We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there's a vacancy-book!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St.Bernards Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We and our 2 collies were made so welcome even though we were very late. The room was modern and clean and spacious enough for us and our 2 dogs. We were front facing and yes could be a bit noisy at times but we were in the centre of a bustling town so this was to be expected. Location was ideal central and with parking. The breakfasts were delicious and Louise was very attentive, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for St.Bernards Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay in Newquay. Accommodation was excellent, Very warm welcome from Louise and John, nothing was too much trouble from providing local maps to supplying wine glasses for the room. Modern and very clean accommodation, lots of nice extra's in room, ie umbrella,( luckily not needed) hairdryer, ipod station and dvd player. Would recommend St. Bernard's and would return myself.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I will start off by saying that Louise and John were extremely helpful when we had to change plans last minute. We were meant to drive down to Newquay on the Monday, staying until the Thursday, however, unforeseen circumstances meant that we were unable to head down until the Tuesday. I rang Louise on the Sunday and she changed our Monday night booking to Thursday night without any further questions and without charge. A good start to the trip!

We got down there late afternoon on the Tuesday and again, Louise was there to greet us, show us around and John helped us to our rooms with our bags. Upon hearing a couple of bottles of beer/wine clanking, Louise immediately fetched a mini fridge and plugged it in for us.

It was quite hot whilst we were visiting and a fan was waiting for us in the room to keep cool. The room wasn't the biggest but was spotless, fresh and the bathroom was the same. We also didn't spend much time there as we were out and about a lot anyway.

There is a spacious lounge downstairs with a bar a refrigerated drinks. There is also a very extensive DVD collection which you can borrow from, without charge, to watch in the DVD plater in your TV in the room. There is also an iPod docking station and there was an umbrella in the wardrobe.

We did not have dinner at the B&B whilst we stayed, although there was a lovely looking menu, but John's breakfasts were gorgeous. I am vegetarian and his veggie cooked breakfast was one of the best I've had at any hotel/B&B. There was also a great variety of juices, cereals and other breakfasts and Louise and John will adjust anything to make it exactly how you like it. Teas and coffee are also provided in your room and restocked every day.

The car parking is a little out of the way (a few minutes walk away) but for £2 a day we definitely werent complaining! Just make sure you request this when you book as there are limited spaces for B&B guests so you don't want to be disappointed when you get there.

The location is fabulous. It is on the main road into Newquay and so is an easy 5 minute or so walk down to the centre of town. It's a bit further if you want to go to Fistral Beach, probably about a 20 minute walk.

Louise was also extremely helpful in giving you information about the area and recommendations as to where to eat.

Overall we loved this place and would definitely go back again, preferably for a few days longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 269AmyD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay here recently. Everything was just right, from the parking, the room, the breakfast to the hospitality of the owners Louise and John. Would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse.

Brian & Denise

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bayman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

St Bernards is by far the best guesthouse my husband and I have ever stayed in. We celebrated his 50th birthday at St Bernards earlier this month and Louise and John made the occasion really special for us, recommending places to eat and a local surf school which was great. Hospitality, accommodation, breakfast - everything was absolutely perfect. Thanks St Bernards!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 at the back of the guesthouse which was lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in a tastefully decorated room. The hospitality was excellent and so was the lounge, with plenty of books and dvd's. After a good night rest we enjoyed a delicious breakfast!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan en Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would highly recommend St Bernard's Guesthouse. Me and a friend decided on doing a "Thelma & Louise" trip away from London and the families! We booked up and arrived to a warm welcome from both John & Louise, we had car parking and the Guesthouse is situated so conveniently to the sea front and I never had to use the car again. PERFECT!
Great brekkie, and when I mentioned being a vegetarian it was not a problem for them at all.
The room was immaculately clean which could not be faulted.
Both myself and my friend will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nobbyclark63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.3 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#2 of 107 in Newquay
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#3 of 107 in Newquay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing