We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Newquay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St.Bernards Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fab Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Newquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a great bed and breakfast in the heart of Newquay. Louise, the owner, is extremely friendly and welcoming. She took us round and told us about all the facilities available. She also told us which restaurants to eat at and also gave us a map of the town.

The room we had (room 7) was up 4-5 flights of stairs, so no disabled access. It was quite small, the room was clean and comfortable. It was also tastefully decorated. It had a tiny en-suite with a toilet and shower, but it's all you need. The basin was in the room.

The breakfast room was bright and airy and the breakfast was very tasty and filling.
There is a lounge in the B & B, but we didn't use it, as we just stayed for 1 night.

There is parking for a supplement of £2/night. It is 2 streets away, which is about a 2 minute walk away.

We had never been to Newquay, but we had a very enjoyable stay and if we were to go back, we would stay in this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmejayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
179
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We'd never been to Newquay before. My husband booked this bed and breakfast as it said it had parking and was centrally located.
The parking is about 2 streets away and is very cheap, at £2 per day. You can easily walk to the beach (5 min walk) or to the shops (10-15mins).

Louise owns this bed and breakfast and she is a very welcoming person. She showed us to our room and told us about all the facilities. She also gave us a map and told us which pubs/restaurants to eat at.

The guest house is nicely decorated and the lounge and dining area are bright and airy. Our room was on the top floor, which was about 4 flights up. The room was quite small with a tiny en-suite, but it was clean and comfortable. It was at the back of the house too, so it was quite.
The breakfast was very tasty and filling. You could have a full English and or cereal and toast.

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. If we ever went to Newquay again I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmejayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot very situated and hosts were very accomodating. Only problem was our room up 3 flights of stairs, not much you can do about that. Breakfast was amazing! Especially impressed with more than reasonable bat prices, pitty we did not get a chance to drink there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timika24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Would highly recommend rooms are excellent when I go back to Newquay I will be stopping here Louise is lovely carnt do enough for you. And the breakfast is great and I'm fussy when it comes to food big time so if your looking for a great location and a friendly modern well looked after bed and breakfast this place to stay in Newquay:)) with out a doubt well worth the money this place is setting a new standard for b&b's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hx
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had not been to Newquay before, and on arrival were given a map, and overview of the town. The room was only up one flight of stairs (usually we end up at the top of the building), and whilst not being large had everything we needed, and could have also accommodated a small fridge if we needed one.
The location is central, and the parking is a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a planned stay in July 2013 for one night and could not believe our luck with this booking. Everything was just right. We were welcomed by Louise and shown to a very neat and tidy room. It was a little small but had everything we needed - including a fan which was most welcome as the weather was very hot . Breakfast was very tasty and beautifully cooked. It was well presented and served in the contemporary dining room. The bonus of parking in Newquay , even for a small charge, was most welcome.
This B and B is right up our street: tastefully decorated in a contemportray style , clean and tidy with a most pleasant host.
When we had to return unexpectedly Louise pulled out all the stops to accommodate us and made a difficult situation much easier for us. This second room we had was bigger and just as stylishly decorated and was , once again, clean and tidy.
Thanks to Louise

Room Tip: We loved room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judygateshead65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel and the hostess are brilliant. The rooms are stylish and modern and you have everything you need. The host is very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The breakfast was excellent quality and service. If i had to pick one little negative it would be the shower isn't very powerful but that's not really an issue. Would stay here again in a shot. Excellent location and service!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Property: St.Bernards Guesthouse
Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing