We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The small hotel with the big heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #19 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The small hotel with the big heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

We have just had an amazing weekend at the Harbour Hotel. Its position on the cliff top overlooking the small picturesque harbour is breathtaking. The balconies in the bedrooms and restaurant area all face towards the east and the harbour. In the morning we were woken by the rising sun shining into the room.
The bedroom, we had the double aspect one, was lovely particularly with the jacuzzi bath. It had a very comfortable bed with lots of little touches such as slippers, dressing gowns, chocolate on the bed and of course Molton Brown toileteries. Not to mention the antique furniture throughout.
Breakfast was very nice, very well cooked with lots of choice, this is served in the restaurant which doubles up as the bar area in the evening.
The hosts are so friendly and very obliging, they can not do enough for you. Their advice on places not to miss, was invaluable and made such a difference to a truly memorable weekend.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshireman on tour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

An amazing hotel built into the cliffs overlooking a working harbour. The hotel has 5 en-suite rooms which are all individual and very tastefully decorated. All rooms overlook the beautiful harbour with some having a small terrace to sit out on and enjoy the sunshine.

The restaurant location, service and food are second to non.

The bar is very cosy with an open fire for winter evenings.

As the hotel is small you get very good personal service. The staff are very friendly and professional. The head bar tender was more than happy to join us for a drink so he could delight us with stories about the old days!

O.hookham

  • Liked — the quality of the hotel and the stunning views
  • Disliked — There is nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernMonkey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stopped at the Harbour Hotel for the first time this year. The owners are warm and friendly, The rooms are wonderfully decorated with restored furniture, comfy beds, pretty bathrooms and each has a balcony where you can sit and watch the seals follow the fishing boats into the Harbour. The Hotel is beautifully decorated through out and residents can use the honesty bar at any time. The food is great with plenty of choice at breakfast. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will go back again, hopefully next year.

  • Liked — The food, location, rooms and service
  • Disliked — parking is on the road
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

Over the years Newquay has lost some of its Cornish charm to cater for the young surfer market but the Harbour Hotel retains a corner of comfort and uniqueness in its location overlooking the fishing harbour. The rooms are well appointed - ours had an Art Nouveau motif with original period furniture and heavy stylised curtains that matched the tiled fireplace and an Art Nouveau carved screen over the bay window alcove. Each room has a balcony facing East, so receives the glorious morning sun over the harbour. The dining area leads out onto another balcony at a lower level with smart cane chairs and club style sun umbrellas.

It was late in the season so we didn't have time to eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was superb with thick rashers of real bacon, fresh eggs and gorgeous field mushrooms. That's the full English or if you prefer you can order a range of goodies - my wife had a mushroom omelette one morning - excellent. It's possible to park outside the hotel in the narrow lane that leads to the harbour or outside the Red Lion pub - live music on Fridays and a good selection of bar foods and a cast iron log stove to boot.

There are now cheap flights to Newquay airport (6 miles from the hotel) with Ryanair - this is about a 50 minute journey from Stansted. As we live in Herts we had a 2 hour door to door journey; the flight was £1.60 return that beats the 51/2 hour train journey for value - no contest. Hertz hire car from Newquay airport was £21 per day for a Ford Focus.

The Harbour Hotel was £120 per night for two of us (3 nights) including breakfast - the hotel also has an impressive selection of DVD's to use at no cost. This hotel is well worth using as a base to explore up to Padstow and Bodmin Moor, and down to the Lizard and Lands End - great hotel and great service.

  • Liked — Great ambience and harbour view
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OzoneSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

We Loved The Hotel And Views,TheBeach Is Under Your Nose And The Mornings Its Lovely WatchingThe Fisherman And Seals In The Bay,The Rooms Are Lovely And Clean With Lots Of Extras To Make You Feel Special We Hope To Return Next Year 5 Star

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank jacky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

We discovered this gem because my sister in law and her husband stay there occasionally. It is the tiniest hotel (as opposed to B&B) I've ever been to - only five bedrooms but still has an excellent restaurant (open to non residents) and a bar. Luxuriously and stylishly converted from a Victorian house clinging (literally) to the cliffs above Newquay's traditional Cornish harbour the rooms are fantastic with their own private balconies and lovely views over the harbour and down the beach. The owners/proprietors can't do enough for their guests.

The town itself isn't to everyone's taste being constantly busy with the younger surf set but the hotel itself is located out of the busiest areas and in a road with no passing traffic. There is a website which you should be able to find using Google and it is as lovely is it looks on that. We will definately be returning.

Be warned - there is no parking. And we took a local taxi to Rick Stein's hotel in Padstow but they didn't come to collect us afterwards though we had booked them to (but the restaurant managed to find a different taxi at 00.30 despite pouring rain)!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearOfLittleBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing