We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed This”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed This”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Carlton room that overlooks the main road with a huge bay window. This room has new bedding and a huge bathroom. It is all very clean and comfortable. The duvet was much too heavy for us and Debbie was very willing and able to make a change to suit us. The only suggestion for the room is to add some shelving in the bathroom. The single glass shelf above a pedestal sink just doesn't give enough room for all the things travelers need in a bathroom. That said, the towels were huge and fluffy and the rest of the bathroom was very nice. The breakfast was the standard fare plus two different continental breakfasts; the savory one was perfect for me! The hotel is well located to walk just a few blocks to some good places to eat. The restaurant and pub recommendations in the room are much appreciated. Finally, the hotel is next to two parking areas, making it very easy for people with cars. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you it was a pleasure having you stay with us, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in cornwall, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
252
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Wow... As we walked into this stunning hotel we felt so welcome! The hotel itself is stunning and extremely clean throughout!

The hospitality was A*.... Thank you Debbie!

Our room was perfect.... Traditional finish and beautifully presented.

Breakfast was brilliant, with alternative choices if desired! Debbie also took note we were not tomato fans, therefore didn't serve them on the following mornings.... Nice touch!

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will most definitely return!

Have a great, busy season! :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aa4csh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Lovely review from lovely guests, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the most relaxing trips I have had to Cornwall.

Me and my fiancé arrived with my mum and dad and were greeted warmly by Debbie, our stay only got. Better!! I could not fault any part of our stay.


Rooms were immaculate, breakfast was amazing and the hosts were friendly and made us feel at home. We will be visiting again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review and the pot plant which is flowering wonderfully , hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for a family wedding in July. We had cold called in the previous autumn to take a look and were welcomed and shown round. From the first moment we knew we would book. To find a typically warm and direct Yorkshire welcome in Cornwall was refreshing . Being a Yorkshireman returning to Cornwall where I had lived and worked for many years, the welcome given and ambience felt was reassuring. First impressions proved correct and our stay for a family wedding was excellent. The rooms, breakfast, honesty bar, lounge were all the best quality. Our hosts were attentive and took note when I was ill and laid up for several hours. If you want to stay in Newquay stay here, if you can get in. Looking at the Guest Book I suspect it will become harder each year as those in the know return !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
we are a friendly lot from Yorkshire, it just comes so natural to us, thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review, many many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Killingholme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having always taken our holidays abroad we thought a stay in the UK would make a change. I was not sure we had made the right decision with Cornwall as I did not take to it at first, but when Debbie found out she turn into the best travel guide Cornwall could offer making our 10 day stay a very enjoyable one... The Hotel is first class...Very clean & well decorated...not far from many of Newquays Shops...Pubs & Restaurants. Also superb views of the coast line a minutes walk away. The Breakfast could not be bettered for selection of food and quality...cooked & served to perfection. We would return without question...You will struggle to find a better place for couples to stay. You may also see Mark if you are Lucky ;-)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are available but all the rooms we viewed were a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay at the Hotel, i enjoyed being your very own Judith chalmers ,hope we see you again ( to "chillax")
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were greeted warmly by Debbie and immediately offered an upgrade, due to a cancellation, to a larger room. We decided however, to stay in original room (3), as there was a sea view and it seemed generally brighter. Everything was very clean and the bed was most comfortable, managed to get a good nights sleep every night. The breakfast coffee was excellent and the choice of food was great, wish I had a bigger appetite first thing in the morning. The car park was very convenient being right next door and we had no trouble finding space, whether this is the case in high season, I'm not sure. We would definitely return here and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: One slight niggle with Room 3, the bathroom was a little cosy with nowhere to put wash bags but othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flippertybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My Husband I stayed at the The Carlton for the weekend 27/9/13, we were made to feel very welcome by the owner Debbie,on arrival she kindly upgraded us for free to a superior double with a seaview due to a cancellation she had, this was very nice of her to do for us and we were not disappointed, the room was very luxurious with plush soft furnishings and a queen sized bed which was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in whilst being away form home. The seaviews were breathtaking all the way down to Porth. Breakfast's were excellent, good choice of cereals, granola,fresh & dried fruit's, yoghurt, good portioned cooked breakfast, plenty of toast and preserves.Lovely communal louge and Bar Area, very relaxing break for us, thanks will definately be back and recommended to my friends

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne_holland67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing