We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St.Bernards Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel August 2012, 10 young couples. The hotel was lovely, modern, very clean rooms with everything you can need, even an umberella in the wardrobe in case it rains. The family who run this hotel are lovely and friendly and could not do any more to help, even when one of us locked ourselves out of the room at 4.00 in the morning the owner came smiling to let us back in. The location is fantastic, right in town centre 2 min walk from the nightclub berties, but dont worry you can not hear the music or people leaving at closing time. The breakfast at the b and b was lovely, plenty of choice, although one recommendation would be to serve pork sausages aswell as the cumberland. Thankyou for a lovely stay, we will deffinatly return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca6255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
183
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in this b&b for 5 days and I can't fault it. Louise was very welcoming, the room was lovely, breakfast was ideal and it's 1 minute from the main street. I'd definitely recommend it. Nothing was too much trouble; if only the hotel in Loos we're at now was as good! (review to follow!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We are gay couple that have just returned from a very enjoyable week spent at this guesthouse in Newquay, Cornwall. This guesthouse is clean, impressive and very trendy. The room we stayed in was modern, roomy and very comfortable. Breakfast and the service on offer every morning was first class. Well done Louise for getting our day off to a brilliant start each morning with such a tasty breakfast. We spent our time there with a friend who also felt very happy about his choice to have booked a room at this friendly guesthouse. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse and we look forward to spending time there again sometime in the future. Thank you to Louise and John for making our time spent in Newquay extra special.

Room Tip: Book a car park at the guesthouse when you make your booking as it solves any issues with finding pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tauritolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

All the comments about St Bernards are true - it is absolutely lovely. Decor, service, food, hospitality and facilities are all excellent. I definitely recommend this guesthouse and would definitely stay there again :) 'Thank you' to Louise & John for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0nikazet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

St Bernards looked great on TA and was equally great during our stay. The decor is clean and contemporary and the b&b is spotless. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty and good choice. The service we received couldn't be faulted and would recommend this b&b to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draowbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

For people who looking for quality place to stay in really good location St.Bernards is the Perfect Place to be during Holidays in Newquay. The Owners are extremely polite and professional. Guest House is a modern and tasty decor and Breakfast room is so bright, fresh and we were enjoying tasty Breakfast which keeps us running all day.
Defiantly will recommend St.Bernards to my friends who will travel to Newquay.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet because they are on the back of the building. Avoid front rooms especially duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krak0vska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

What an amazing birthday I had. All thanks to Louise. My wife and sister surprised me with a trip to Cornwall. I had no Idea where we were going, where we were staying, or what we'd be doing. I'm really particular but when I arrived I was blown away. We are designers so we could really appreciate the way that John and Louise have put St Bernard's together. The decor was beautiful. The rooms were excellent with a very comfortable bed. Free wifi through out the house. Wii and a playstation in the lovely lounge. Excellent full english breakfast cooked to order and not sitting on a horrible hotplate going dry and crusty.

The service and the nothings to much trouble attitude really brings the whole experience together. They don't serve dinner but they do allow you to bring your own food in and use the dinning room and they clear up after you. That's service if I ever saw it.

All in all as I probably guess you've gathered we couldn't recommend this place anymore. It was well worth every penny.

I'd also recommend surfing at Dolphin Surf school as that was another one of my surprises. It was an experience I'll never forget. They instructor was very encouraging and helped me keep going. Would highly recommend it and deep sea fishing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Property: St.Bernards Guesthouse
Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing