We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“HOME FROM HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our stay at The Carlton Hotel, it is a fantastic place to stay.

We had a signature room which had all the facilities you required the decor and bedroom was beautifully designed, we did feel however, that the bed does need a new mattress.

Our room faced a building that was taking place, but to be quite honest we did not really hear anything that much, and they did not work at the weekends.

The breakfast was absolutely superb, there was a jug of orange juice, fresh pot of tea and coffee, choice of cereal, yoghurts, fruit , croissants, different jams and marmalades, toast and of course the delicious cooked breakfast.

There is a bar area where you can sit and relax or a cosy lounge area with an open fire which was so welcoming when you came back from a cold,windy day out.

Debbie was very friendly, helpful and happy.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Carlton Hotel, and I would definately return to stay here when next in Newquay.

  • Liked — The hotel was clean, superb breakfast, Debbie the owner.
  • Disliked — Just the mattress on the bed
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
225
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

We have visited Newquay on numerous occasions usually staying at the Atlantic Hotel.Often we have passed The Carlton when walking into town commenting on how welcoming,cosy and clean it looked.We like big hotels with lots of facilities but after great deliberation we opted for The Carlton.
WHAT A FIND.
If cleanliness is your passion this is the place.Check out the whiter than white tableclothes and spotless crockery,add wonderful breakfasts,beautiful bedrooms and en-suites,lovely lounge and bar area,top it with friendliness and you have the perfect hotel.
WE WILL CERTAINLY GO BACK

  • Liked — CLEANLINESS
  • Disliked — QUIETNESS OF DININGROOM
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We have stayed at the Carlton twice now and love it more each time we go. The rooms are amazing, so clean and lovingly decorated, plus the beds are so comfy that we are recreating the bed we had at the Carlton, at home!
The hotel is located at the top of the hill in Newquay, right near to Fistral beach and all the pubs, restaurants, shops make perfect evenings a stroll away.
Breakfasts are served between 8.45 - 9.15 and are the perfect way to start your day. Mark's cooked breakfast is so tasty as well as Debbie's perfect hosting skills, making sure we had everything we needed.
We are booking to go back next year as we enjoyed it so much, and as there is so much to do in Cornwall. The Carlton Hotel is the perfect hotel to choose and I just know you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katielloyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

My husband and myself had a lovely stay at the Carlton. We booked a room with sea views which was stunning. The room was beautifully clean with en suite with good sized shower. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and plentiful. Debbie, the owner, was very helpful providing local information and recommending places to eat. The hotel is well placed and I would highly recommend. The owners do their utmost to provide a most pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melrosefozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing