We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I have ever stayed in!!!”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #7 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Carlton was absolutely fantastic! Offered all the services and facilities of a 5 star hotel, the only difference being that the Carlton is run and managed by a husband and wife duo. Great hostess, fantastic breakfast and beautiful, spacious rooms with breathtaking views of the Cornish coast. Would highly recommend staying here and I will most definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Tall travellers ask for lower level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Ecxellent accommodation, room clean & comfortable & well placed for town & trips out. Debbie always helpful with ideas to visit & eat out.A perfect host,nothing too much truoble. We'll happily return

Ray & Gill Thomas. N Wales.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumgillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This is our 4th visit to the Carlton Hotel, and yet again we can't fault any aspect of our stay. Mark and Debbie are the perfect hosts, with attention to detail in every way. This visit was with other members of our family - their first visit to the Carlton but probably not their last! We stayed in the new 'Carlton' room which has been decorated and furnished to an exceptionally high standard, with a fantastic, modern en-suite shower room. We would recommend the Carlton room to others as it is very spacious and comfortable, with fantastic views from the front of the hotel. Breakfast is a feast and set us up for the day - our compliments to Chef Mark! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mildredmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Where to start with the praise for this gorgeous hotel. Arrival, met by Debbie (late as flight was 3-hours delayed!) with a smile and a welcome, was given great info on hotel and surrounding location. Room, absolutely gorgeous, from the bed, decor, en-suite, a personal touch in every room, beautiful and clean, lovely big soft towels and bathroom accessories provided. Location, close enough to all the clubs and pubs, but far enough away not to be disturbed, nice and quiet at night, perfect! Breakfast, YUMMY, full English every day, perfect amount, fresh OJ, well presented and very tasty. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Newquay, loved the idea of the honesty bar, lounge room with fire place, outside area to sit and watch the world go by, no singles and adults only meant we had a perfect break. We will be staying here again without a doubt. Thank you to Debbie and Mark for making us so welcome, you should be very proud of your beautiful hotel and the welcome you gave us!

Room Tip: Relax, Unwind, Enjoy - we certainly did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Carlton Hotel with Mark & Debbie who continue to improve & delight in providing the best accomodation with the best service.
You could not stay anywhere that is cleaner or more beautifully presented in the whole of Cornwall. Also the breakfasts are consistantly excellent.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a lovely big & comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Travelled from Australia for my 50th Birthday with my partner. We selected THE CARTLON from many other places to stay.
Could not be happier with the whole experience. Location was perfect and the Mark and Debra were outstanding hosts , whom greeted you with a smile and advised of great places to visit in Cornwall.
My stay with my partner is something that i will treasure and if i have the opportunity again to travel that far , i know i will be staying at the Cartlton again.

Cheers Kim & Andy

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkie255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Carlton and it was fantastic in every way! Our hosts Debbie and Mark were some of the nicest people we have ever stayed with and they just cannot do enough for you.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and our room was first rate, gorgeous linens, spotlessly clean with a fantastic sea view. The hotel is located on the headland near Fistral Beach and just a short walk away from the centre of Newquay.
Mark does a fabulous breakfast and is so accommodating when you want a change from the full english. Debbie made us feel right at home and gave us lots of tips for places to visit and eat.
I cannot believe that this hotel is not number one, I have seen one or two uncomplimentary reviews on here from people who haven't even stayed at the Carlton, they gave a negative review as they could not get a room, shame on you Tripadvisor for allowing those to be posted!!!
This hotel is such a lovely place for couples, it is chilled, relaxed, quiet and homely, just what we were looking for! We would recommend it to all our friends and would certainly stay there again when visiting Newquay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#1 of 106 in Newquay
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#5 of 106 in Newquay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing