We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Berties Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berties Lodge
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2008

After I read the reviews on this site I was very hesitant when booking this lodge, as were the rest of the party. We stayed in Newquay a couple of years ago and were we stayed was an utter dump, so we had the attitude it couldn’t be as bad as last time.


The staff were friendly and polite, Jodie who I booked the lodge with was great and the girls on reception always had a smile. We handed over the £30 each bond and a credit card was scanned due to some lads the previous week completely smashing up a room. We were then told the rules on staying at the lodge, same rules you would get at any Lodge. Basically if you damage anything your bond is gone.

The rooms were clean, modern and had the basics, beds, somewhere to put you clothes and a TV, although the room were on the small side, but all your doing is sleeping and getting changed, you don’t come to Newquay to sit in your room. Beds were really comfortable, haven’t been on a bunk bed for years. The bathroom was clean and modern, shower was always hot.

It’s a lodge for stag and hen parties and groups coming to Newquay to enjoy a weekend of surf and getting drunk. We stayed for 3 nights, we booked out, our room was checked for any damage, we received the all clear and the bonds were retuned. Have no problem staying at Berties again.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — 10.30 am check out
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    13
    10
    31
See reviews for
1
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Amyyy
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Ive just got back from Berties Lodge and i have got to say, i really was impressed. The hotel staff were lovely and polite. Being right next door to berties bar and berties club was definately a plus, especially when it rained! The atmosohere in the bar was nice and chilled at the beginning of the night and by the time we got to the club we were ready to partyyyy! The clubs DJs were great and the layout was perfect!

I am definately recommending Berties Lodge to other holiday makers and i will definately go back again! In fact, im just trying to sort out booking for october! Aha

  • Liked — Free Entry To Berties Club!
  • Disliked — The lack of drawers in our room!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

Stayed at Berties for 2 nights on the 2nd Nov. Price was £20 per night each and worth the money.
You get free entry into the club next door and 10% discount at all the other places they own in town such as Buzios, and teh mexican resturant.
The pub next door had offers on of £1 drinks on friday night and included things like becks, bud, vodka, wiskey etc. I bought a pint of fosters, pint of strongbow, vodka and lemonade and taboo and lemonade and it only cost £6.
Staff are friendly and i would not hestitate to stay here again.
We had no problem getting out good behaviour bond back at the end of the stay unlike some people have said.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Myself and 10 girl friends stayed in Berties Lodge for 2 nights last weekend and had the best time. We frequently stay in Newquay and usually stay up by Fistral beach but this year thought we would stay somewhere more centrally located. I have read the other reviews and believe these to be the complete opposite of what I experienced, so thought it only fair to tell others of the good time that myself and my girl friends had here.
From check in to check out the service from the girls and guys behind the desk was exceptional, nothing was too much for them. Our room was a 4 person room with an amazing sea view. We had our own bathroom and I found the whole cleanliness of the room and bathroom above average. The lodge has a lovely balcony over looking town, which because the weather wasn't too good, we didn't use, but there is also a large, comfy, tv room which we made good use of. We all had a brilliant stay and would recommend Berties Lodge to anyone, we will defenetly be back again next year.

  • Liked — Our Sea View
  • Disliked — Noisy boys next door
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peahead_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!!

We stayed at this hotel for a stag do in july, the hotel advertises itself as stag friendly but this could not be further from the truth,from day one they were hostile and unfriendly ,the night porter was paticulary rude... he kept making innuendos and was generally not a very nice guy.

the rooms are an absolutely rip off, £350 for a ten dorm room PER NIGHT, that was really no bigger than a standard double in any other hotel and the bathroom was dirty.

To cap it all off when we were checking out the manager had decided that we were not getting our bond back and had called the police to 'keep the peace' he was claiming we were too rowdy and had caused a disturbance when it was another group, he claimed we had all signed a disclaimer with our £30 deposit 17 lots of £30 he was having a laugh........... he had stabled one sheet of our names to 5 pages of terms and conditions and forged our best mans name to say we had agreed..

after deliberating with the police they too realised that bertie was talking out of his anal region and thanks to the hard work of some of the boys managed to get our money back, though i think they must do this to lots of groups and big bertie just pockets the money.


In summary
rude, expensive, dirty, liars, agressive, slimy, and defo not worth visiting

only plus point was the reception girls are nice to look at

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank docirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2007

My advise to anyone considering staying at this dirty ,discusting, expensive glorified hostel is to think again. incredibly rude staff and if you hand over a £30 security deposit, chances are that will be the last you'll see of it. to be honest I'd rather have spent 2 nights camping in Bahgdad.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0wnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

To place in context this review follows on from BenG, but please view this independently judged, as any broad minded reviewer should.

The hotel itself suits a stag party in respect of being reasonably central in location, with a bar and club attached to the building with scarily means you wouldn't have to leave.

However, the hotel is a basically a hostel with hostel faclities i.e. one bathroom between 10 people and no other communal options available. By hostel standards £35 a night is therefore expensive!

After sitting up in the supposed 24 hour lounge on Saturday evening till around 5am, we were rudely insulted by the reception member of staff who passed through the lounge, in leymans terms whinging, bitter and with nothing else to do on the graveyard shift apart from focus in on the guys with alcohol. I personally went and tried to liaise with the staff member diplomatically, who showed as much co-operation as a deaf child being verbally negotiated to whilst holding onto another childs toy. I calmly relayed this back to my friends, who without commotion, kindly picked up all rubbish and we went straight to bed.

Next morning I awoke to police in my hotel room stating we had broken a contract, it later revealed we had never signed. The hotel had in fact forged the documents and tried to then hold onto our deposits which was in total over £500. No damage caused, no complaints made, no verbal insults thrown. Yet this hotel decided to commit fraud then call the police. STAY HERE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank lousy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berties Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berties Lodge

Property: Berties Lodge
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berties Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Berties Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berties Hotel Newquay
Berties Motel Newquay
Berties Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing