We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
1 review
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed at the Carlton for 2 weeks (4th visit) and had the pefect holiday. Debby and Mark are fabulous, the hotel is stylish, clean, friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are superb and the hospitality is second to none. The hotel is in the ideal location, situated on the headland only a couple of minutes walk into the town but far enough outside to remain peaceful and tranquil. Also only a few minutes walk to a variety of beaches including Fistral. Have already recommended this hotel to friends and they loved it so much they have booked to return already!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-and-J-Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
240
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2009

The owners were the perfect hosts. They couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were beautiful and we had everything we needed. We enjoyed the views and the location was convenient to some very beautiful walks. We had organised a trip for our extended family and our son told us that like Obama we had promised much - he only hoped that we could deliver. I think on this occasion we delivered evrything and more thanks to the Carlton Hotel.!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Carlton hotel is located in one of the best areas of Newquay. Its up the hill and has the view of town and ocean. its near to shores and just 5 min walk from the best and most friendly pubs and restaurants in newquay. You'll feel at home while staying there because of the friendly and pleasent manner of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We've just returned from a lovely weekend in Newquay where we stayed at The Carlton Hotel. We had the most relaxing time, the room was excellent, spotlessly clean and very sumptous (it made me want to come home and redecorate my own)! Debbie was a fantastic host, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the setting was perfect. I would highly recommend it for people who want a home from home but without having to do anything at all!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Matty2fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our stay at The Carlton Hotel, it is a fantastic place to stay.

We had a signature room which had all the facilities you required the decor and bedroom was beautifully designed, we did feel however, that the bed does need a new mattress.

Our room faced a building that was taking place, but to be quite honest we did not really hear anything that much, and they did not work at the weekends.

The breakfast was absolutely superb, there was a jug of orange juice, fresh pot of tea and coffee, choice of cereal, yoghurts, fruit , croissants, different jams and marmalades, toast and of course the delicious cooked breakfast.

There is a bar area where you can sit and relax or a cosy lounge area with an open fire which was so welcoming when you came back from a cold,windy day out.

Debbie was very friendly, helpful and happy.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Carlton Hotel, and I would definately return to stay here when next in Newquay.

  • Liked — The hotel was clean, superb breakfast, Debbie the owner.
  • Disliked — Just the mattress on the bed
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We have visited Newquay on numerous occasions usually staying at the Atlantic Hotel.Often we have passed The Carlton when walking into town commenting on how welcoming,cosy and clean it looked.We like big hotels with lots of facilities but after great deliberation we opted for The Carlton.
WHAT A FIND.
If cleanliness is your passion this is the place.Check out the whiter than white tableclothes and spotless crockery,add wonderful breakfasts,beautiful bedrooms and en-suites,lovely lounge and bar area,top it with friendliness and you have the perfect hotel.
WE WILL CERTAINLY GO BACK

  • Liked — CLEANLINESS
  • Disliked — QUIETNESS OF DININGROOM
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We have stayed at the Carlton twice now and love it more each time we go. The rooms are amazing, so clean and lovingly decorated, plus the beds are so comfy that we are recreating the bed we had at the Carlton, at home!
The hotel is located at the top of the hill in Newquay, right near to Fistral beach and all the pubs, restaurants, shops make perfect evenings a stroll away.
Breakfasts are served between 8.45 - 9.15 and are the perfect way to start your day. Mark's cooked breakfast is so tasty as well as Debbie's perfect hosting skills, making sure we had everything we needed.
We are booking to go back next year as we enjoyed it so much, and as there is so much to do in Cornwall. The Carlton Hotel is the perfect hotel to choose and I just know you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katielloyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing