We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a Romantic Getaway”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #24 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Harbour Hotel in Newquay and we would recommmed this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic break in a tucked away location with spectacular views, delicious food and the most friendly staff. We were blown away by the views from our room and private balcony which looked out over the working harbour and beach, across to the town centre with the church spires rising in the background and off to the dramatic coastline and rocky cliffs. We stayed in room 4 which was the smallest room, but plenty of space and very cosy and romantic. The bathroom was small, but spotlessly clean and adequate with lovely Molton Brown products. We had dinner on the first evening in the restaurant and ate some of the freshest tastiest seafood and fish ever. All the food was fresh, local, beautifully presented and delicious. We also enjoyed a spectacular breakfast each morning on the balcony overlooking the harbour, again with freshly cooked local food to order and plenty of choice.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
The location was ideal for exploring the beaches and stunning cliff top walks in the area, 5 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Newquay with its plethora of restaurants and great places to eat, and perfect for exploring further afield, yet tucked away down a quiet, peaceful backroad. This hotel will become one of our favourite getaways from now on.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the smallest but spectacular views, very comfortable and cosy and romantic and we loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Tiffany, thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
117
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Harbour Hotel just gets better. A re-furbished hi-spec en suit awaited us this visit,to compliment the contemporary design of this wonderful boutique hotel.
Alan, Russ and the staff attain a high standard in all areas within the hotel & restaurant and the daily room service is exceptional. John & Clair A

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank r9jca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, and glad that you liked the new ensuite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a 3 night stay and wish we could have stayed longer,a warm welcome upon arrival,nothing too much trouble,beautiful room with views to die for, superb breakfast and service,perfect stay!Many thanks to Alan,Michelle and Russ,we'll be back,Steve and Sylvia

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lily2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at the harbour this weekend and we can't fault it! Lovely room and great attention to detail. We were welcomed at the door and made to feel at home immediately.
Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for the season but the breakfast we had was delicious!
Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magicstar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
They were very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having been fans of Newquay for 50 years we have often looked up at this hotel from the harbour and wished we were staying there. At long last we did and were not disappointed. Having met us at the door the owner Alan showed us to our room before making us a fresh coffee in the lounge overlooking the lovely little harbour. We were running late and he had already called us by mobile to check we were okay. Personal attention and touches such as this,the chocolates, biscuits and water in the room and quality furnishings are what this hotel is all about. Couple this with the best quality ingredients foodwise and you get the idea. Alan is an excellent host who is there when you need him. Nothing is too much trouble. What a pleasant change to have genuine personal service from someone who clearly cares what kind of experience you have. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I feel very flattered and hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We travelled to Newquay for what was suppposed to be a two-night stay, but we loved the hotel so much that we stayed for another! The hotel is located in a beautfiul spot just above a little harbour and one of the larger beaches. For the extra night, we had to move to a different room, but found it to be just as nice as our first room. Although they are a bit small, they both had their own balcony overlooking the harbour! Also, it is just off the main road in Newquay and is within easy walking distance of the main shops. There is a grocery store and a couple of nice places to eat just a few minutes away. If you are looking to go to Fistral Beach, this hotel is only about a 10-15 minute walk around the point. As if all of that wasn't enough, the food and staff were excellent. The B&B is family-owned and operated and we found everyone to be very pleasant. The breakfast isn't very large, but they do provide you a few set options. They also have a little restaurant that is open to the public on certain days, and the food was very good as well, I recommed the burger. Overall, it was a great stay and it is the only place we will stay during any future visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from the most enjoyable four night stay at The Harbour. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and the little touches, like the bottles of water and the chocolates on the bedside table and the dressing gowns and slippers, made it special. The view from the window looking out over the harbour was superb. Friendly and efficient staff, delicious breakfasts, excellent menu in the fish restaurant, use of laptop and printer all contributed to a really wonderful break.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#14 of 107 in Newquay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location overlooking Newquay Harbour. Relaxed unpretentious personal service. All bedrooms with balconies and Harbour views and all public rooms and restaurant directly overlook the sea. Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing