We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pegle22”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #6 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was a special family trip and i chose the hotel from the website as it looked immaculate....i was not dissapointed. beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, but it had a lovely warm ambience.
Debbie's attention to detail is second to none. Our room was lovely, sitting on the terrace with fairy lights in the tree was magical and the breakfast was the best ever! lovely lovely hotel would definetly recommend to anyone. it is also in the 'nicer' part of Newquay up on the headland with fistral beach close by and stunning views from the atlantic hotel terrace which is just up the hill from the Carlton. debbie was friendly, nothing was too much trouble.I wish all hotels were like this.

Room Tip: The single room at the top of the hotel is charming! Although single it had a double bed and was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferbridget747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had a lovely 2 night break at the Carlton Hotel for a friend's wedding and couldn't have been more impressed. Excellent service, spotlessly clean (if I could give six stars for cleanliness, I would) and a really nice room. The attention to detail throughout the hotel is truly impressive - from the hair straightener mat in the bedroom to the glasses to match each drink in the bar. The owners of the hotel clearly care a lot about their guests and go the extra mile to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Really hope to be able to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at The Carlton for 3 nights during our week long break in Cornwall. Debbie made us feel at home with her very friendly personality. We stayed in room 4 which overlooked Tolcarne beach & town. The hotel was very clean and well furnished. The breakfast was among the most deliciouwe have had. Nothing was too much trouble for Debbie, from extra tea bags to a jug of fresh milk rather than the small portions you usually find in guest house rooms. We would definately stay there again & would recommend The Carlton to everyone.

Room Tip: Room 4 gives the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a 4 day break in Cornwall and decided to base ourselves in Newquay for our 3 nights accommodation. Upon our arrival Debbie made us feel very welcome in her home. The Carlton is finished to a lovely standard and our room was very clean and inviting. The full English breakfast is the best we have experienced in a long time & certainly superior to a number of 4 star hotels we have stayed at in London !
Attention to detail was notable throughout and Debbie & Mark's hospitality really made a difference.
The close proximity of the public carpark and use of the Carlton's parking permit for a small daily charge was very convenient.
The location is great for both the harbour/town and coastal path.
We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenOD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our last stop as we were walking down the South Coast Path. We really didn't know what to expect b/c Newquay seemed so busy and very different from the other villages along the path, but we were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely and immaculate. Quiet. Debbie was a great host. The room was intimate, deluxe and very clean. The best value for our money on our entire trip. The downstairs is lit with candles in the evening with a great choice of beverages. Debbie also recommends a few restaurants, and overall we had a great evening. You feel so welcomed. A great night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have stayed in Newquay lots over the years, camping, hotels and B&B's. This was our first time at the Carlton.
Debbie and Mark made us feel very welcome from the minute we got there to the minute we left.
We stayed in room 5 and although the view was out across the car park, it wasn't a problem as we didn't intend on spending too much time in there. The room was very clean and superbly decorated with an equally clean en-suite. Breakfast was a lovely freshly prepared full english, however, if your that way inclined, cerals, pastries and yogurts were also available.
The Carlton also had self service bar facilities in the lounge during the evening which I particularly liked.
The Carlton will certainly be my first point of call the next time in Newquay looking for accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlphaCharlieRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

It was our first time in Newquay, but the 3rd time in Cornwall. The Carlton is definitely on of the best B&B we stayed. Very friendly, fantastic atmosphere and amazing rooms. Great breakfast. If we come back to Newquay we will definitely go to the Carlton B&B again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrikBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#2 of 106 in Newquay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing