We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVER!”
Review of Berties Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berties Lodge
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL EVER!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

So it was my eighteenth birthday weekend, butties was the only hotel I could see that had a 10 person dormitory, for the price it was I couldn't say no, but when we first got there we had to pay a £ 30 deposite which was not stated on the Web but the lady at the desk was very rude to my girlfriend in saying that it was, telling her if she doesn't like it then go somewhere else, what a rude cow! Then we got into our rooms and it was a rubbish little side room( no a seaview) there were holes in the walls, the bunk beds were extremely dangerous, the bathroom was disgusting and the room was constantly boiling hot all the time. Also the breakfast buffet wasn't even a buffet, it was a pile of s**t. This list could go on forever, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, in fact if you're going to stay there then do yourself a favour and don't, rant over. But I'd recommend Newquay to as a place to go!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    13
    10
    31
See reviews for
1
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Had a last minute trip down to Newquay . Booked this hotel as this was one of the last places left in Newquay.

Place was awful. This accommodation really let's Cornnwall down and possibly the whole of the uk down.

Ripped off by £30 room deposit EACH before get keys to the room! You don't get your money back before Les gives the OK on the room when you check out

You have to check in via Hotel Victoria for Bertie's lodge . It's like going from the Hilton to the streets.

Iron burns everywhere on the carpet

Bathroom falling to bits

No towels

Bunk beds bloody dangerous

Split wood on the steps to the bunk beds so can cut your foot

Shower kept running hot n cold

Roof of the room was dangerous . Could cave in at any minute .

Dirty linen

Do not stay here

In fact avoid Newquay entirely



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've just returned from a weekend trip to Newquay, I stayed there with 7 of my friends - we had booked a 10 bed dormitory with a sea view - this was definitely not the case!! The only view from our window was that of another guests room. On arrival, we were told we had to pay an extra £30 deposit for the room - which was not stated on the website and many other guests complained about this, the brown haired girl on reception then proceeded to have an argument with one of my friends as we were confused about this extra charge - she told my friend she didn't have to stay here and she should of done more research in a very rude tone. Another customer came down to complain during our wait to which she told him there was nothing she could do and went back to tapping her fingers on the desk. The room's were in an awful state - they were fine for us as we were mostly out all of the time however the beds were broken and the windows had locks on meaning there was no air in the room and this is why we never stayed in - the heat was unbearable, the cold tap was broken in the shower and there were stains on the carpet - which could only be described as looking like someone had been sick all over it. We also had to pay £24.50 for parking all weekend as the car park was pay and display and was also tiny! It is your typical party hotel don't get me wrong, probably great for a lads getaway but for girls it is just the worst place to stay! However It is a good location for getting around and is only a 10 minute walk from the beach, there is also a Tescos opposite and an Asda and Aldi down the road which is easy for stocking up on necessities. Would only recommend staying here for a short weekend and definitely out of season as the heat is far too much to handle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor appear to be quieter - however you do have to deal with the room above sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I will start with the pros of this place... Very central, pleasant staff and free entry to club (not that we used ours) cons... Small rooms,no towls, adverts says flat screen tv.. It was a
Box! no warning until we had checked in of being a stag and hen accommodation and that there is a nightclub underneath rooms, music awfully loud and woken up throughout the night by shouting, swearing an slamming... I would have rather camped!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amtg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Myself and party of 8 just returned from a great weekend at Berties Lodge, Newquay, England. Cheap, clean, very acceptable. Staff very friendly. Cannot understand the moaners about this place. Everything is there for a cheap weekend, bar and nightclub attached to Berties. Loads of places to go nearby. Would definitely return for another weekend (possibly this summer). If you want something posh go somewhere else and pay £100 a night per person.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Marred by one incident, that was satisfactoraly dealt with, this was definitely somewhere we would definitely recommend and we will definitely be returning (if they will have us!)
Staff were very helpful, pleasant and polite. We had a double bed with an ensuite bathroom. Telly on the wall and rails for clothes. Exactly all you need for a stay.
It is a place to crash while you go out and about all day.
Central to town, Fistral etc and easy access by road to all the tourist spots and out of the way places.
A definate positive recomendation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank invisiblehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Would not recommend this hotel, the service is shocking, reception wasn't manned very well, rude staff, small rooms, and the signed and sealed envelope containing our deposit had been opened and a quarter of the money gone!! Also, suicide locks on windows makes it very hot and difficult to breathe!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mytwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#8 of 37 in Newquay
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#21 of 37 in Newquay
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berties Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berties Lodge

Property: Berties Lodge
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berties Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Berties Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berties Hotel Newquay
Berties Motel Newquay
Berties Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing