We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #18 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Harbour has one of the most beautiful views of any place I have stayed, overlooking the whole cove of Newquay from our own balcony. We stayed here for a Valentines break and it was fabulous. We were given complimentary champagne on arrival, the room was lovely, and there was a wonderfully relaxed and happy feel about the place. The staff couldn't do enough.. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
113
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We camp every year in Newquay and always have a 'posh' night out in comparison to eating by candle light on the last night lol! WOW WOW WOW, we ate and dined like kings, excellent views, atmosphere, service and finally the food. Crab Spaghetti was awesome. Met a couple of youngsters working behind the bar and they were so friendly and full of wonderful information, shame they were told to stop chatting to us....lovely people who to me served the business well. Would defo go back and money well spent on a beautiful evening..thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squwelchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Having stayed at a very expensive hotel on the south coast that had amazing facilities but not good quality for money bedrooms i was suprised to find this little gem on a walk through of Newquey, my partner and i were going to travel up to chedder gorge to stay over night but once we had seen the room and the view from our private balcony we just had to book for the night. The Harbour hotel is just perfect, i couldnt fault anything from the bed (superb) to the owners (freindly and welcoming) and that view! we lay there on the comfy bed looking over the little harbour and beaches and watched the surfers bobbing about on the waves, it was perfect, i like to sleep in a pitch black room but in this one i kept the curtains open all night, it was so dreamy and romantic. Although i never go back to the same hotels twice ( like to adventure) we are looking for dates to go back to the Harbour and maybe do surfing lessons too.... love the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediamadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

me and my wife have just spent 3 great days in this top quality hotel . the food is great , staff very helpful and friendly . wonderful views great location , you see and feel a different newquay here cant wait to return..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Super views, pleasant staff, nice breakfasts and clean. Rooms far to small and bathrooms miniscule. Staff should do more to compensate for their 4 star rating. Dining times are too restrictive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junhoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is the second time i have stayed at the Harbour Hotel with my partner, daughter (who is 13 months old) and our dog. Our room (think it was room 3?) was immaculate and very comfy. Things like, a travel cot already set up in the room, slippers, choccies on our pillows etc were nice touches on arrival after our long journey. The view from our balcony was to die for, absolutely stunning, the dog seemed to like it too! Staff could not have been nicer, nothing was a trouble for them. Lovely breakfast, all tastes catered for (i am lactose intolerant and have soy milk which was provided). All in all, yet again a lovely stay. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prawnster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nantwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed in room 1 (Dove) in early June, two large comfortable armchairs and a relaxing spa bath along with the chocolates, bath robes and slippers, made us feel welcome straight away. The room was bright and airy, spotlessly clean with stunning views across the harbour and most of the beaches out towards Trevose Head.
The hotel is facing south and protected from the prevailing winds as we found when we walked across to Fistral on the coastal path, very windy, yet when we came back for a late lunch on the Terrace, it was sunny, warm and sheltered, lunch was absolutely stunning, scallops cooked to perfection. We had lunch on the Terrace most days, working our way through the menu, the food and presentation in our opinion is second to none, which also includes the wonderful breakfast, as much or as little as you want!
The staff at the Harbour are extremely friendly and attentive without being intrusive, nothing is too much trouble, which made our stay a delight.
Overall its the small touches, too numerous to mention, that make a big difference, and we would happily recommend the Harbour to anyone, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NantwichBoatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing