We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly place to stay”
Review of Hotel Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife, myself and a couple of Brazilian friends spent 2 nights at the Carlton Hotel last June and enjoyed it very much. Owners Debbie and Mark are really friendly and will do anything to turn your visit into something special. We particularly enjoyed the location and of course, our delicious full English breakfast... Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GE69267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

This victorian hotel /B&B certainly is a cut above the rest. 4 star quality all the way. Sitting on a headland just outside the town but within walking distance provided fabulous accomodation far from the madding crowd. Newquay is lively just like it says on the tin but the Carlton is just far away enough to escape the noise.

Had a lovely sea view room, spotless ensuite. Breakfast very tasty. Very warm helpful owner.
The Carlton is a perfect base from which to explore the rest of Cornwall. It felt good to return there each night after a busy day sightseeing. While i would not stay in the centre of Newquay, We definately plan to return to the Carlton again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhonaEbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This was our first holiday in Cornwall for 20 years and travelled down without booking in advance. We drove into Newquay and stumbled across what appeared to be a most charming guest house at the top of the hill. A chance visit proved to be the best choice of our entire holiday. Meeting Debbie at Reception with her most professional and friendly manner set the tone for our stay which can only be described as PERFECT IN EVERY WAY. When I enquired, it was going to be for one night, then we changed our minds to two, then returned for another two at the end of our holiday. Not that you can expect to turn up on the doorstep and expect the "Vacancies" sign to be displayed, its just that we hit a quieter than normal week and I would certainly book in advnce for our next stay. The Carlton Guest House has the "Enjoy England" 4 stars and has just qualified for a Gold award. The Gold award is well and truly deserved for the hosts who cannot do enough to make your stay most relaxing. Thank you Debbie and Mark, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountararat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This was my first visit to Newquay and I cant wait to go back!! The service at this hotel was fabulous from the minute we arrived right through to the day we left. The hotel was immaculate clean and presented in a beautiful way! It is situated approx a ten minute walk from the town of Newquay and a 15 minute walk from Fistral beach! We were luck enough to have sea views from both of our bedroom windows! I will definitely be staying at this hotel again and will be taking friends with me! Thank you for such a lovely stay!!

Kate M

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My wife and i just returned today from a 7 day stay here. Having read most reviews i can only agree with all of them. This hotel is fantastic. Mark and Debra are terrific hosts and make you feel at home from the minute you arrive till the minute you leave. Everything is centred on enjoyment and relaxation. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough,it has got to be the best in Newquay in my opinion. If we return to Newquay this is the place we will be staying in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinnesErskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left it was such a pleasure to be staying at The Carlton. As fellow Hoteliers we appreciate the touches that Debbie and Mark have made to the Carlton.

We were a little delayed on arrival due to traffic but a simple phone call and this was no problem. When we arrived we were given a car park permit for the car park next door, nice not to have to worry about parking.

We went for dinner at the Lewinnick-Lodge about 10 minute drive from the Hotel, amazing setting, fab service but food a little disappointing and i had great company

Our room was very comfortable with fantastic views of the Golf Course and the sea, very clean and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. Nice bathroom with a good supply of Hot Water.

Breakfast was great with a good selection of cereals to start and a good cooked breakfast cooked by Mark I believe, we never met Mark during our stay but we did meet Debbie, a real pleasure what a fantastic host, really makes you feel at home
she never seems to stop from serving breakfast, checking you in, cleaning rooms and all the other joys of running a hotel.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to couples wanting a relaxing
time.
Keep up the good work, will see you again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

very good hotel,first class service,comfortable and spotless rooms,absolutely faultless.
very good food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brakevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Newquay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th-century Victorian hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing