't on the balcony only mid summer morning and evening
the hotel itself is quite relaxing with a nice lounge bar area looking out to sea the restaurant has the same views,
we ate in the restaurant a couple of evening and yes the food was good but we did have to wait quite a time one night 2 hrs just for a main course and desert
all in all nice break could have been cheaper!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: avoid weekends as you do get hen parties staying and coming back late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TLfromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear TL

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry though that your dinner took too long, 2 hours for a two course meal is a very long time indeed and far from our usual standard.

I do hope you visit again, I promise a warm welcome if you do!

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary in July 14,
We were greeted with a glass of juice which was nice,and check in was easy.we had our bags taken to our room for us .we had a sea view room which was lovely and bright,and very clean.
Breakfast ;there was a very good selection and all freshly cooked, not a buffet style .we used the spa which was very nice,and had a facial which was lovely.
We enjoy our stay and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyaanpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Vickyaanpope

Thanks so much for your kind review.

I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and please, do recommend us to everyone!

Thanks again,

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay began being welcomed by the lovely charlie at reception with a glass of fresh fruit juice, immediately given a free upgrade to a sea view room.
The view was incredible, the room was lovely - bed and pillows sooooo comfy.
Couldn't fault the food, although have gained a few pounds ;-)
Staff in all areas of hotel friendly and helpful, could not do enough for us.
Cocktail making lesson was a riot, recommend simon and claire - thanks guys.
Full body treatment in spa was perfection, double treatment room was great. Jessica, you are a magician! Never felt better or more relaxed. Spa pool lovely too.
Hotel is situated in an idyllic position, if you want total pampering and relaxation to the highest level - book now!!
Can't wait to return

Mel & Frank

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Franklymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mel & Frank

I am so pleased you had such a great stay, thanks for taking the time to review us.

I will ensure that your comments are shared with Charlie, Simon, Claire and Jessica (and the rest of the team) as I am well aware that it is the efforts of the team that really makes the difference.

Hopefully you will be returning soon - see you then!

Regards,

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From start to finish was a great night away. Would highly recommend this to anyone. We went on the Sunday break and it was really good value for money. The spa treatment was top notch. The rooms was massive with a great sea view. The dinner and breakfast was really excellent and well worth booking dinner bed and breakfast for the best value.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Srevans

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel, I am so pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay.

I do hope you will return soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
21.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £61 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing