We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2-night Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #20 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2-night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I reserved two rooms along with my in-laws for a 2 night stay. I frequently read reviews on tripadvisor when making travel plans, but rarely have the time to post them myself. I needed to make an exception this time! We had a remarkable 2-day stay. I can not say enough great things about the staff, great food, comfort of the rooms, and the spectacular views. I would stay here again in a heartbeat when visiting Cornwall. All four of us were thoroughly pleased with our stay. The time whisked by far too quickly. Everything wonderful that you read here in the reviews is amply true.

Room Tip: Each of the five rooms are slightly different but equally comfortable (from the two we stayed in). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
thank you for taking the time to praise us, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful unique little hotel with the best veiw,( complete with sea lions following the fishing boats in the harbou,r under your window) the best fresh food, lovely staff and clean comfortable rooms in Newquay.
It was like stepping back in time, the emphasis was on giving the guests the best holiday experience......not on making the most money out of them. The relaxed atmosphere is contagious. I arrived feeling stressed, after a hectic few months,and left with a feeling of relaxed well being.
Excellent value for money
I cannot wait to return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danslasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
thank you!
I don't think I could have summed up better what we try to do and the way we try to do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for my 60th Birthday in June,we love this hotel and have stayed here on numerous occasions it gets better every time ,the rooms are lovely,the views are fantastic and the food is wonderful.The staff are very friendly always happy to talk to you .We will be returning very soon.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcestershireJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much!
I am planning on having my 60th here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

perfect rooms and most amazing welcome by the stuff, the view is the best u can ever ask plus restaurant downstairs serving fresh fish with superb settings ... if u havent been defo need to visit.and also try the restaurant .. i promise u would not be dissapointed

Room Tip: room 1 with jacuzzi amaaaaazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juhan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
WOW! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Welcoming and friendly service started from the moment I spoke to Alan on the phone, to make my booking,until the moment we left with a cheery 'goodbye,safe journey home'.
We had two rooms- Good Intent,twin and Fly,a double which is advertised as the smallest in the Hotel,both were clean /tidy and had all the usual amenities for a comfortable stay.All rooms benefit from a balcony overlooking Newquay's Harbour and sat on these with a cool drink watching people go about their business is a great way to relax.
And the relaxed atmosphere of The Harbour and it's quiet location within Newquay,makes you forget that you are only a 5 minute stroll from the town centre and its beaches or Fristral Beach.
Breakfast again was a joy with a good selection of fresh fruits/cereals/juices plus Full English and other hot alternatives,all freshly cooked and served with a smile.
There is no car park at the Hotel but some free parking nearby,we had no problem,in the height of the summer this may be an issue,but I'm sure Alan will do his uppermost to assist. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: The Fly is the smallest room and it's layout, with the bed with it's headboard facing the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

family of 4 in 2 rooms, 3 nights.
Friendliness and helpfulness of all staff was extraordinary, hassle free experience all the way through. Oh, could I have this instead? - yes of course.
The restaurant majors on sea food which was brilliant, but also handles meat eaters and veges very well too.
Excellent value for money and away from the noisier side of NewQuay life.
All rooms have sea/harbour facing balconies with an ever changing view of harbour life
Thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: parking may look difficult but we found somewhere every day for free close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much.
We really appreciate feedback of any kind, especially really nice ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The weather was stunning which probably helped but even in the midst of winter I am sure this quiet retreat would be just as special. The restaurant was a bonus and the food was superb nothing was too much trouble and my fish was delicious. Breakfast was a joy and I cannot wait to return to this lovely place with a village feel. Go stay here with someone special and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnyside2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.
You summed up exactly what we try to be about.
And yes, it is lovely in the depths of winter, in a similar, but obviously different way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#15 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing