We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairways Guest House
Ranked #64 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed for one night having stupidly paid for 2 up front. The place was shabby but OK for the price. We were kept awake all night by other guests coming in drunk and running around shouting and slamming doors. Complained in the morning and said we wanted to leave as we had not slept. Lady apologised for the guests but refused to refund the second night as we had not found her and woken her at 3am to tell her about the problems. We had no idea where she was so how were we supposed to do that. Extremely disappointing experience. We left and will NEVER be going back.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L00kingl00king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Positives. Friendly hosts, good breakfast.
Negatives. Poor quality DIY decor - eg: Nail heads sticking out of door frame. Paint peeling off ensuite ceiling. Lumpy Bed.
Car parking difficult as B&B is on double yellow lines.
View from bedroom contained flat roof littered with building tools and debris.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwaysGuestHouse, Owner at Fairways Guest House, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
We are disappointed that you didn't feel able to tell us before your departure of your issues. However, from your arrival we knew that whichever room we had allocated you would not have been happy with and have been awaiting a disparaging trip advisor posting.

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that Fairways Guest House did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Middlesex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time in Newquay and plan to go back end August for a full week. This is my first time at Fairways and my partners third visit. Jo and Daz could not have been friendlier and more helpful to us on our visit and everything was great. The room we stayed in had a lovely bay window with views off Newquay bay, our bathroom was on the small side but perfectly fine for your needs, great shower, lovely comfortable bed and a brilliant cooked breakfast every morning. A really short walk into town and close to all the beaches, lots to do in Newquay, good walks, great restaurants and a good vibe, can't wait to return! Thank you for a great stay :o) Nat and Matt

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with some friends over a weekend. The B&B is in a fab location for the centre of Newquay - 5mins walk to the town centre. Stayed in Room 8, had a nice sea view, good size ensuite. Delicious breakfast cooked to order the next day. Owners were very friendly. It's basic but has everything you need. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed here for a weekend of fun with my girlfriends. Really good location, as it is only a short walk to the center and the nightlife. Missed breakfast a few times as I preferred to have a few more hours of sleep after some serious dancing. Only had breakfast on last day, but it was a good selection. Really liked the bed and the pillows, usually wake up with neck pain if I sleep somewhere else but my own bed but good sleeps. Good value for money! Would recommend.

Suzanna, Utrecht, the Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

i stayed here in May 10 and had a lovely time Jo and Darren were lovely very friendly
the breakfast is great here very good value for money i will def go back ther

Julie Oxford

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186361Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

went to newquay for my partners 40th with friends. Darren and Jo could not of been more helpful to us. We felt welcome from arrival. They gave us advice on where to go for drinks and food. Darren even organised a fishing trip for us (with no extra cost). The guest house was clean and cheerful and breakfast was lovely. The hotel is only a short walk to beach and town. We will definately be booking again later on in the year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroneparnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Guest House

Property: Fairways Guest House
Address: St. Georges Road, Newquay TR7 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at Fairways Guest House. We are located 2 minutes walk from Newquay town centre, 4 minutes walk from Towan Beach and a 10 minute stroll from the famous Fistral Beach renowned for its surfing. Fairways offers 8 en-suite bedrooms and a choice of breakfast freshly cooked as ordered everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing