We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect host and perfect end to honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #6 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is well positioned, a short walk to the centre but far enough away to be quiet.
The room was beautiful, far better than it appeared in the hotel's website, and the whole place was spotless.
Very warm welcome from Debbie with lots of useful information about the area.
Fabulous and filling breakfast options.
The bed was a little too soft for my liking, but my wife slept well.
We are already talking about returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June_n_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlton next year, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I Stayed here for the second year running in August. The location is great being up on the Headland and the rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Debbie is a lovely host with lots of information on the local area and things to do. Breakfast is superb with loads of choice. We will stay here again when we visit Newquay next and i would recommend this over some of the larger hotels in the area. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trebor27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you, always lovely when guests return back to us, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stay at the hotel with my husband for 4 nights, it is a great hotel, can not find fault with anything, the breakfast was fab, our room was lovely.
The owners can not do enough for you.
I'm recommending to everyone I know it was that good!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodlover2012_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a lovely b&b. The owners have refurbished the rooms to a very high standard. There is an attractive self service bar ands seating area with an outside patio. The lighting in this area is a particular feature. Breakfast is has a choice of cereal with fresh fruit. Your own jug of orange juice, and pot of tea or coffee. The cooked breakfast is delicious Full English or scrambled egg and salmon. The car park is right next door - you od have to pay extra for this. There are plenty of places to teat nearby and a great view over Newquay. Its relatively on the outskirts so easy to access if you are touring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Carton in Newquay in August. We really enjoyed our stay there and it was a pleasant change from the large hotels I stay at often for business. The lovely couple who run the hotel could not do enough for us and the room was very comfortable. Newquay was a good choice for exploring Cornwall, being central to some lovely areas. Had a nice dinner at the The Harbour just up the road, reccomended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Me and my partner booked a weeks stay at the Carlton last minute before travelling to Newquay and Debbie (owner) could not have been more helpful. She was so welcoming and accommodating.

The hotel has parking at a very small fee and is ideally placed near enough the town so you can walk there with ease to get anything you want, but far enough that you don't hear a sound of the youths in the town coming in and out of clubs and bars.

The rooms are very nice and comforting. The lounge and dinning area is wonderful, The owners really has made this place a home from home for all their guests.

Breakfast is lovley with a decent selection to choose from. Getting a good meal in the morning really allows you to get the most out of your day if your the adventurous type.

The hotel bar is very reasonably priced and is a nice place to sit and unwind after a long day.

The owners are extremely nice and are also brilliant tour guides, giving us tips on places to eat and things to see.

Definetly deserves a revisit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Many thanks and hope we see you again soon, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We needed to book one night as a stop over in Newquay and we booked in advance to stay at the Carlton. Professional and polite service from phone call to checking out. Easy to find, great location (just a short stroll into town) with a car park directly opposite. We stayed in the Carlton room which was gorgeous and very spacious with great views to the sea. Breakfast was superb and fresh. We will stay again when we return to Newquay and look forward to spending a little longer there to enjoy the bar and patio/terrace area. Excellent hotel!

Room Tip: I presume that all rooms are high quality. Some might not have the view that the Carlton Suite offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Lovely to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for such a lovely review, many thanks, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#6 of 37 in Newquay
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#1 of 107 in Newquay
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hepworth Guest House
Hepworth Guest House
#2 of 107 in Newquay
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#8 of 107 in Newquay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing