We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic what a great place.”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #7 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and i have just spent two nights at the carlton hotel newquay.Right from checking in the whole stay was lovely Debbie is fantastic nothing is too much trouble it really is a lovely place a credit to a lovely couple.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our first B&B experience on this trip could not have been better! Stayed 2 nights at The Carlton Hotel in the new signature room which is tastefully furnished and finished off beautifully. Debbie should be rightfully proud of it. Our stay was delightful - Debbie and her husband have a real knack for welcoming people to their home and their passion for meeting people is obvious from the start. You are a real star Debbie and we'll be recommending The Carlton Hotel to fellow Aussie travellers! Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review , many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at the Carlton for 3 nights, it was utter bliss. Our every need was catered for by Debbie and her husband. We stayed in the newly refurbished Carlton room, which has huge 6ft bed, lovely view and spotlessly clean. The en suite bathroom is very spacious and again spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious, with lovely fresh fruits, cereals of all kinds and any combination of cooked breakfast you desired. They have really thought of everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elviram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you, it was lovely having you stay at The Carlton, and so pleased you loved our new room, hope we see you again soon, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I visited the Carlton Hotel for our second time and our experience was just as special as the first.
Debbie provides the most fantastic service and genuinely cares for guest's needs. My wife is 30 weeks pregnant and Debbie had no hesitation in ensuring that our stay suited her needs.
The Signature Room was spotless, decorated beautifully and had lovely views.
Breakfast was spot on and a step up in quality from the more pricey Mercure Hotel we visited 2 days before. Compliments to Mark!
The location of the hotel is ideal with a very short walk to Fistral beach and the headlands (highly recommend a sunset trip with the camera!) and a short stroll down to town to enjoy a meal out based on recommendations in the room guide.
All I can end with is that my wife and I have visited many hotels and this is by far our favourite. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you, it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us again, all the best with the little one, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Carlton is an amazing little hidden gem in the heart of Newquay, fantastic rooms , lovely decor, so warm and friendly and a great breakfast to boot , will be recomending to anyone staying in Newquay, big thanks to Debbie , fantastic stay will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2beersengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, many many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My colleague and I had the most fabulous stay at the Carlton hotel. Debbie was the perfect host and couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable and welcoming. The rooms were lovely with everything you could need, breakfast was delicious and the entire trip felt relaxed with all our needs catered for. We would definitely recommend staying here and will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay at The Carlton, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend break at the Carlton.
Firstly I would just like to say what a wonderful welcome we received from Debbie the owner. This continued throughout our stay , Debbie could not have done enough for us and made us feel very welcome .
The breakfast was fantastic, and is made from all fresh ingredients . No processed rubbish like you get in some hotels that's been sitting under a hot plate all morning. The breakfast are clearly cooked freshly that morning and taste wonderful.
The hotel it's self is beautiful. A restored Victorian building , which is spotlessly clean. Our room was beautiful and again spotlessly clean , I was hit by such a fresh smell as we entered.
If you want to stay in a friendly , clean guest house with something a bit special I would definitely recommend the Carlton . You will most definitely relax unwind and enjoy. We will be returning next year .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review it is always so rewarding to here our guests have enjoyed their stay, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#2 of 106 in Newquay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing