We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay!”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #27 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Harbour Hotel is a real gem in the heart of Newquay. All rooms have a balcony with unrivalled views over the harbour. Breakfast can be enjoyed whilst watching the seals following the boats into shore!

Aside from the gorgeous views, the staff at the hotel are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms are immaculate and the hotel restaurant does a great fish, chips and mushy peas! (also with harbour view)!

This place really is perfect for a two night esape, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, it really is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We started our two-week trip to the UK in Newquay, at The Harbour... it was wonderful! Allen, the owner, was great and made us feel welcome right from the start. He was actually waiting for us and moved his car to make room for ours. Our room, though small, was lovely, clean and comfortable. The view from the terrace looked out over the harbor with chairs to sit and soak up the ambiance. Breakfast was included, was made to our request rather than a buffet and was delicious. The hotel is within easy walking distance to some really good restaurants for dinner. The Harbour is someplace I would definitely go back to if I ever go back to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaveOmaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

thank you so much, and so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Booked a 3 day break at The Harbour based on comments on Tripadvisor, not been to the area for many years. Checked-in on a very busy Sunday afternoon (Lifeboat Day) which caused some difficulty in parking - we often were forced to use the Long Stay car park nearby at an additional cost. We weren't aware that parking outside the B&B would be a matter of pot luck. The young lady who checked us in, whilst polite and efficient, was clearly busy in the restaurant so there wasn't a great deal of rapport. The room (Hope) was as expected - not huge but adequate and well-presented and, of course, enhanced by the spectacular views from the balcony. We were looking forward to enjoying an evening meal in the hotel restaurant (to celebrate my birthday) only to discover when we tried to book that it doesn't open Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday - really disappointing as the breakfasts were excellent and reviews good. The information folder in the room made no reference to the restaurant at all which was surprising and the WiFi log-in quoted was incorrect - the correct one was provided when we asked the pleasant young lady who served at breakfast. I would certainly recommend The Harbour and we enjoyed our stay in this prime location very much but there was a few things which if communicated better would, in our opinion, have made it perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebatebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

thank you for your comments and I take on board what you have said, and will work on tweaking where necessary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

3 night stay at the Harbour was fantastic, warm helpful welcome upon arrival, including an ideally placed parking space...excellent clean room, albeit the 'no.4' small room (on-suite is the small part but acceptable), which was easily compensated by the wonderful baclony view over the Harbour and beyond, breakfast was excellent with a good choice and friendly/ helpful staff.
Access via steps from the hotel into the Harbour, once the tide was out, made this an awesome view from below.
Easily one of the best hotels we have stayed in for it's warm welcoming feeling, views and easy access to other wonderful locations in Newquay, all round for our first stay in Newquay excellent and would (will) happily book here again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a reply, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

have just returned from a 3 day break, and didn't want to leave.
Great welcome, helpful friendly staff, fabulous room, wonderful balcony with outstanding, uninterrupted sea views.
Could easily have spent all day in the sun just watching the pottering around going on in the harbour. In fact one day we did just that.
Really, I write few reviews but felt that the harbour really deserved praising.
Despite the photos and the webcam, it is hard to appreciate the beauty of the place.
Couple that with cleanliness and staff who really do care.
What more can you say, apart from that if I went back tomorrow it would not be soon enough!

Room Tip: they all have balconies, they all overlook the sea, they vary in size and are priced accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

thank you so much for your flattering review.
we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I reserved two rooms along with my in-laws for a 2 night stay. I frequently read reviews on tripadvisor when making travel plans, but rarely have the time to post them myself. I needed to make an exception this time! We had a remarkable 2-day stay. I can not say enough great things about the staff, great food, comfort of the rooms, and the spectacular views. I would stay here again in a heartbeat when visiting Cornwall. All four of us were thoroughly pleased with our stay. The time whisked by far too quickly. Everything wonderful that you read here in the reviews is amply true.

Room Tip: Each of the five rooms are slightly different but equally comfortable (from the two we stayed in). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

thank you for taking the time to praise us, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful unique little hotel with the best veiw,( complete with sea lions following the fishing boats in the harbou,r under your window) the best fresh food, lovely staff and clean comfortable rooms in Newquay.
It was like stepping back in time, the emphasis was on giving the guests the best holiday experience......not on making the most money out of them. The relaxed atmosphere is contagious. I arrived feeling stressed, after a hectic few months,and left with a feeling of relaxed well being.
Excellent value for money
I cannot wait to return

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danslasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

thank you!
I don't think I could have summed up better what we try to do and the way we try to do it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £94 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location overlooking Newquay Harbour. Relaxed unpretentious personal service. All bedrooms with balconies and Harbour views and all public rooms and restaurant directly overlook the sea. Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing