We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfers Hotel
Ranked #92 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Spent a couple of nights here with the wife and I can't understand what all the negative comments are about! What do you expect for 16 quid pp a night? We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the staff (and Rocky) made us feel very welcome! There's not many places where the bar stays open until you are finished with it and they'll cook for you at all times of night too..
We won't hestitate to go again.
By the way we aren't a couple of youngsters either. (We're both in our late 40's early 50's!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    26
    20
    9
    30
See reviews for
3
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Comfortable and convenient for town centre (a bit of a yomp to the main beaches though). you get what you pay for; basic accommodation for a budget price. My room was fine for a couple of nights, although there was a rather unpleasant damp smell in the bathroom.
Staff were friendly and efficient and the public areas were very good - comfy sofas, big TV, free wifi, bar and pool, snooker etc.
Great for a cheap weekend away with the lads, probably not one for a special occasion ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHunter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a really good location, love all the staff very friendly and helpful, family run hotel and the lady is an amazing cook delicious food for really cheap! We recommend the club sandwich mmmm.... Our room was absolutely beautiful as well nice bar/lounge area for chilling at night. Lovely place to stay we will definitely be coming back! Also the dog that casually sits out front 'Rocky' awesome dog! Thank you for out lovely stay surfers hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days here, couldn't have timed it better. Weather was gorgeous and so was the surf! Hotel was clean, the staff and Rocky the dog were always around to help. Bar area was great for chilling out in and 24 hours! Took a couple of surf lessons with ash who got me surfing after just a couple of hours. Board and wetsuit hire was very reasonable and the gear was good. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Have booked again in September for a stag do!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The hotel is quite 'tired', not so much the common areas, but more the bedrooms. however, our room was clean and relatively comfortable. It did smell a bit damp and old though. The rooms are very basic but ideal for crashing out after a long day surfing. The common areas consist of lots of sofas, a bar area, tables and chairs plus pool tables etc. The bar is 24hour as well as reception service. Breakfast is good for the £3.50 charge, however we were waiting a while for it. The staff offer a wetsuit drying service which is very handy and they are also quite relaxed about storing surfboards, they also offer surfboard & wetsuit hire for reasonable prices. Am quite surprised at the comments saying the staff were rude as we had very pleasant, welcoming staff who were very polite and smiley. There is also a welcoming dog lurking around the entrance!
Location is fab for town centre and eateries and there is some parking on site.
However, don't expect huge amounts of luxury, it is quite basic but you get what you pay for! And it was good enough for us.

Room Tip: there is the option of sea view rooms, they may be a bit nicer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haychcee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

15 fellas on a stag weekend. Yvonne Arthur and Ashley were perfect hosts with a laid back easy going approach. The hotel is located in a great spot for all needs, it was very clean nice fresh white bedding in the rooms all with own bathrooms. The 24 hour bar was great and the communal area with snooker and pool tables was awesome. I would defiantly go again likewise I would recommend it to friends. ***** all round

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomParker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land Far Far Away
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Greeting us weary travellers after a 6 hour road trip was a rogue shaggy dog. With love and warmth in its eyes, it greeted us with joy as we stepped into Surfers. Little did we know this was about to be the funniest jaunt of our lives.
We entered the depths of the hotel and settled in to our commensurate bunk beds. Jolly ho, here we go!
As we opened our tired eyes the next morning after a soothing night feeling snug as bugs in soggy rugs, we dressed up to the nines and all took a ramble to Kimz which was a delightful 2 minute walk away.
Back to Surfers it was with full bellies and happy hearts. We spent the rest of the day lounging in our nightwear in the unique parlor.
Perhaps a highlight of our sojourn at Surfers was meeting Ash. Oh what a man and oh what a night we had with him! He had the looks of Prince Charming and the pizzaz of a chummy bachelor.
There was a minor vomit incident however darling Ash took it upon himself to scrub up with some Marigolds. Good on you old buddy old pal!
And although we had a piddling run in with the arm of the law, Ash and mutt welcomed us back with open arms. Cheers m'dears!

If you want a frolicsome promenade in the sublime town of Newquay, look no further than Surfer's.

See you next year fellow frolicers!

Room Tip: Just a nugget of precious information: If you want a harefooted rendezvous with Prince Charming hims...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glendeveor
The Glendeveor
#7 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seascape Lodge
Seascape Lodge
#34 of 73 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Griffin
The Griffin
#29 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Hotel

Property: Surfers Hotel
Address: 1 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfers Hotel is situated on the sea front in the Town Center of Newquay, We have a huge 60ft private bar and lounge filled with big leather sofas & 50" HD TV, snooker room, pool room, & arcade all open 24h exclusively for Surfers Hotel residents.Free parking to all residents (subject to availability). We offer cheap accommodation in the center of Newquay. We have a selection of 40 rooms Doubles 2's, 3's, 4's, & 5's all private & en suite. Everyone is welcome to stay from couples to groups of friends, large Stag groups, Hen parties, Rugby tours, Sports groups & GCSE students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing