We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic B&B let down by decor”

Fairways Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairways Guest House
Ranked #78 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Positives. Friendly hosts, good breakfast.
Negatives. Poor quality DIY decor - eg: Nail heads sticking out of door frame. Paint peeling off ensuite ceiling. Lumpy Bed.
Car parking difficult as B&B is on double yellow lines.
View from bedroom contained flat roof littered with building tools and debris.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwaysGuestHouse, Owner at Fairways Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

We are disappointed that you didn't feel able to tell us before your departure of your issues. However, from your arrival we knew that whichever room we had allocated you would not have been happy with and have been awaiting a disparaging trip advisor posting.

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that Fairways Guest House did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time in Newquay and plan to go back end August for a full week. This is my first time at Fairways and my partners third visit. Jo and Daz could not have been friendlier and more helpful to us on our visit and everything was great. The room we stayed in had a lovely bay window with views off Newquay bay, our bathroom was on the small side but perfectly fine for your needs, great shower, lovely comfortable bed and a brilliant cooked breakfast every morning. A really short walk into town and close to all the beaches, lots to do in Newquay, good walks, great restaurants and a good vibe, can't wait to return! Thank you for a great stay :o) Nat and Matt

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with some friends over a weekend. The B&B is in a fab location for the centre of Newquay - 5mins walk to the town centre. Stayed in Room 8, had a nice sea view, good size ensuite. Delicious breakfast cooked to order the next day. Owners were very friendly. It's basic but has everything you need. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed here for a weekend of fun with my girlfriends. Really good location, as it is only a short walk to the center and the nightlife. Missed breakfast a few times as I preferred to have a few more hours of sleep after some serious dancing. Only had breakfast on last day, but it was a good selection. Really liked the bed and the pillows, usually wake up with neck pain if I sleep somewhere else but my own bed but good sleeps. Good value for money! Would recommend.

Suzanna, Utrecht, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

i stayed here in May 10 and had a lovely time Jo and Darren were lovely very friendly
the breakfast is great here very good value for money i will def go back ther

Julie Oxford

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186361Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

went to newquay for my partners 40th with friends. Darren and Jo could not of been more helpful to us. We felt welcome from arrival. They gave us advice on where to go for drinks and food. Darren even organised a fishing trip for us (with no extra cost). The guest house was clean and cheerful and breakfast was lovely. The hotel is only a short walk to beach and town. We will definately be booking again later on in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leroneparnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Arrived Friday night for relaxing weekend without kids, disappointed with shabby looking building to start with. Entrance/ hallway old fashioned & smelly. Carpets looked liked the good do with a good hoover or even replacing ! Owner Jo was pleasant & showed us to room 3. This was so tiny that only one person at atime could walk around the room. The "ensuite" was a small area that had been partitioned off. Door didn't even fit, no chance of privacy ! Now for the so called sea view. Yes a small section of sea was visible in the far distance, when you looked over the roof, discarded building materials which were left under window, and over the top of several hundred houses. This pleasure cost £140 for 2 nights. Didn't stay & went home. Phoned to complain Saurday morning & spoke to Darren. Who didn't give a damn that we were disappointed with our stay & offered NO APOLOGY. We will be taking this further. No wonder they wanted cash upfront !! Total rip off & should not be allowed to run a business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiona7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwaysGuestHouse, Owner at Fairways Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2010

We are sorry that felt unable to stay in our Guest House.

Room 3 is a standard double bedroom, with a fully en-suite bathroom. It has digital television and a complimentary guest tray.

On arrival all guests are required to pay for the duration of their stay.

At time of booking it was explained that the sea view was not excellent.

The Guest House is located 2 minutes walk from Newquay town centre and 4 minutes from Towan Beach. Properties are therefore affected by the weather and the environment.

The front of the property offers a small well kept garden and porch.

Throughout the house the carpets are cleaned regularly and are of a high use commercial design, not the most up-to-date for some guests but they are practical and hardwearing.

On booking there was no requirement for an extra large double room. The en-suite bathroom has a fully working door which provides total privacy when used correctly.

The sea view is fully visible on a clear day, there are houses between our guest house and the sea as we are in a residential area, however, this does not obstruct the view in any way.

We apologise for the building materials on our roof and hope you can understand that maintenance is on-going, we will endeavour to move the materials as soon as the current maintenance is completed.

We are very unhappy that you felt unable to tell us of your concerns on arrival. After being shown your accommodation you continued to pay in full, at any time you would have been able to say that you were not happy.

When speaking to Darren on Saturday morning he did apologise for your dissatisfaction for the points raised at the time, although differing from those on Trip Advisor and was surprised that you were ringing from home and had given us no reason on arrival or your swift departure that you were unhappy.

We offer good value for money accommodation and endeavour to provide the best service that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.8 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Guest House

Address: St. Georges Road, Newquay TR7 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at Fairways Guest House. We are located 2 minutes walk from Newquay town centre, 4 minutes walk from Towan Beach and a 10 minute stroll from the famous Fistral Beach renowned for its surfing. Fairways offers 8 en-suite bedrooms and a choice of breakfast freshly cooked as ordered everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing