We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berties Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
20
10
14
10
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
10
14
10
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen dofistral beachladsluxurysofasnightlifefab
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2008

After I read the reviews on this site I was very hesitant when booking this lodge, as were the rest of the party. We stayed in Newquay a couple of years ago and were we stayed was an utter dump, so we had the attitude it couldn’t be as bad as last time.


The staff were friendly and polite, Jodie who I booked the lodge with was great and the girls on reception always had a smile. We handed over the £30 each bond and a credit card was scanned due to some lads the previous week completely smashing up a room. We were then told the rules on staying at the lodge, same rules you would get at any Lodge. Basically if you damage anything your bond is gone.

The rooms were clean, modern and had the basics, beds, somewhere to put you clothes and a TV, although the room were on the small side, but all your doing is sleeping and getting changed, you don’t come to Newquay to sit in your room. Beds were really comfortable, haven’t been on a bunk bed for years. The bathroom was clean and modern, shower was always hot.

It’s a lodge for stag and hen parties and groups coming to Newquay to enjoy a weekend of surf and getting drunk. We stayed for 3 nights, we booked out, our room was checked for any damage, we received the all clear and the bonds were retuned. Have no problem staying at Berties again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelBugSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Ive just got back from Berties Lodge and i have got to say, i really was impressed. The hotel staff were lovely and polite. Being right next door to berties bar and berties club was definately a plus, especially when it rained! The atmosohere in the bar was nice and chilled at the beginning of the night and by the time we got to the club we were ready to partyyyy! The clubs DJs were great and the layout was perfect!

I am definately recommending Berties Lodge to other holiday makers and i will definately go back again! In fact, im just trying to sort out booking for october! Aha

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

Stayed at Berties for 2 nights on the 2nd Nov. Price was £20 per night each and worth the money.
You get free entry into the club next door and 10% discount at all the other places they own in town such as Buzios, and teh mexican resturant.
The pub next door had offers on of £1 drinks on friday night and included things like becks, bud, vodka, wiskey etc. I bought a pint of fosters, pint of strongbow, vodka and lemonade and taboo and lemonade and it only cost £6.
Staff are friendly and i would not hestitate to stay here again.
We had no problem getting out good behaviour bond back at the end of the stay unlike some people have said.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Myself and 10 girl friends stayed in Berties Lodge for 2 nights last weekend and had the best time. We frequently stay in Newquay and usually stay up by Fistral beach but this year thought we would stay somewhere more centrally located. I have read the other reviews and believe these to be the complete opposite of what I experienced, so thought it only fair to tell others of the good time that myself and my girl friends had here.
From check in to check out the service from the girls and guys behind the desk was exceptional, nothing was too much for them. Our room was a 4 person room with an amazing sea view. We had our own bathroom and I found the whole cleanliness of the room and bathroom above average. The lodge has a lovely balcony over looking town, which because the weather wasn't too good, we didn't use, but there is also a large, comfy, tv room which we made good use of. We all had a brilliant stay and would recommend Berties Lodge to anyone, we will defenetly be back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peahead_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!!

We stayed at this hotel for a stag do in july, the hotel advertises itself as stag friendly but this could not be further from the truth,from day one they were hostile and unfriendly ,the night porter was paticulary rude... he kept making innuendos and was generally not a very nice guy.

the rooms are an absolutely rip off, £350 for a ten dorm room PER NIGHT, that was really no bigger than a standard double in any other hotel and the bathroom was dirty.

To cap it all off when we were checking out the manager had decided that we were not getting our bond back and had called the police to 'keep the peace' he was claiming we were too rowdy and had caused a disturbance when it was another group, he claimed we had all signed a disclaimer with our £30 deposit 17 lots of £30 he was having a laugh........... he had stabled one sheet of our names to 5 pages of terms and conditions and forged our best mans name to say we had agreed..

after deliberating with the police they too realised that bertie was talking out of his anal region and thanks to the hard work of some of the boys managed to get our money back, though i think they must do this to lots of groups and big bertie just pockets the money.


In summary
rude, expensive, dirty, liars, agressive, slimy, and defo not worth visiting

only plus point was the reception girls are nice to look at

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank docirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews