We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteful without attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St.Bernards Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Offenbach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasteful without attitude”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We are not surfers or stag/hen party-goers. We chose Newquay as a base to visit the south west of Cornwall. St. Bernards was one of the top recommendations to stay for everyone on Trip Advisor so we booked it. We weren't disappointed. The first impressions were clean, tasteful, modern and relaxing. A warm welcome, we were offered the choice of two room and opted for number three at the front (large window to road, large bed). We didn't find it noisy. This guest house offers so much: large selection of dvd's, you can bring takeaway and eat it in the dining room, you can watch tv or play wii/playstation in the lounge, babysitting service, free parking, huge breakfast .... the owners do their very best to accommodate any wishes you may have. The room and house in general were spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Room 3 was light, warm, to the front (road), spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock_and_Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
180
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Travelled from Australia to get a taste of English countryside. The first and definitely the best of the accommodations we stayed at in the UK. The quality of the room was great, you can be forgiven for thinking you were in a 5 star hotel. Lovely breakfasts and John and Louise were the perfect hosts. My two girls and I couldn't have asked for more, I thoroughly recommend St Bernards.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Really impressed by the room and the owners were discreet in their hospitality. Recommended and booked the best restaurant (the boathouse) for us. Delicious breakfast and attention to detail with all you want from B&B. value for money and then some.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redpaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed with Louise and John for four nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is very comfortable, very clean and the breakfasts were great. Louise was very helpful and accommodating. We brought our bicycles with us and Louise ensured that they were securely locked up and even covered with a tarpaulin. The location of the B&B is central and a short walk away (literally five minutes) from the shops, restaurants and entertainment area of Newquay. We also enjoyed the reasonably priced bar at the B&B - nice for pre- dinner drinks :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have stayed several times at st. Bernard's, & stayed in several of the bedrooms, all the rooms are very comfortable, and clean. Louise is an excellent host and she always makes us very welcome, and can't do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. This time we asked Louise would it be possible for our eldest son to join us for breakfast, this was not a problem, breakfast is excellent, and you can eat as much as you like.
We always stay at St Bernard's when we go to Newquay, as Louise makes us so welcome.
This time I was aware that people outside were very noisy, early hours of the morning. Also the couple beneath my sons room were quite noisy when they returned to the b&b in the early hours, banging doors etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 lovely room. Room 5,is my favourite small double, large single. This room on front of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked this B&B to spend a day surfing on Newquays famous beach...unfortunately for us we picked the wrong day - without a wave in sight!

However the B&B was brilliant, delicious food, wonderful accomodation and staff who were very welcoming and bent over backwards to help us and make our stay as great as possible.

Would definitely come here again if ever back in Newquay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea1129835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I loved my time at St Bernards. It started off with a very friendly welcome. The room was cosy, but perfectly fine for the time I spent into it and was beautifully decorated. You could tell it was a friendly place when a wine glass appeared after the first morning to go with the wine that I'd bought. Breakfasts were lovely and perfect for a heavy day surfing. Louise also went above and beyond by allowing me a late checkout on my final day so I could get a final shower and for keeping my baggage until it was time for my late train. Fully recommend St Bernards for anyone staying in Newquay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelcgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Property: St.Bernards Guesthouse
Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing