We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buisness trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buisness trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stopped here for 2 nights absolutely lovely, the breakfast was exceptional and staff brilliant
Would defo and will stop here when down again.
Very good location as well and just wonderful, I've heard room 4 is also very nice with great views over the bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stocko1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, its breeze looking after lovely guests, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
225
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed here whilst working nights in the local area and i felt compelled to, and indeed felt i owed it to Debbie and her husband to write a glowing review on here. Where to start...ok the room was gorgeous with lovely view over the bay and it was spotless as is the whole hotel (these people have spent a lot of money and time on this place). For the surfers like myself they will store your boards and clean and dry your wetsuits there is a lovely bar which sadly i didnt have time to sample as sadly i missed breakfast which im told is very nice indeed. Now on to my most important point about this hotel, the owners cannot do enough to accomodate you, i mean the personal service is beyond first rate, Debbie had never had people staying who worked nights but in the day it was so peaceful here i slept wonderfully.also my company pays a meal allowance and although they dont serve evening meals Debbie arranged for us to eat around the corner in a lovely place. This hotel is by a million miles the best hotel in Newquay..it is indeed up there with the Atlantic and i would say better than headlands which is old and dated and expensive and as for the others in the town compared with the Carlton you are not even close. Thank you both very much for a lovely stay
Dave W

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks Dave for your lovely review, it really was a pleasure, i am now back vacuuming at the normal time, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to attend a family wedding in newquay. Myself and my husband had a lovely bright room on the top floor and my mother in law had a smaller double across the landing from us. Both rooms were spotless with lovely touches like a flannel for make up removal and heat mat for straighteners.
Breakfast was excellent and served in a lovely sunny room. With there being three of us Debbie always reserved a larger table in the window for us so we could sit together.
The area is nice and quiet, away from the busy pubs but just a short stroll to the action. The beautiful coastline and beach just a minutes walk away.
Nothing was too much trouble. We didn't use the honesty bar but the prices looked reasonable and the room was lovely.
One word of caution for older guests, the hotel is on a steep road and the rooms on the top floor a bit of a climb as there is no lift.
All in all this is a first class B&B and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We interrupted our walk along the coast for a 2-day stay at the Carlton, and it was extraordinary. Debbie is striving for excellence and has achieved it. The Carlton is a step up from even the best of the other B&B's we used along the way.
Patricia and Reg W.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure chatting with you,hope the rest of your coastal walk went well, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my husband have just returned from 3 nights in the Carlton. We stayed in the Carlton room and had a fantastic time. The room was spotless as was the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, the bar at night was very reasonably priced.
Debbie was excellent and catered for my husbands gluten free needs, nothing was too much trouble. Very warm and personable service, lots of little touches that made all the difference.
I always think when I go away if it's not as nice as my own house I don't want to stay and I will definitely be returning.
Only small issue was the hair dryer for me wasn't powerful enough for my hair (long) but I'm sure would be fine for shorter hair. (But this is being very picky!)
Overall an excellent trip and will be seeing you again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deesie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

A delightful place to stay. Debbie could not have been more accommodating and helpful: always available and doing little things to make us comfortable. The decor is very pleasing: bright, pretty, breakfast room, comfy front parlor for reading on a rainy day, large, bright, super clean bedroom. Breakfast very good; a big pot of French pressed coffee a particular treat. Lastly, location very good: quiet, but close to restaurants and bus station.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Carlton review
Excellent B and B ! A delight to stay at Debbie's place. Very friendly with top breakfast and excellent scenery from the top floor room. Bed was large and comfy! Only downsides were the small parking charge we had to pay and the difficult climb to top floor room with our heavy bags. Otherwise an excellent stay and highly recommended indeed!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review and so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hope you enjoyed the rest of your adventure in cornwall, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing