We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Break”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #6 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Fantastic Hotel ! we were made very welcome by the hosts, the rooms were were up together and the beds were very comfy, ideal after a hard days golf, the breakfasts were superb with a good selection, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Carlton is in a fantastic location & we were made to feel very welcome by the host Debbie who couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasurable. Excellent restaurant & activitiy recommendations made by Debbie which made our short break even better. Our room was completely spotless & we loved the decor. Mark does a wonderful breakfast. If you're wondering about whether or not to book The Carlton, don't! just book it. You won't get better!

Tim & Jo - April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimJamesGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carlton our room had lovely sea views the hotel was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast served in the morning to start your day. In the evening the lounge is open for guests to relax and enjoy a drink in the candle light and soft music a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0leman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Two weeks ago my Mother and I stayed at the Carlton for two nights, wish it could have been longer . This is a superb place to stay. Our twin/family room was just beautiful, so clean and the decor was so relaxing and cosy. Breakfast was superb ! After a nice meal out in the evening we returned to the Carlton's cosy lounge and soft music. A great place to unwind and relax. Debbie and Mark were wonderful hosts and I have to say although it has a grading of 4 stars and a gold award it really aught to have a five star's plus award.
Excellent! We have found our special place in Newquay!
Location also superb.
Dorothy and Margaret

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdwoaKofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My fiancee and I have just returned from a 2 nite stay at the Carlton in room 8 which had lovely views, a very comfy bed and everything you would expect from a quality B&B/small hotel. The welcome we recieved was one of the warmest ever and due to my work I have travelled and stayed in hundreds of hotels so have plenty to compare it too! You really feel like it is a pleasure for the owners to have you there and they are always around to help, advise or even just give a weather forecast which always turned out to be correct! The breakfast was superb, great choices and very delicious and the garden area (lit by candlelight) looked beuatiful in the evening! I think you get really good value for money, service that exceeds your expectations all with lovely views and a great location. We will be back when next in Newquay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialKm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My fiancee and I headed to Newquay for a weekend of surfing and were so glad we stayed here. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with quality linen and towels, which was so nice to get back to after a day surfing. The owners have a great eye for detail and do loads of little things that make a huge difference, hanging out our wetsuits and towels, storing our rented surfboards safely, and giving you the option to select your cooked breakfast rather than having to have the standard english fry up (why my fiancee did enjoy). They also recommended great places to eat and have made the lounge/bar area really nice and relaxing.

I did loads of research into accommodation before deciding on the Carlton and it was well worth the effort. we actually stayed in the Esplanade on our first night as the Carlton was booked out, and our room at the Esplanade was terrible.

I would definitely recommend The Carlton.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

just come back form the carlton had a 4 night stay,hotel was friendly spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were to die for best ever,Debra&mark were very friendly had a lovely welcome,and the views were outstanding,we will be going again next year but for a longer time.loved it

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#1 of 106 in Newquay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing