We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St.Bernards Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from a overnight stay at St Bernard's . I was a little apprehensive about staying somewhere on my own but needn't of worried . I had the most warmest of welcomes .
St Bernard's is spotless & beautifully decorated . My room had all the facilities that I needed , from toiletries / wi-fi / hair dryer & even a umbrella . I was offered a fridge to use in my room but as I was only there for one night this was not needed .
Breakfast was superb . Loved the personal touch of mother-in-laws home made marmalade . I was even offered the option of breakfast in bed .
Perfectly situated to enjoy Newquay & surrounding areas . A little Gem

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I've stayed here a few times now with my friend. It really is fantastic. It is clean, beautifully decorated, friendly and the owners are always looking to put new ideas into place to make it even better, more recently the lounge area is wonderful.
We always feel like we are having a relaxed time when we are there - and made to feel very welcome. All the facilities are great: breakfast so tasty, beds very comfortable (too comfy at times) and the bar and coffee machines perfect.
Will definitely be returning and recommending.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked on our behalf, I can not fault this B&B. We were made to feel very welcome. Situated on the edge of the main town centre, it did not suffer with some of the noise associated with more central locations in this town, although was close enough for a saunter to the harbour. Great breakfast; nothing was too much trouble. Fully recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I visit Newquay a couple of times a year and our mini breaks are made perfect by staying at St.Bernards. We always have a fantastic room with all the facilities you could ask for, there is an honesty bar and coffee machine in the lounge downstairs and the breakfasts are varied and made with great ingredients. The attention to detail and their 'we can't do enough' attitude means that we will always return to this amazing B&B. I am so glad that I found this 'jewel' a couple of years ago. We even had a mini fridge put in our room (at our request) and they had given us a bottle of our favorite wine in there as a thank you for returning to them again. They truely are FANTASTIC!! This B&B is HIGHLY recommended to couples, families, friends and people of all ages. THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN!! :0) xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

There was nothing we could fault food was excellent top quality produce, room was perfect you had every thing you needed, the service we give 100% as there is nothing you can fault - highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front average noise nothing more highly recommend a stay here - we shall be goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Literally just returned from 3 nights in Newquay, staying at St Bernard's and I wanted to say just how fantastic it was.
Louise was the perfect host. On arrival she showed us lots of recommendations for restaurants and places of interest in the area, which was backed up by a really thoughtful booklet in the room. Our room was a twin, decorated in black and white, which was lovely and modern.

Both the lounge and dining room areas were stunning. The decoration throughout the bnb is really cleverly thought out, and to my taste a lot!

I really enjoyed the breakfast, there was a good choice of cooked or selected items, with lots of toast and coffee/ tea. All very tasty! Louise and her husband would not let us go hungry, and offered us lots more!!

Finally just to say a big thankyou to out hosts. You were really really lovely and made our trip perfect. All the little touches, such as letting us leave cases too, were really kind of you.

I will certainly be back and can't wait to return!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Travelhappym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

St Bernards is one of the best if not the best place we have stayed in Newquay over the past 40+years. Louise & John make you feel welcome thy go that extra mile to make your stay perfect,

The breakfast is very good plenty of choice,

Well hope to return next year.

Room Tip: all the rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BillSheila2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.2 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#5 of 107 in Newquay
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lyncroft Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Glendeveor
The Glendeveor
#9 of 107 in Newquay
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hepworth Guest House
Hepworth Guest House
#2 of 107 in Newquay
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#8 of 107 in Newquay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £55 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing