We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We (wife, 2 children and me) have just spent a wonderful weekend at white acres. I had a good time fishing on the lakes with a good varied catch of fish. The lakes are well presented with good accesses to the swims and I noticed that there are a number of disabled swims. The wife and daughter loved the swimming pool and the hot tub. We had one meal in the restaurant which was very good, it did take a little while but you could tell it was all cooked fresh do well worth the wait. We stayed in a private rent caravan (434) which was immaculate and modern and with tackle storage and own private parking. We rented this privately through hays holiday home and the service was very good. We will be booking again for this year again soon !!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    116
    69
    39
    39
See reviews for
235
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

having just returned from a weeks fishing holiday we would never return. we were charged 38 pounds for a weeks fishing only to then be told we could only fish 4 lakes as all the others were booked for matches. they dont seem to be interested in pleasure anglers, only the match anglers. the lakes themselfs are no better than your average day ticket waters. The caravan it self was ok but this was a private rent. Everything is overpriced including 8 pounds just for the privalege of using the clubhouse. so overall not very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fisherman1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've just returned home from a weeks holiday at Whiteacres and to be honest the stay was quite disappointing! It really is aimed more at fishermen than families! On a couple of days it rained all day so we thought it would be good to check out the on sight facilities such as the play area for our two year old! Not only did it look very tired it was also in need of a good clean as it just had a grubby feel about it i.e. Empty crisp packet in the ball pool, tatty looking carpet, kids library containing half a dozen ripped books, no heating therefore very cold...

We then gave the ten pin bowling ago which again was very tired looking and didn't add up the scores properly. The ice hockey game was broken which left us with a room full of arcade games to play on!!! The swimming pool looked ok although we didn't use it!

The kids hour in the morning was very basic and in much need of more enthusiastic kid leaders i.e. They just sat down on the stage and hardly interacted with the children (they looked totally bored and gave off the impression that they really didn't want to be there)! The evening kids sessions were ok but again there is much room for improvement! There was one evening that all the leader did on stage was talk! You could see that all the kids wanted to do was dance and play some games! He was so bad we had to leave! They could do with turning down the volume on the microphone too!

As for the caravan it was generally ok although the main bedroom smelt of smoke and we were next to a busy road with several rooks nesting in trees (they were so noisy it woke us up every morning from 5am)!

The restaurant staff and reception team were all very friendly and nice in which nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and the service quick. However we were unable to order from the pizza and pasta menu on three nights as we were told that the chef had 'broken down'. Not sure whether this was health or transport related!

Overall not a very good first caravan park experience and therefore won't be doing it again!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get a cabin! Ask for a caravan not near the road and not where rooks are nesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilehurst, Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

19th april just got back from white acres in cornwall very nice place great for fisherman childrens shows very basic don;t use restaurant as food poor and service very very slow couple of children friendly pubs just down road

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My hubby has just started getting interested in fishing and my friends had been here before to fish, so we decided that it would be a good place for my hubby to learn some hints and tips!
When we booked we asked for 2 lodges together, as altogether there were 4 adults and 5 children, this wasn't an issue and we got 2 lodges on the edge of the lake.
The lodges were warm and cosy, black out blinds on every window and also curtains on every bedroom and lounge window. There is everything you need to make it comfortable! Fridge, freezer DVD/TV in bedrooms plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothes and extra crockery/cutlery etc!
The entertainment is what you expect at these places, drinks are overpriced but the kids love the disco, characters, dancing and arcade! We went up a few times for the children's bit then came away! Pool was lovely, the lifeguards very friendly and observant! We only went into the restaurant once for a drink so I can't comment on that!
I think the holiday park is what you make it! We brought food from home (feeding 9 altogether requires a cash & carry visit!) and home brewed wine! We went out for a couple of day trips and out for a meal one night! The boys spent the rest of the time fishing (with or without kids) and we spent time chilling, chatting and entertaining kids! I have come home relaxed and we would've booked for next year again but one of our party has to check his hols!! We are def returning!
We are professionals in our career choice and not one of the "chip bitty brigade" as one reviewer thinks people who visit here are. My hubby is also a beginner so for him to catch something, and also the kids to catch something made their day/week etc! Perhaps not suitable for the angler who likes a challenge but anyone who wants to chill out and relax a must visit!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mr-n-mrs-ios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

visited whiteacres quite a few times over the years ( 1st time 1984 i think !) much smaller site in those days though !! booked a lower spec van as have to watch the pennies ! and was generally ok , the chippy on site is a bit below par as per previous comments , expect a wait and not award winning fish and chips and you'll be ok !! one of the main problems for our family was the evening schedule , kids entertainment was ok , but finished early for bingo , we then had to leave that room as our kids wouldn't be quiet enough through bingo , by then all the seats in the other bar were taken , so it was a go in the slot machines and play on the park and back to the van , same routine every night ! our other issue was that we'd picked a van location that would be quiet , off the roads and away from paths etc , so we could sit out at night between the vans ( family had the next van!) and have a quite drink once the kids had gone to bed , unfortunately the gap between our vans was used as a shortcut to another area of the park ( via a gap in the conifers) and despite the staff admitting that that area of grass should be ours and not a short cut , didn't do anything about it , i would have had it roped off , a 5 min job ! so we had loud people until 2 am waking us up as they went past (and stopped under the conifers for a fag and cans of beer sheltering from the rain ) , at the end of the day we spent a lot of money and didn't receive help when requested , so will never return , shame , 30 years of whiteacres over

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellergareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Went for a 4 day break. Paid a little extra for a wider home and central heating and worth it. It was good to have a lady put the heating on prior to arrival and check if things were ok after we arrived. We took our dog and there is a walking area at the bottom of the site and I could walk him around the fishing lakes. The food in the restaurant was typical pub fayre and reasonably priced. All the above would have given it a 4 stars, but on the down side the static was a bit tired and needed updating but clean. The take away was closed for all the days and whilst we were served quickly people coming along later in the evening had quite a wait for food. Looked in the entertainment area and it is mostly cubicle layout which doesn't allow for getting to know other people, trying to be do thing it isn't. Some of the staff do need more customer training as they didn't have much of a clue regarding drinks/ food available. Saying that we would go back but we use it as a base and don't expect too much from this type of holiday, as we don't use all the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortisheadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
5.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
686 reviews
20.9 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park
Address: White Cross, Near Newquay | Cornwal, Newquay TR8 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning scenery, tranquil lakes and acres of family fun!There's no better place to escape for a family holiday or short break than wonderful White Acres. Set in glorious rolling countryside, with 13 peaceful lakes, it's perfect for quiet picnics, feeding the ducks and enjoying a spot of fishing. But that's only the start! This amazing park also boasts a heated indoor pool, and adventure play galleon, active kids' clubs and some tasty places to eat. And all just 5 short miles from the lively resort of Newquay with its world-class urfing beaches and awesome attractions. * Set in 184 acres of glorious rolling countryside * 13 tranquil coarse fishing lakes * Close to Newquay's beaches and attractions * Lively family entertainment every night * Spacious lakeside lodges ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Acres Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing