We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location over Newquay Harbour”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #23 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location over Newquay Harbour”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

3 night stay at the Harbour was fantastic, warm helpful welcome upon arrival, including an ideally placed parking space...excellent clean room, albeit the 'no.4' small room (on-suite is the small part but acceptable), which was easily compensated by the wonderful baclony view over the Harbour and beyond, breakfast was excellent with a good choice and friendly/ helpful staff.
Access via steps from the hotel into the Harbour, once the tide was out, made this an awesome view from below.
Easily one of the best hotels we have stayed in for it's warm welcoming feeling, views and easy access to other wonderful locations in Newquay, all round for our first stay in Newquay excellent and would (will) happily book here again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a reply, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
117
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

have just returned from a 3 day break, and didn't want to leave.
Great welcome, helpful friendly staff, fabulous room, wonderful balcony with outstanding, uninterrupted sea views.
Could easily have spent all day in the sun just watching the pottering around going on in the harbour. In fact one day we did just that.
Really, I write few reviews but felt that the harbour really deserved praising.
Despite the photos and the webcam, it is hard to appreciate the beauty of the place.
Couple that with cleanliness and staff who really do care.
What more can you say, apart from that if I went back tomorrow it would not be soon enough!

Room Tip: they all have balconies, they all overlook the sea, they vary in size and are priced accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
thank you so much for your flattering review.
we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I reserved two rooms along with my in-laws for a 2 night stay. I frequently read reviews on tripadvisor when making travel plans, but rarely have the time to post them myself. I needed to make an exception this time! We had a remarkable 2-day stay. I can not say enough great things about the staff, great food, comfort of the rooms, and the spectacular views. I would stay here again in a heartbeat when visiting Cornwall. All four of us were thoroughly pleased with our stay. The time whisked by far too quickly. Everything wonderful that you read here in the reviews is amply true.

Room Tip: Each of the five rooms are slightly different but equally comfortable (from the two we stayed in). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
thank you for taking the time to praise us, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful unique little hotel with the best veiw,( complete with sea lions following the fishing boats in the harbou,r under your window) the best fresh food, lovely staff and clean comfortable rooms in Newquay.
It was like stepping back in time, the emphasis was on giving the guests the best holiday experience......not on making the most money out of them. The relaxed atmosphere is contagious. I arrived feeling stressed, after a hectic few months,and left with a feeling of relaxed well being.
Excellent value for money
I cannot wait to return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danslasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
thank you!
I don't think I could have summed up better what we try to do and the way we try to do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for my 60th Birthday in June,we love this hotel and have stayed here on numerous occasions it gets better every time ,the rooms are lovely,the views are fantastic and the food is wonderful.The staff are very friendly always happy to talk to you .We will be returning very soon.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcestershireJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much!
I am planning on having my 60th here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

perfect rooms and most amazing welcome by the stuff, the view is the best u can ever ask plus restaurant downstairs serving fresh fish with superb settings ... if u havent been defo need to visit.and also try the restaurant .. i promise u would not be dissapointed

Room Tip: room 1 with jacuzzi amaaaaazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juhan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
WOW! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Welcoming and friendly service started from the moment I spoke to Alan on the phone, to make my booking,until the moment we left with a cheery 'goodbye,safe journey home'.
We had two rooms- Good Intent,twin and Fly,a double which is advertised as the smallest in the Hotel,both were clean /tidy and had all the usual amenities for a comfortable stay.All rooms benefit from a balcony overlooking Newquay's Harbour and sat on these with a cool drink watching people go about their business is a great way to relax.
And the relaxed atmosphere of The Harbour and it's quiet location within Newquay,makes you forget that you are only a 5 minute stroll from the town centre and its beaches or Fristral Beach.
Breakfast again was a joy with a good selection of fresh fruits/cereals/juices plus Full English and other hot alternatives,all freshly cooked and served with a smile.
There is no car park at the Hotel but some free parking nearby,we had no problem,in the height of the summer this may be an issue,but I'm sure Alan will do his uppermost to assist. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: The Fly is the smallest room and it's layout, with the bed with it's headboard facing the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#14 of 105 in Newquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing