We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #6 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at the Carlton for a few days break. We were made to feel very welcome and had a lovely room at the front of the hotel which was very well furnished and spotlessly clean. The towels in the bathroom were changed regularly and were lovely and thick and fluffy.
Breakfast was well cooked and nicely presented. The hotel itself is in a lovely position, close to the beaches and the centre of town. There is plenty of choice of restaurants nearby, covering the whole range of informal inexpensive food to more expensive fine dining.

The hotel has its own bar and although we seemed to be the only ones using it - it was a lovely relaxing place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. The bar area as is the case with the whole hotel is beautifully furnished and clearly a lot of work goes into keeping it updated.There are tables and chairs laid out on the patio and at night the area is lit by candles making it a pleasant place to enjoy a drink in the evening.

The owners of the hotel were very friendly and they cannot do enough for you - we had a very early check out on our last morning and were offered a breakfast tray in our room. A beach towel drying service is also offered.

All in all a first class hotel with everything you need for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsf2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just had a relaxing stayat the Carlton,the hotel is spotlessly clean with beautiful decor.Our signature room was spacious,well decorated and with stunning sea views.Breakfast was both tasty and plentiful.
Debbie and Mark the hosts are friendly,helpful and hard working.We wish them well for the future!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireOlivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks at the Carlton. It was our first visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any of our friends

The Carlton is one of, if not the best B&B hotels we have stayed at. The owners Debbie and Mark are very friendly and professional. During our stay, many the rooms were occupied by returning guests.

The hotel is very well managed, and is run on a schedule with a defined set of rules. Breakfast was excellent quality with large portions and served between 830am and 9am in a very ordered manner.

The facilities are designed primarily for couples. It has a calm and relaxing atmosphere. There are no facilities for children, and party animals (who tend to occupy the town centre at weekends) are discouraged.

Our double room was on the second floor at the top of the hotel with a wonderful view of the bay. It was beautifully decorated and furnished and had ample storage space, The shower room was well-equipped and so clean that we could have been its first users.

The hotel’s position high on the headland on the edge of town is ideal by being within walking distance of the town centre. Car access is quick and easy. Do pay the pound a night to Debbie in advance of your stay for use of the municipal car park next door as spaces on the adjacent road are often very hard to find. It’s well placed for exploring Cornwall and we visited many delightful places.

If we return to Newquay, this hotel will be our first choice!

Rachel & David K, Timperley, Cheshire.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimperleyPeekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I didn't get to stay here so I am only commenting on my first impressions upon enquiring about making a reservation. I phoned to make a mid-week reservation for 2 nights to be told there was a room available, but oinly if I came for 3 nights as the proprietor didn't want to miss out on the other nights income. This was only 3 weeks before the dates I was enquiring about so it is a gamble that they will find someone that wants those specific 3 nights. The woman was unhelpful, snooty & wasted my time prevaricating about which rooms she had available for other nights. Did she expect us to arrange our holiday to suit her. Bizarre!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TerraIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Carlton. It was our first visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any of our friends

Over the last 40 years or so, I have stayed at countless hotels in the UK and internationally both on business and for pleasure. By far the bulk of them are average within their class, and I am always (though rarely) delighted to find one that works hard to excel. The Carlton is such a hotel. The owners Debbie and Mark are open, friendly and sincere. They have worked hard to create an environment that guests would enjoy so much that they would want to return, and they have been successful. During our stay, half the rooms were occupied by returning guests.

The hotel is well managed, and runs on a clearly stated schedule and set of rules. While most guests will appreciate this clarity, a few may be irritated by it. The facilities are designed primarily for couples. It has a calm and relaxing atmosphere. There are no facilities for children, and party animals are discouraged.

Our room (the only one with two beds - a double and a single) was beautifully decorated and furnished. It was well endowed with storage space, having two large wardrobes with ample hangers (for a change), four large drawers and six bedside drawers. The tops of the wardrobes were dust-free and within reach for easy storage of empty suitcases. The floor of each wardrobe (above two drawers) was large enough to take a full suitcase, and high enough to avoid bending down for those who prefer to live out of one. The bathroom was well-sized, well-equipped and so clean that we could have been its first users. A little more shelf space would have been helpful, however. The hotel showed no signs of the usual cost-paring, and everything was designed to make guests feel comfortable. The lounge and bar areas are warm and inviting with soft furnishings and innovative lighting. There are two small patio areas with tables and chairs, one of which has wall heaters for chilly evenings.

The hotel’s position high on the headland on the edge of town is ideal. Car access from major roads avoids the bottlenecks, and is quick and easy. It’s well placed for exploring Cornwall and we visited many delightful places. The town centre is a comfortable walk away, and a municipal car park is right next door. The hotel has a very convenient and inexpensive arrangement for guest parking there. Alarmed by an earlier comment about vandalism, I made enquiries and found that there had been some childish behaviour affecting three cars. Rear wipers had been lifted away from the screen, but no actual damage was caused to at least two of the cars, and none was reporterd to the local police.

If we return to Newquay, this hotel will be our first choice!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMATripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This hotel is an example of the sycophantic reviewing sometimes found on TripAdvisor, a hotel can’t be judged by it’s furniture and cleanliness alone. Was this hotel relaxing, we didn’t think so. This is a hotel for couples only, if you have a family look elsewhere. Our 12 year old daughter was apparently the only child they will have staying there all year. The hotel has no parking but provided a free season-ticket (£10 deposit) for the Dane Street public car park next door. Our reception was friendly and Check-in was quick, but we were asked to delay moving our suitcase from our (illegally) parked car outside as we were “stopping Debbie from doing her work” , we thought this was an odd way to welcome guests. Our room was well decorated, light and airy, the bathroom & shower cabinet were clean and of good quality. The hotel is very well positioned for access to Fistral Beach and for coastal walks in either direction. Several of the hotel’s recommended eating places are quite a long walk away and may require a taxi. The Maharajah Indian Restaurant in Newquay and the St Pirans Inn Pub in Holywell Bay are very good. Avoid the Fort Inn before 8pm, as this is a family dining pub and is more like a dining-hall at a junior school, with young children running everywhere. As no suitcase-rack was provided we had to put our luggage and belongings high up on chairs & tables as my wife has a back problem which makes bending painful for her. When we returned to our room each afternoon we found that all our belongings, including our suitcase had been moved onto the floor. Naturally we put them straight back where we wanted to put them. The breakfast was nicely cooked and full of flavour. You have to specify your Breakfast order on the day before. Breakfast itself was a sombre and very rushed affair, certainly not relaxing. It says breakfast from 08:30 - 9:00 on the door (even at weekends), but in practice this appears to mean be here at 08:30 at your peril! All the food arrives quickly, much too quickly for comfort. One morning my wife and daughter didn’t eat their cereals quickly enough so their second course (hot croissants) was placed on the table in front of them, the first time we have ever experienced this in any hotel, anywhere. At breakfast we all felt that putting one’s cutlery down for just a moment risked our plate being whisked away. Anything you didn’t eat on one day was simply not served on following days, e.g. our toast ration was halved as we didn’t finish some. We ate in Newquay town on Saturday night and did not feel very safe walking back through the crowds of loud teenagers heading for the pubs and clubs. On our last night 27th June, all the guest’s cars in the Public car park next door were vandalised overnight with the rear windscreen-wipers being bent out of shape, you have been warned.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Me and my girlfriend had a great time at the Carlton hotel!. Our room was great, my girlfriend was impressed with the walk in wardrobe! The breakfast though alittle early was delicious and there was a good variety choice if you didn't want the full english. Anyone hoping for a lie in might be disappointed with the early breakfast between 0830-9am but other guests were stirring around 7am, so me and my girlfriend were also awake at that time, we got used to it. Also seagulls made alot of noise during the night but this was not the fault of Debbie. The location is perfect, 2mins from Fistral Beach, perfect views of the town, and restaurants galore!. also so good for walks along the rocky cliffs! I can recommend Fistral Blu on Fistral beach, great food and perfect views of the settting sun! There is an honesty bar which is alittle pricey, but very useful for cold drinks! Me and my Girlfriend would Love to stay again when we go back to Newquay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#6 of 37 in Newquay
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#1 of 107 in Newquay
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hepworth Guest House
Hepworth Guest House
#2 of 107 in Newquay
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#8 of 107 in Newquay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing