We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highly recommended Hotel with beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A highly recommended Hotel with beautiful views”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend came to this hotel on 19-07-14 for 2 nights and could not of asked for more. the reception was impressively quick to solve any issues or questions we had and nothing was too much trouble for them. we asked for a recommendation on a local seafood restaurant; they described one to us and said they would ensure a booking was made immediately on our behalf (The Boat House - amazing) . the rooms were clean and spacious; we has a sea view which was exceptional. we also had a massage on arrival (total holistic massage) which was absolutely incredible and would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The sea view room we has was exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_1992_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Tom

Thank you for recommending us! I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience. I do hope you are able to return soon and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Luke & the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    353
    99
    29
    3
See reviews for
177
1,151
59
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed our weekend away so much at this hotel. Food was very good, spa facilities were super and the staff were extremly helpful. One down side, we had a back room, one not facing the sea and on all nights of our stay it was extremly hot and with only one window it was tricky to cool down. Minus that everything was more then what we expected! Would most definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Babybir

Thank you for the five star review. I am so glad that you will be returning soon, even though you were slightly disappointed with our standard rooms.

Next time you will have to book one of our 'Sea View' or 'Best' rooms where you can enjoy the wonderful views we have at Fistral Beach Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had such a relaxing weekend break.
Super room with a huge bath over looking the bay plus a balcony. Surprise fizz and choccys arrived thanks to Charlie! All the staff were kind and helpful.
Pedicure and massage was fab thank you Leanne!
Food excellent need to start a diet tomorrow as I've never eaten so much in a weekend. Beautiful views and bonus we saw dolphins what a birthday present!
Cannot wait to have another excuse to return. Thank you to everyone at FBH for a fab birthday break.

Room Tip: 213 pretty good excellent views whilst soaking in the bath!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Emma P

So pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Lovely to read about the particular staff who enhanced your visit - I will make sure that Charlie and Leanne in particular read your kind review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a mini break here on a room only basis for 3 nights and had a wonderfully relaxing time. the staff are very helpful, the spa one of the best i've visited and the location truly couldn't be better. we will definitely return. We had a sea view room on tbe first floor and couln't bring ourselves to shut the curtains, even at night, the view was simply amazing. even if you don't book a spa treatment you can take full advantage of the spa facilities. the experience showers and Espa products in the pool changing area were so nice i used them instead of the shower in our room.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room with or without balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfree67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Travelfree67

Thanks so much for the kind review, I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience. I am glad you loved the ESPA products, you will be pleased to know that we are currently working with them on a range of mini toiletries for the bedrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuffley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I found this hotel online a few days before we arrived. Only Economy rooms available but do not worry about the word Economy, these rooms are as large as those in the large chain we often use and the furnishings are new,clean and fresh.

Katie on reception is a star, really helpful on the phone and welcoming on arrival. Nothing too much trouble.

We booked DB&B and the restaurant is great, spectacular views of Fistral beach and the surfers. The food is really good and Matthew manages the restaurant in a friendly and professional manner. The trainee staff are really good, Fabrizio and Alberto looked after us, you would not know they are training. Breakfast is also first class with special mention for the smoked haddock.

Altogether a lovely stay, they even organised some sunshine for us!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipcooper61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Philip

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review! All the staff here are fabulous but I will make sure that Katie, Matt, Fabrizio and Alberto read your review.

The views here are amazing but we work hard at being more than just a view and I am pleased to read that the hard work is paying off.

I do hope you will return soon, we will work on the sunshine for your next visit.

Kind regards

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband booked with the help of Charlie, a surprise 3 day spa package for my 50th birthday at the beginning of July. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a sea view balcony room which was another lovely surprise. The room was great with a double size balcony that went from the bedroom to the bathroom which had a huge bath to lie in and watch the surfers and sunset from. Unfortunately we didn't have time to soak in the bath and thought this was a great shame as it looked so inviting (may be next time). The view from our room was amazing and I was even up at 4.30 am one morning to catch the sunrise as we were so lucky with the beautiful weather we had. We had a spa treatment every day which included a full body massage, wraps, pedicure (for me!) and reflexology and all were very good and relaxing. We had breakfast and evening meals as part of our package and the food in the evening was fantastic, no complaints at all. We had most items off the menu and all of them were cooked perfectly and we couldn't resist having their onion rings with every main each night. The only slight niggle was the eggs at breakfast, they always came out over cooked, perhaps we should have said something from the first morning that we like them runny? Otherwise the choice for breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. We certainly enjoyed our stay especially sampling the cocktails and we definitely recommend staying at the Fistral Beach and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Theresa D

Thanks for taking the time to post such positive feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

It sounds like you had an amazing time and will definitely be back. We have recently employed a new breakfast chef so next time we will get your eggs runny for you!

See you soon for a cocktail in our bar then,

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Only stayed for two nights. The hotel is in an outstanding position overlooking the bay, the rooms and in particular the bathrooms are of a high standard, unfortunately the bed in our room was broken so my first night was uncomfortable, the following morning I asked for the bed be repaired, this was acted upon but not very well, which somewhat spoilt my visit.
The food is of a very high standard both breakfast and dinner exceeding my expectations staff in particular are friendly and attentive.
The pool is not open to under 16’s but we were told when we booked, the sofa bed in the room for our 9 year old was not very good quality but it was sufficient for two nights.
The hotel doesn’t sell itself as a family hotel which fair enough, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher the better as the bar is quite noisy, sea view essential
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual nonsense about carbon figure print, don't flush the toilet or use to many towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeBall, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mike S

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience. I am so sorry to hear about your bed the first night and horrified that when reported we did not respond very well.

I am glad that you enjoyed the food and found the staff welcoming and attentive.

It is true that we don't really class ourselves as a family hotel however we do welcome families and under 16s are welcome to use the pool facilities at our sister hotel just 2 doors away.

I am so pleased that you will consider returning and look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards

Luke and the team at Fistral Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing