We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #7 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We are just home from a week at the Carlton, what a great place. Super clean, noting to much trouble, like home from home only better (no washing up after the superb breakfast). Debbie and Mark are great hosts, there when needed but yet not intrusive in any way. Their aim is to have the best hotel in Newquay, I can safely say they are succeeding. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, great food. Love the honesty bar what a great idea, also the outside patio which we managed to use on a couple of nights, even if we did need the heaters. If we are in this area again will be back definately. Much success to you both.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a view of Fistral Bay and has evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was a great hotel the owner could not have done more to make this place any better, it was first class service, the room and views were the best. will go back again, the whole experience was 1st class,

Room Tip: The Carlton room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay here and couldn't recommend it strongly enough. It's within walking distance to most of the beaches yet out of the way with fantastic amenities. I'm very fussy and have never been anywhere before that I felt covered all bases, everything is thought of for your convenience and comfort (as well as taking into conside ration other guests). We had never been to Newquay before so felt the information booklet in our room extremely thoughtful and useful. The breakfast was consistently good, although it would've been nice to have more cereal options - but that's just being picky! The atmosphere was super relaxing and enjoyed every minute. Would definitely go back and recommend even if Newquay itself felt geared towards surfers, there was plenty to do and places to go if we didn't fancy sharing the beach with them! Debbie was a fantastic hostess who couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzie-L-Booshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have stopped at many places in Newquay over the years, however The Carlton Hotel tops them all. Friendly service from the first knock at the door to when you depart. Debbie and Mark keep a very clean and modern establishment. They never hesitate to try and accomadate your every wish to make your visit as pleasing as possible. We have always enjoyed our visit and each time we reflect on the improvements and personal touches that add to complete our holiday stay. The breakfast is ample and very tastey, although i did gain a couple of pounds by the end of our stay. Relaxed in the bar and chilled with other guests. Although not this time due to weather, we have previously sat outside on the patio area ,there is no better place to spend a summers evening. All round our favourite Hotel in the QUIET end of Newquay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandSallyHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel recently, very high standard, nicely decorated, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast lovely and hosts welcoming. The dining room and guest sitting room are very attractive as well. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccaroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have been staying at the Carlton Hotel for over 10 years now and every year it is a very pleasurable experience. The Hotel is in a great location being close to Newquay's best beaches, restaurants and an easy walk into the middle of town. The rooms are always very clean and are very well decorated. There is a very relaxing bar area if you want to socialise with other guests or just want to chill out with your own company. Debbie and Mark are always looking to improve the Hotel to make sure the guests have the best expierience possible. We have been coming down to Newquay and North Cornwall for over 20 years and stayed in many places but having found this gem we look no further. If you are looking to get away for a break in Cornwall I would highly recommend you try this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This bed and breakfast is run professionally and with great care. The hosts make you feel like you are an old friend visiting, but still provide you lots of space and solitude. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We were even provided with towels for the beach. The breakfast is also very, very good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelod155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#1 of 106 in Newquay
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#5 of 106 in Newquay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing