We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!!”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #23 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2008

An amazing hotel built into the cliffs overlooking a working harbour. The hotel has 5 en-suite rooms which are all individual and very tastefully decorated. All rooms overlook the beautiful harbour with some having a small terrace to sit out on and enjoy the sunshine.

The restaurant location, service and food are second to non.

The bar is very cosy with an open fire for winter evenings.

As the hotel is small you get very good personal service. The staff are very friendly and professional. The head bar tender was more than happy to join us for a drink so he could delight us with stories about the old days!

O.hookham

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NorthernMonkey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stopped at the Harbour Hotel for the first time this year. The owners are warm and friendly, The rooms are wonderfully decorated with restored furniture, comfy beds, pretty bathrooms and each has a balcony where you can sit and watch the seals follow the fishing boats into the Harbour. The Hotel is beautifully decorated through out and residents can use the honesty bar at any time. The food is great with plenty of choice at breakfast. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will go back again, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

Over the years Newquay has lost some of its Cornish charm to cater for the young surfer market but the Harbour Hotel retains a corner of comfort and uniqueness in its location overlooking the fishing harbour. The rooms are well appointed - ours had an Art Nouveau motif with original period furniture and heavy stylised curtains that matched the tiled fireplace and an Art Nouveau carved screen over the bay window alcove. Each room has a balcony facing East, so receives the glorious morning sun over the harbour. The dining area leads out onto another balcony at a lower level with smart cane chairs and club style sun umbrellas.

It was late in the season so we didn't have time to eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was superb with thick rashers of real bacon, fresh eggs and gorgeous field mushrooms. That's the full English or if you prefer you can order a range of goodies - my wife had a mushroom omelette one morning - excellent. It's possible to park outside the hotel in the narrow lane that leads to the harbour or outside the Red Lion pub - live music on Fridays and a good selection of bar foods and a cast iron log stove to boot.

There are now cheap flights to Newquay airport (6 miles from the hotel) with Ryanair - this is about a 50 minute journey from Stansted. As we live in Herts we had a 2 hour door to door journey; the flight was £1.60 return that beats the 51/2 hour train journey for value - no contest. Hertz hire car from Newquay airport was £21 per day for a Ford Focus.

The Harbour Hotel was £120 per night for two of us (3 nights) including breakfast - the hotel also has an impressive selection of DVD's to use at no cost. This hotel is well worth using as a base to explore up to Padstow and Bodmin Moor, and down to the Lizard and Lands End - great hotel and great service.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OzoneSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We Loved The Hotel And Views,TheBeach Is Under Your Nose And The Mornings Its Lovely WatchingThe Fisherman And Seals In The Bay,The Rooms Are Lovely And Clean With Lots Of Extras To Make You Feel Special We Hope To Return Next Year 5 Star

Stayed: August 2007
Thank jacky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We discovered this gem because my sister in law and her husband stay there occasionally. It is the tiniest hotel (as opposed to B&B) I've ever been to - only five bedrooms but still has an excellent restaurant (open to non residents) and a bar. Luxuriously and stylishly converted from a Victorian house clinging (literally) to the cliffs above Newquay's traditional Cornish harbour the rooms are fantastic with their own private balconies and lovely views over the harbour and down the beach. The owners/proprietors can't do enough for their guests.

The town itself isn't to everyone's taste being constantly busy with the younger surf set but the hotel itself is located out of the busiest areas and in a road with no passing traffic. There is a website which you should be able to find using Google and it is as lovely is it looks on that. We will definately be returning.

Be warned - there is no parking. And we took a local taxi to Rick Stein's hotel in Padstow but they didn't come to collect us afterwards though we had booked them to (but the restaurant managed to find a different taxi at 00.30 despite pouring rain)!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearOfLittleBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nicolaPagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £95 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location overlooking Newquay Harbour. Relaxed unpretentious personal service. All bedrooms with balconies and Harbour views and all public rooms and restaurant directly overlook the sea. Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing